Chicano / Latino Studies

Aggregates digital collections of primary source material from all 10 UC libraries, as well as other libraries, archives, museums, historical societies, and cultural heritage organizations in California. The collections provide open access to photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more.

Provides public access to detailed descriptions and finding aids of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.

A digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture. Also called the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project, from which the collections draws its content, it works to locate, preserve and disseminate Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form since colonial times until 1960.

A collection of newspapers published in California between 1850 - 1922.

From 1717 through 1836 the governments of Spain and Mexico collected in San Antonio de Bexar (when that city was the capital of Texas under Spanish and Mexican rule) a series of official documents detailing the military, civilian, and political life of the Spanish province of Texas and the Mexican state of Coahuila y Texas.

A collection of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.

History Vault's coverage of issues of race and ethnicity expands in this category with coverage of Latino History. This category contains two modules, Latino Civil Rights during the Carter Administration: Records of the White House Office of Hispanic Affairs (1979-1981) and Bexar Archives: Colonial Archives of Texas during the Spanish and Mexican Periods, 1717-1836.

Provides access to the investigations made by the Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) during the massive immigration wave at the turn of the 20th century. The files cover Asian immigration, especially Japanese and Chinese migration, to California, Hawaii, and other states; Mexican immigration to the U.S. from 1906-1930; and European immigration. There are also extensive files on the INS's regulation of prostitution and white slavery and on suppression of radical aliens.