Research Guides: Comparative Literature: Ethnic Studies

Subject Guide

Email Me

Contact:

Langson Library 107

Subjects: Comparative Literature, English, Philosophy

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Remote access to the UCI Libraries' licensed online resources is available to current UC Irvine students, faculty & staff. Visit our Connect from Off-Campus page for more information!

African American Studies

For a complete list of databases available for African American Literature Criticism, please visit the African American Studies Library Subject Guide Below are the most common databases used for African American literature scholarship.

** = UC Irvine access only

Black Studies Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Includes content from international scholarly and popular periodicals in Black Studies and contains full-text coverage of core Black Studies titles. It covers a wide array of humanities-related disciplines including art, cultural criticism, economics, education, health, history, language and literature, law, philosophy, politics, religion, and sociology, from 1900 on.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Consists of scholarly journals, commissioned overview essays by top scholars in Black Studies, historic indexes, and one of the most influential black newspapers in the United States, The Chicago Defender newspaper, from 1910-1975. At the heart of Black Studies Center is Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, consisting of essays that provide an introduction to major topics in Black Studies.
Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
A collection of seminal documentaries, powerful interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience. The collection contains film covering African American history, politics, art and culture, family structure, gender relationships, and social and economic issues.

The Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature **

Chicano & Latino Studies

For a complete list of databases available for Chicano/Latino Literature Criticism, please visit the Chicano/Latino Library Subject Guide. Below are the most common databases used for Chicano/Latino scholarship.

** = UC Irvine access only

Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Indexes a wide variety of materials (journal articles, books, book chapters) on the Mexican-American, Chicano, and the broader Latino experience from the 1960s-present. Also includes materials about other Latino cultures (Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants) since 1992. Coverage includes art, language, sociology, public policy, economics, history, literature, politics, and law.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Provides complete bibliographic citations to the contents of scholarly journals published around the world on Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics/Latinos in the US since the late 1960s. Our coverage includes everything from political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities.
Cambridge Companions This link opens in a new window
A series of guides offering introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods. The Companion guides focus on the disciplines of literature and classics, philosophy, religion, and culture, and music.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States**
This Encyclopedia draws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East.