Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Asian American Studies: Home


URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/asian_american

Introduction

Asian American Studies is an interdisciplinary field of study that critically examines the histories, social and political formations, lived experiences, and perspectives of Asian American/Pacific Islander communities. It emerged out of the social movements of the 1960s and 1970s and was formally instituted at San Francisco State University and UC Berkeley in 1969. Closely linked to other Ethnic Studies fields, Asian American Studies provides critical vocabularies and theories, grounded in grassroots struggles for social justice. 

Today Asian American Studies programs can be found in many major colleges and universities around the country. At UC Irvine, the Department of Asian American Studies was founded out of student activism in the early 1990s and, aside from establishing the minor and major, now has the first 4+1 B.A/M.A. program in Asian American Studies in the country. The Department collaborates closely with the UCI Libraries Southeast Asian Archive, a distinctive collection focused on the Vietnamese, Laotian, Hmong, and Cambodian diaspora. 

 

Research Resources

 

Academic Search Complete* (General Social Sciences/Humanities)

Project MUSE* (Humanities/Social Sciences)

ERIC* (Education)

MLA International Bibliography* (Literature)

America: History & Life* (History)

PsycINFO* (Psychology)

Ethnic Newswatch* (newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic and minority press)

JSTOR* (all disciplines)

 

Subject Guide

Thuy Vo Dang's picture
Thuy Vo Dang
Contact:
Orange County & Southeast Asian Archive Center
Website

Southeast Asian Archive

The UCI Libraries Southeast Asian Archive collects, preserves, and makes accessible primary and secondary source materials documenting the history of the Cambodian, Hmong, Laotian, and Vietnamese diaspora. Collection strengths include Southeast Asian American experiences of resettlement and community formations since the Vietnam War, Cambodian Genocide, and geopolitical turmoil in the former French-occupied "Indochina" in the latter half of the 20th century. 

To view FINDING AIDS to our archival collections, please see: Online Archive of California//SEAA

To search for book, film, thesis and dissertation titles in the SEAA collection, please view the UCI Libraries Catalog