Earth System Science

A joint program of the United States Geological Survey (USGS), the Geophysical Institute of the University of Alaska Fairbanks (UAFGI), and the State of Alaska Division of Geological and Geophysical Surveys (ADGGS) to monitor Alaskan volcano activity.

CDIAC's data holdings include records of the atmospheric concentrations of carbon dioxide and other radiatively active gases; the role of the terrestrial biosphere and the oceans in the biogeochemical cycles of greenhouse gases; emissions of carbon dioxide from fossil-fuel consumption and land-use changes; long-term climate trends; the effects of elevated carbon dioxide on vegetation; and the vulnerability of coastal areas to rising sea level.

The Government of Canada supports efforts to protect the environment by developing policies and programs, conducting scientific research, and working with other government departments, the provinces, territories and international partners in the fight against climate change.

The Climate Change Science Program integrates federal research on climate and global change, as sponsored by 13 federal agencies and overseen by the Office of Science and Technology Policy, the Council on Environmental Quality, the National Economic Counc

NOAA Satellite and Information Service.

Showcasing the excellence and diversity of the nation's premier research university, UCTV embraces the core missions of the University of California -- teaching, research and public service -- through quality, in-depth television that informs, educates and enriches the lives of people around the globe.

Germany’s leading institute for polar and marine research.

Louisiana Ecosystem Restoration Study to examine critical natural and human ecological needs of coastal Louisiana and develops and recommends a near-term program of cost-effective projects to address these needs.

The Geo-Images Project attempts to make images (mostly photographs) that are useful in teaching geography more widely available using computers and the internet. (Update: March 2016 - not longer act; link Internet Archive)

USGS provides several alternative ways to obtain real-time, worldwide earthquake lists. RSS, KML files, CSV, XML, Cube Format, Moment Tensor by Email, and Weekly Seismicity Reports for Northern California.

A digitized collection of photos and maps depicting California vegetation in the 1920s and 30s. The site may be searched by keywords, species names, and geographical terms.

Exhaustively researched, impeccably referenced, and always timely. Published by the Greening Earth Society.

The U.S. has sustained 323 weather and climate disasters since 1980 where overall damages/costs reached or exceeded $1 billion (including CPI adjustment to 2022). The total cost of these 323 events exceeds $2.195 trillion.

The National Technical Information Service acquires, indexes, abstracts, and archives the largest collection of U.S. government-sponsored technical reports in existence. The NTRL offers access to these authenticated government technical reports to libraries and technical information users.

Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN) serves as a portal to resources on managing and preserving geospatial data and related electronic records, including relevant standards, guides, reports, programs, and societies.

The Observatory detects, maps, and measures major flood events world-wide using satellite remote sensing. The website covers major flood events, two-day comparison of river water levels, and river ice status for cold region rivers.

American Geological Institute collects the images and assigns metadata to over 4400 indexed photos and figures.

Web resource for human geography, physical geography, planning, geology, and environmental geosciences.

An information resource for people studying Earth's frozen regions, the history of science, or past climate related to the cryosphere.

Sections with fact sheets on hazard, alerts, and activity reports for hurricanes, earthquakes, wildfires, and floods.

Science & Society Picture Library (www.scienceandsociety.co.uk) represents the collections of the Science Museum, the National Railway Museum and the National Museum of Photography, Film & Television - as well as a variety of related collections.

Orange County (California) real-time rainfall totals from OCWaterSheds.com

The OC Storm Center website provides information regarding road closures, rainfall data, and other storm related information in unincorporated areas of Orange County (Calif.)