Research Guides: Biology: Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Access key

Access requires an active UCInetID and password.

Access available to all on-campus. Off-campus access requires VPN (active UCInetID).

Access available to all.

Connect from off campus

Researching from home? Remote access to the UC Irvine Libraries' licensed online resources is available to current UC Irvine students, faculty & staff. Visit our Connect from Off-Campus page for more information!

Ecology and evolutionary biology resources

Web of Science (WoS)
Global citation database provides access to the Science Citation Index expanded from 1900 to the present, Social Sciences Citation Index from 1956 to the present, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975 to the present.
BIOSIS Previews
Index to biology, life sciences, biomedical research and botany articles in journals, meetings, and books. Can search by keywords, scientific name, and taxonomic family. Includes references to articles cited and articles citing an article.
Scopus
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Content covers research output in the fields of physical science, health science, life science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
Engineering Village: Compendex
The Compendex database provides deep coverage of global engineering literature. Also includes literature in the following related areas: applied physics, optics, bioengineering, biotechnology, food science and technology, materials science, instrumentation, medical devices, and nanotechnology.
GeoRef
Established by the American Geosciences Institute (AGI) in 1966, this database provides access to a broad collection of geoscience literature across the world. It contains references to geoscience maps, serial, and non-serial literature, as well as to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Major areas of coverage include areal geology, economic geology, engineering geology, environmental geology, extraterrestrial geology, geochemistry, geochronology, geophysics, hydrogeology and hydrology, marine geology and oceanography, mathematical geology, mineralogy and crystallography, paleontology, petrology, seismology, stratigraphy, structural geology, surficial geology.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection
This collection offers full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access)
Produced by the National Agricultural Library, this database contains citations for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture and related fields from across the world.
Engineering Village: Inspec
The Inspec database provides deep coverage of scientific and technical literature in the field of physics, with additional links to citations in electrical engineering, electronics, computer science, and manufacturing information. It indexes journals, conference proceedings, books, dissertations and reports. Produced by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET).
BioOne Complete
Offers access to a large number of subscribed and open-access journal titles in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.

LandScan Global Population Database
The LandScan Global Population Database, developed by the Department of Energy’s Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL), is the world’s most accurate and reliable, geographically based, distribution model and finest resolution global population database. LandScan is the industry standard for global population distribution.
Columbia earthscape: an online resource on the global environment
Provides full-text information resources related to education and research in the earth sciences and public policy, including papers, conference, journal abstracts, books and databases. Material is contributed and selected by scholars and research institutes.
NTRL (National Technical Report Literature)
The National Technical Information Service acquires, indexes, abstracts, and archives the largest collection of U.S. government-sponsored technical reports in existence. The NTRL offers access to these authenticated government technical reports to libraries and technical information users.
NOAA Climate
Climate Program Office incorporates the Office of Global Programs, the Arctic Research Office, the Climate Observations and Services Program, and coordinates climate activities across NOAA.
National Weather Service - Daliy Briefing
National Weather Service Daily Briefing is a Web portal offering information about ongoing environmental events, and explains the role of NOAA in prediction, monitoring, and recovery from environmental hazards.
Animal Diversity Web
An online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan. Animal Diversity Web has thousands of species accounts about individual animal species. These may include text, pictures of living animals, photographs and movies of specimens, and/or recordings of sounds. Students write the text of these accounts and we cannot guarantee their accuracy. Descriptions of levels of organization above the species level, especially phyla, classes, and in some cases, orders and families. Hundreds of hyperlinked pages and images illustrate the traits and general biology of these groups. Professional biologists prepare this part.
Avibase: The world bird database
vibase is an extensive database information system about all birds of the world, containing over 50 million records about 10,000 species and 22,000 subspecies of birds, including distribution information for 20,000 regions, taxonomy, synonyms in several languages and more.
FishBase
Taxonomic guide to fish.
Tree of Life
The Tree of Life Web Project is a collection of information about biodiversity compiled collaboratively by hundreds of expert and amateur contributors. Its goal is to contain a page with pictures, text, and other information for every species and for each group of organisms, living or extinct. Connections between Tree of Life web pages follow phylogenetic branching patterns. Unlike The Encyclopedia of Life (EoL) whose emphasis is on the development of species pages, the ToL focuses on phylogenetic information and the documentation of deeper branches in the tree of life.
International Field Guides
This site merges the book A Guide to Field Guides: Identifying the Natural History of North America by Diane Schmidt, Biology Librarian at the University of Illinois, and its companion Web site International Field Guides. After the publisher returned copyright to the book, the author decided to combine the two products and create a searchable database of field guides for plants, animals, and other objects in North America and around the world. Except where noted, all guides listed here were personally examined by the author.

Wetlands Status and Trends
This U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service site provides critical information on recent and historical changes in wetland and deepwater habitat type and acreage. The historical database that the Service has developed through Status and Trends provides visual evidence of wetlands and deepwater extent, as well as land use, dating back to the 1950s. This provides an accurate record to guide the development of new U.S. aquatic resource policies, and determine the effectiveness of current policies and management strategies.
California EcoAtlas
The California EcoAtlas provides free public access to information about the quantity and quality of California wetlands. EcoAtlas enables integration of information to provide landscape context for consideration of wetland extent and condition.
California Wetlands Portal
The purpose of the Wetlands Portal is to provide the public information on the quantity and quality of California wetlands from 2011 to 2014.
2010 State of the State's Wetlands Report (pdf)
The California Natural Resources Agency released the second State of the State’s Wetlands report, which summarizes the progress made by many state agencies, public and private partnerships, and the federal government to protect, restore, and monitor California’s diverse wetland resources from 1999 through 2009.