There is no one resource or database for the wide array of Asian American Studies topics, much less one focusing on Southeast Asians in America. Depending on the student's/researcher's topic, the following sources provide good places to start, especially for those who cannot easily come to the Southeast Asian Archive in person to use the archival collections and vertical file materials.
Titles marked with an asterisk (*) can be searched off-campus only by currently-enrolled UCI students, faculty, and staff.
For more information on each resource, click on the blue-dot-i in the list below.
Full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, and other serials published by the ethnic, minority, and native press in America. Coverage: 1959-present.
Provides scholarly and news articles--many in full-text--on a wide variety of topics from many disciplines in the social sciences, arts, humanities, and the sciences. Truncation symbol is the asterisk (*)
Soc Abs indexes and abstracts international publications in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences, including over 1,800 journals/serials, plus conf. papers and dissertations. Truncation symbol is the asterisk (*)
Dissertations, which are book-length manuscripts, include comprehensive bibliographies (lists of references)--rich sources of journal articles. This database provides the full-text of most dissertations earned at nearly all U.S. universities and colleges
Indexes and abstracts approx. 1,500 journals/serials in political science, international relations, law, and public administration back to 1975. Two-thirds of the journals indexed are published outside the U.S.
Covers all disciplines. Provides access to Science citation index from 1900 to the present , Social sciences citation index from 1956 to the present, and Arts & humanities citation index from 1975 to the present.
Covers popular and professional issues related to family studies with materials from a wide range of social science disciplines: anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history, and social work.
Indexes scholarly journals and trade magazines, reports, book chapters, government publications, and conference proceedings on all aspects of education/teaching/learning from pre-school through adulthood.
Search CSA Illumina databases concurrently or independently. Click on the active "Specific Databases" hyperlink and select the databases you want and then "Continue to search" ...
Indexes and abstracts the international literature in psychology, the behavioral sciences, and related disciplines. Coverage: 1806-present.
Indexes and abstracts over 1,300 journals and serials, focusing on social policy, social work, and community development. Coverage: 1979-present.
Off-campus? Please use the Software VPN and choose the group UCIFull to access licensed content. For more information, please Click here
Software VPN is not available for guests, so they may not have access to some content when connecting from off-campus.