Research Guides: Comparative Literature: Find Criticism of Foreign Literature

Subject Guide

Email Me

Contact:

Langson Library 107

Subjects: Comparative Literature, English, Philosophy

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Remote access to the UCI Libraries' licensed online resources is available to current UC Irvine students, faculty & staff. Visit our Connect from Off-Campus page for more information!

General Literature Indexes

Links below useful for criticism in Comparative Literature

** = UC Irvine access only

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is an index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in other subscription databases. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus.
Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
An extensive compilation of literary commentary. Provides access to centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - from Classical and Medieval literature to twentieth century literature, children's literature to poetry and drama.
Web of Science (WoS) This link opens in a new window
Global citation database provides access to the Science Citation Index expanded from 1900 to the present, Social Sciences Citation Index from 1956 to the present, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975 to the present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database that provides access to journal articles covering a range of topics, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. It also indexes monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
Pascal and Francis Bibliographic Database This link opens in a new window
An archive of the PASCAL and FRANCIS bibliographic databases produced by the l’Inist-CNRS between 1972 and 2015. This database is a multilingual, multidisciplinary database indexing books and journal articles in the humanities, social sciences, and economics. It is strong in religion, history of art and literature, with particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature. Most items have abstracts.
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the period 450 to 1500 for Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. Citations classified by date, subject and location.
Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window
A database of citations for articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to journal articles covering a wide range of interdisciplinary fields from a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.

Year's Work in Critical and Cultural Theory
Together with the Year's Work in English Studies, this bibliography provides a good overview of articles and books on research for Literature and Critical Theory topics.

German Criticism

For a complete list of databases available for German Literature Criticism, please visit the German Library Subject Guide. Below are the most common databases used for German scholarship.

** = UC Irvine access only

Periodicals Index Online (PIO)**
Indexes articles published in thousands of periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 1770 to 1995. International in scope, and includes journals in English, German, Italian, Spanish, and other Western languages.
Bertolt Brecht’s Werke **
This edition is based on Bertolt Brecht - AusgewÄhlte Werke in sechs BÄnden - JubilÄumsausgabe um 100. Geburtstag, edited by Werner Hecht, Wolfgang Jeske and Jan Knopf.
Die Deutsche Lyrik (DDL) **
The electronic version of Die Deutsche Lyrik in Reclams Universal-Bibliothek covers almost 500 years of German lyric poetry and includes the work of over 500 authors from the 15th to the 20th century.
Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker (Digital Library of German Classics) **
The DBDK contains all of the works in the Deutscher Klassiker Verlag printed editions except works by Schiller, Goethe, and Wieland. The database is a premier collection of literary and non-literary German writing. All of the texts in the DBDK have been newly edited by leading international scholars and are accompanied by extensive commentaries. The database holds 31 single-author editions.
Goethes Werke **
Contains the complete text of the 143 volumes of the Weimar Edition. Every word of Goethe’s literary and scientific works, his diaries and his letters from the Weimar Edition is included, as are all illustrations, notes, variants and indexes from the published volumes.
Kafkas Werke **
Complete works based on Franz Kafka Kritische Ausgabe, Schriften und Tagebücher (S. Fischer Verlag), of which the first volume was published in 1982.
Schiller’s Werke **
Complete works of Schiller based on the Nationalausgabe edition (begun in 1940) containing his works, letters and conversations.

Cambridge Companions This link opens in a new window
A series of guides offering introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods. The Companion guides focus on the disciplines of literature and classics, philosophy, religion, and culture, and music.
Past Masters This link opens in a new window
Past Masters is a collection of primary source full-text editions in philosophy. The series includes collections in the history of political thought and theory, religious studies, education, German studies, sociology, the history and philosophy of science, economics, and classics. The publisher acquires and develops definitive editions of the full corpora of the seminal figures in the history of the human sciences, including published and unpublished works, articles, essays, reviews, and correspondence.

French Criticism

For a complete list of databases available for French Literature Criticism, please visit the French and Francophone Library Subject Guide. Below are the most common databases used for French scholarship.

** = UC Irvine access only

Cairn Online Journal
Provides comprehensive collection of publications in the French language available online in full text in the disciplines of economics, law, history and geography, literature and linguistics, psychology, education, political science, sociology, and sport.
Pascal and Francis Bibliographic Databases
Covers a wide range of multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities, sciences, and economics. International in scope, it is strong in literature. Emphasis on trends in European and world literature.
Coverage: 1984- 2015.
Gallica (Bibliotheque Nationale de France)
This massive digitization project of the French national library makes available electronic texts in French literature, history and culture ranging from the Middle ages to the nineteenth century. Texts are in PDF format.

Cambridge Companions This link opens in a new window
A series of guides offering introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods. The Companion guides focus on the disciplines of literature and classics, philosophy, religion, and culture, and music.

Spanish and Latin American Criticism

For a complete list of databases available for Spanish/Latin American Literature Criticism, please visit the Spanish & Portugeuse Library Subject Guide. Below are the most common databases used for Spanish and Latin American scholarship.

** = UC Irvine access only

HAPI Online
Web version of the Hispanic American Periodicals Index. Covers Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the U.S. 1970-present. From UCLA.
HLAS (English Interface) Volumes 1 (1936) - 49 (1989)
HLAS (English Interface) Volume 50 (1990) - present
TESO: Teatro español del siglo de oro**
Contains the full text of more than 800 Spanish dramatic works from the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.

Cambridge Companions This link opens in a new window
A series of guides offering introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods. The Companion guides focus on the disciplines of literature and classics, philosophy, religion, and culture, and music.