Research Guides: Political Science: Databases

Political Science Resources

Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text database of selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.
Alternative Press Index Archive This link opens in a new window
This database serves as a companion to Alternative Press Index which indexes articles from alternative, left, and radical publications. It is the Archive and provides coverage from years 1969-1990.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Contains newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. It also provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch contains archival material dating back to 1970. This database includes journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings and governmental NGO and special reports devoted to women's and gender issues.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Database of legal resources, including laws, regulations, some trials and court reports, treaties, monographs, and a variety of other materials covering United States and foreign law. Coverage includes private and public international law, intellectual property and legal history. Includes full text image-based searchable database of legal periodicals. Database coverage for each periodical is from the beginning issue to the most current allowed under contract.
Left Index This link opens in a new window
The Left Index covers the literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship both inside and outside of academia.
This database only allows 5 simultaneous users.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
The PAIS Index covers global public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics. It includes international sources such as journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not included.
Web of Science (WoS) This link opens in a new window
Global citation database provides access to the Science Citation Index expanded from 1900 to the present, Social Sciences Citation Index from 1956 to the present, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975 to the present.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing from political science literature, as well as international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
A collection of historic and current congressional information. This database includes the full text of congressional publications, a bill tracking service, public laws, regulations, news and social media, nonpartisan Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports, hearings, and historical context summaries. Coverage also includes information about Congress, including member biographical and committee assignment information, voting records, and financial data.