Research Guides: Comparative Literature: Feminist & Gender Criticism

Feminist & Gender Lit Crit Resources

For a complete list of databases available for Feminist and Gender Literature Criticism, please visit the Gender and Sexuality Studies. Below are the most common databases used for Feminist and Gender literature scholarship.

** = UC Irvine access only

Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database for women’s studies and feminist research. It provides indexing and abstracts for numerous journals, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, reports, theses, dissertations and grey literature.
Only allows 5 users at one time. Try again later if inaccessible.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch contains archival material dating back to 1970. This database includes journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings and governmental NGO and special reports devoted to women's and gender issues.
LGBTQ+ Life This link opens in a new window
LGBTQ+ Life searches across scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications, plus historically important primary sources, including books, magazines and newspapers. It includes historical LGBTQ publications, including ONE, The Ladder, Mattachine Review, The Advocate, Christopher Street, Body Politic, The New York Native, and much more.
Women's Studies Archive This link opens in a new window
This archive contains three collections: Women’s Issues and Identities; Rare Titles from the American Antiquarian Society, 1820-1922; and Voice and Vision. The Women's Issues and Identities collection contains digitized primary source material focused on the social, political, and professional achievements of women throughout the nineteenth and twentieth century. The American Antiquarian Society collection includes around 5,700 monographs published between 1820 and 1922 in the United States and authored by women. The Voice and Vision collection contains primary sources from 1780 to 2000 and explores issues such as the abolition of slavery, alcohol and temperance movements, pacifism and political activism, domestic service, education, health and hygiene, divorce and social reform.