- Customs and Costume: Surveys and Examples of National Studies to 1900
assemblage of about two dozen (and growing) various and representative
plate books, portfolios of paintings and prints, and illustrated
surveys on costume and customs of people around the world, principally
in the 19th century.
- Dress and Fashion: Design and Manufacture
rare and unusual published resources of interest to students of western
dress and fashion from the 19th to the early 20th century. Includes
historical surveys as well as manufacturers' booklets and sample swatch
- Marquees, 1997-2001: New York City Theatre Photographs by Christopher Frith
1,717 color photographs of Broadway theater marquees and theater facades from 1997 to 2001 by Christopher J. Frith.
- On Stage and Screen: Photograph File of the Billy Rose Theatre Collection
Tens of thousands of photographs of actors and actresses, in character and as themselves, from the 19th century to recent years.
- "Penny Plains" and "Two-pence Coloured:" English Theatrical Portraits 1799-1847 in the William Appleton Collection
toy theatre prints portraying plays and actors in character, from the
early- to mid-19th century; these prints comprise the visual materials
in the William Appleton collection of theatrical correspondence and
- "Queen of Off-Broadway:" Lucille Lortel Collection Photographs 1902-1998
appreciative selected collection of eighteen memorabilia photographs
from the papers of Lucille Lortel (1900-1999), the woman regarded as
the founder of Off-Broadway, the second wave of little theatre in
- Theatre Productions and Players, 1900-1957: Vandamm Studio Photographs
thousands of items in this digital presentation are a sampling of an
archive of more than 75,000 images of theatrical personalities and
productions. Images in the current presentation represent glass plate
and acetate negatives primarily.
- Uniforms and Regimental Regalia: The Vinkhuijzen Collection of Military Costume Illustration
20,000 prints, drawings, watercolors, and printed book and magazine
illustrations of military costume as well as military medals, regalia,
insignia, coats of arms, and regimental flags, from most times and
places except the United States.
- Yiddish Theatre Placards: Buenos Aires and New York
from the two leading centers of Yiddish theater in their respective
heydays: New York, 1890s-1910s (64 images), and Buenos Aires,
1930s-1940s (28 images).