Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Image Research: Costume Design: Image Databases


URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/costume

Vogue Archive

Vogue Archive

A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month. Every article, cover, photo shoot, illustration and advertisement has been digitized to the highest standard, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by designer and brand names.

Berg Fashion Library Online

The Berg Fashion Library is a unique online portal which offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections – including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and much more. For a full list of content click here.

ARTstor

ARTstor: A searchable database of digital images and associated catalog data, with new image collections added several times a year. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download and organize images.

To view the Brooklyn Museum Costumes (The Metropolitan Museum of Art) collection: go to the ARTstor Digital Library, browse by collection, and click "The Brooklyn Museum Costume Collection at The Metropolitan Museum of Art." Or search the keywords: brooklyn costume.

See demo here

Licensed Digital Image Collections (access restriced to UCI)

The following image databases are limited to UC Irvine access only. 

Family Jewels, TheFrom: Family Jewels, The (1965) Directed by: Lewis, Jerry

Historical News Papers

To Find Images, click on "more search options" then select "photo standalone" from the dropdown menu under document type

For step-by-step instructions on searching historical newspapers in Proquest click on the link below:
http://screencast.com/t/WiuwsOU01u8D