Research Guides: Earth System Science: Home

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Remote access to the UCI Libraries' licensed online resources is available to current UC Irvine students, faculty & staff. Visit our Connect from Off-Campus page for more information!

Scholarly Communications Coordinator; Research Librarian for Chemistry, Earth System Science, and Russian Studies

Mitchell Brown

Email Me

Contact:

University of California, irvine
The UCI Libraries
P.O. Box 19557
Irvine CA 92623-9557
Office: (949)824-9732
mcbrown@uci.edu

orcid.org/0000-0002-3366-1281

9492788263

Subjects: Chemistry, Russian

Ask A Libarian

Claim Your Overleaf Account

Claim your UCI Libraries Overleaf Professional Account Today!

All UC Irvine students, faculty, and staff may claim a Professional Overleaf account for writing and publishing their projects, presentations, and research papers. Claim your Professional Overleaf account via this link: https://www.overleaf.com/edu/uci

protocols.io

Protocols.io is an open access platform for the creation and sharing of detailed methods and protocols. Features of protocols.io include:

Share methods before, during and after publication
Citable; add DOI to manuscripts
Versioning: protocols can be kept up-to-date
Run protocols step-by-step in a browser or mobile
Open access platform
Forking, versioning, and commenting features
Archived in CLOCKSS

UC researchers currently have free access to Premium accounts during the pilot period (May 31, 2024). Premium features include private collaboration around method development and use in classrooms. In the long term, this initiative should also increase the reproducibility and rigor of the research published by UC academics. Use your UCI email when logging in to access these features.

Key Sites

Key Earth System Science sites

Web of Science (1900-present) *
BIOSIS Previews (1926-present) *
BIOSIS Previews abstracts and indexes information in the life sciences and environment from more than 5,500 sources all around the world, including: journal articles, meeting and conference reports, books and patents. Over 560,000 new citations are added
Scopus*
Use Scopus to find articles from technology and the social sciences for an interdisciplinary approach to research.
eScholarship
eScholarship provides Open-Access scholarly publishing services to the University of California and delivers a dynamic research platform to scholars worldwide. Powered by the California Digital Library. Faculty Publications for Department of Earth System Science
LandScan Global Population Database* | 2000-current
The LandScan Global Population Database, developed by the Department of Energy’s Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL), is the world’s most accurate and reliable, geographically based, distribution model and finest resolution global population database. LandScan is the industry standard for global population
distribution.
Columbia earthscape: an online resource on the global environment *
Provides full-text information resources related to education and research in the earth sciences and public policy, including papers, conference, journal abstracts, books and databases. Material is contributed and selected by scholars and research institu
Compendex (Engineering Index) (1868-present) *
Citations with abstracts to worldwide literature in engineering and technology excluding patents Subject: Technology -- Abstracts; Engineering -- Abstracts; Technology -- Indexes; Engineering -- Indexes
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database (1967+ ) *
Environmental biotechnology, engineering, pollution
GeoRef (geophysics, paleontology) (1785 - present) *
GeoRef contains citations for over 3,500 journals plus numerous conference papers, theses, and other publications in the fields of geology, geophysics, and paleontology. Citations cover the years 1785-present for geology of North America and the years 193
more...less...
The GeoRef database, established by the American Geological Institute in 1966, provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive bibliographic database in the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 100,000 references a year. The database contains over 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. GeoRef in Process is a database of bibliographic records that are currently being edited and reviewed for inclusion in GeoRef.
NTRL (National Technical Report Literature) *
The National Technical Information Service acquires, indexes, abstracts, and archives the largest collection of U.S. government-sponsored technical reports in existence. The NTRL offers access to these authenticated government technical reports to libraries and technical information users.
Treatise on Geochemistry *
Comprehensive coverage of the full range of disciplines and topics in the field of geochemistry. Sections include: Meteorites, Comets, and Planets; The Mantle and Core; The Crust; The Atmosphere; Surface and Ground Water, Weathering, and Soils; The Oceans
Treatise on Geophysics *
Comprehensive coverage of the full range of disciplines and topics in the field of geophysics. Sections include: Seismology and structure of the Earth; Mineral physics; Geodesy; Earthquake seismology; Geomagnetism; Crust and lithosphere dynamics; Mantle d
Encyclopedia of Earth
An electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The scope of the Encyclopedia of Earth is the environment of the Earth broadly defined, with particular emphasis on the interaction between society and
NOAA Climate
Climate Program Office incorporates the Office of Global Programs, the Arctic Research Office, the Climate Observations and Services Program, and coordinates climate activities across NOAA.
INSPEC (physics and geophysics, 1898 - present) *
INSPEC is produced by the Institute of Electrical Engineers and provides access to the world’s leading scientific and technical literature in physics, geophysics, lectrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, and computing.
more...less...
INSPEC is produced by the Institute of Electrical Engineers and provides access to the world’s leading scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing, geophysics and information technology. The INSPEC database offers access to international journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations and books. Coverage: 1898 - present.
National Weather Service - Daliy Briefing
National Weather Service Daily Briefing is a Web portal offering information about ongoing environmental events, and explains the role of NOAA in prediction, monitoring, and recovery from environmental hazards.

UC Irvine departments & sites

UCI Earth System Science
UCI School of Physical Sciences
Research Grant Resources
Guide for locating and writing research grants and funding sources.

Weather Updates

Daily Briefing
Today's Forecast Weather Map

NOAA Weather Watch

Earth System Science