Research Guides: Earth System Science: Find Articles

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Remote access to the UCI Libraries' licensed online resources is available to current UC Irvine students, faculty & staff. Visit our Connect from Off-Campus page for more information!

Help

To get help with any of these databases, or if you have problems logging in contact:

Mitchell Brown
230 Science Library
Office: 949-824-9732
mcbrown@uci.edu

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) enables UCI students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials from other libraries. For material found in UC Library Search, but not available at UCI, sign in to your library account and request it from another UC Library.

For material found in WorldCat but not UC Library Seearch, submit a request using the Blank ILL Request Form, available on the UCI Interlibrary Loan website.

Ask a Librarian

Indexes/Abstracts

* UC Irvine access only

Web of Science (WoS) This link opens in a new window
Global citation database provides access to the Science Citation Index expanded from 1900 to the present, Social Sciences Citation Index from 1956 to the present, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975 to the present. Search for journal articles by subject, author, journal, or author address, or use the unique "cited reference search" feature to find articles that have cited the works of previous authors. Includes abstracts and many links to full-text articles.
BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
Index to biology, life sciences, biomedical research and botany articles in journals, meetings, and books. Can search by keywords, scientific name, and taxonomic family. Includes references to articles cited and articles citing an article.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Established by the American Geosciences Institute (AGI) in 1966, this database provides access to a broad collection of geoscience literature across the world. It contains references to geoscience maps, serial, and non-serial literature, as well as to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Major areas of coverage include areal geology, economic geology, engineering geology, environmental geology, extraterrestrial geology, geochemistry, geochronology, geophysics, hydrogeology and hydrology, marine geology and oceanography, mathematical geology, mineralogy and crystallography, paleontology, petrology, seismology, stratigraphy, structural geology, surficial geology.
Engineering Village: Compendex This link opens in a new window
The Compendex database provides deep coverage of global engineering literature. Also includes literature in the following related areas: applied physics, optics, bioengineering, biotechnology, food science and technology, materials science, instrumentation, medical devices, and nanotechnology.
Engineering Village: Inspec This link opens in a new window
The Inspec database provides deep coverage of scientific and technical literature in the field of physics, with additional links to citations in electrical engineering, electronics, computer science, and manufacturing information. It indexes journals, conference proceedings, books, dissertations and reports. Produced by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET).
Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Searches across the Beilstein, Gmelin, and EcoPharm databases, which include reaction and substance data for organic, inorganic, organometallic, and bioactive compounds. Reaxys also allows synthesis planning and chemical sourcing.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection offers full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It also includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources as well as the renowned AGRICOLA and TOXLINE databases and content previously available in ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS).

AGU’s Digital Library and backfile *
The library now includes all AGU journals from volume 1, issue 1 through material published in 2002 and almost all books older than 5 years.
more...less...
Every year, the library will expand to include another full year; e.g., in 2009, content from 2003 will be added to the library. As of the library's launch in January 2008, all journals published by AGU are available, except for International Journal of Geomagnetism and Aeronomy. Books, lectures/interviews and the newspaper, Eos, Transactions American Geophysical Union, will be added as completed.
Antarctic Bibliography (1957+ )
Covers all disciplines dealing with Antarctica, the Antarctic Ocean, and subantarctic islands including geological, medical and biological sciences; meteorology; oceanography; atmospheric and terrestrial physics; expeditions; logistics equipment and suppl
OSTI.gov Search Tools
From the Department of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information. Proceedings and papers from scientific meetings can be found in these fields, among others: particle physics, nuclear physics, chemistry, petroleum, aeronautics and astronautics, meteorology, engineering, computer science, electric power, fossil fuels.
more...less...
Also included are over 500,000 proceedings and papers indexed in the Energy Citations Database covering 1948 to the present. This is a free distributed portal that provides access to science and technology conference proceedings and papers from nineteen professional societies plus a number of national labs.
Petroleum Journals Online
A group of open access electronic journals in a new publishing initiative. This initiative is designed to enable petroleum engineers to rapidly publish peer-reviewed articles online while retaining their copyright.