What can I access?
- PublicAccess is generally available to all people. Registration or account creation might be required to access.
For commercial websites, the UC Irvine Libraries do not offer premium memberships or subscriptions.
Access is available to all people ON the UC Irvine campus and at GML.
OFF campus access requires Authorized Affiliates to log into the VPN with their active UCInetID and password. Authorized Affiliates are people with an active UCInetID and password, i.e., current UC Irvine students and employees.
Access requires an active UCInetID and password.
Authorized Affiliates are people with an active UCInetID and password, i.e., current UC Irvine students and employees.
These resources are not licensed by the UC Irvine Libraries, but librarians occasionally promote them when they are relevant for certain types of research.
Access is available only for Authorized Affiliates, who are also affiliated with the Paul Merage School of Business.
The resources are limited to select UC Irvine populations, based on a person’s status, e.g., current UC Irvine Faculty or PhD students. Please refer to the UC Irvine Libraries for access instructions.
Examples for why content may be limited include: a vendor set restrictions on who may access their information; alternatively, information may be sensitive, identifying, or embargoed.
Am I on the UC Irvine network?
Test my connection.
How do I access the UC Irvine network?
- Students
- Employees
- Alumni
- Visitors
Am I responsibly using
what I access?
Typically acceptable vs. unacceptable use.
|
|
||||
| Title | Access | Coverage | Premium* | Notes |
| Wall Street Journal | See Notes | Global | Yes | 1) The UC Irvine Libraries sponsor a campus-wide subscription for UCI Authorized Affiliates. -- Account required? Yes -- Mobile app available? Yes 2) Users on the UCI campus network can access WSJ articles in other databases. |
| New York Times | See Notes | Global | Yes | 1) The UC Irvine Libraries sponsor a campus-wide subscription for UCI Authorized Affiliates. -- Account required? Yes -- Mobile app available? Yes 2) Users on the UCI campus network can access NYT articles in other databases. |
| MIT Technology Review | UCI | Global |
--
|
Available in the Business Source Complete database. Articles are PDF scans of the print version. |
Financial Times |
See Notes | Global | Yes | 1) The UC Irvine Libraries sponsor a campus-wide subscription for UCI Authorized Affiliates. -- Account required? Yes -- Mobile app available? Yes 2) Users on the UCI campus network can access FT articles in other databases. |
| Economist | See Notes | Global |
Yes
|
1) The UC Irvine Libraries sponsor a campus-wide subscription for UCI Authorized Affiliates. (New as of 2025!) |
| Washington Post |
UCI | Global | Yes |
The UC Irvine Libraries sponsor a campus-wide subscription. UCI Authorized Affiliates can also activate a personal account. |
| Orange County Register | UCI- Authorized Affiliates |
CA | Yes | The UC Irvine Libraries sponsor a campus-wide subscription for UCI Authorized Affiliates. -- Account required? No -- Mobile app available? No |
*What does "Premium" mean?
When the UC Irvine Libraries (or the UC System) sponsor a premium subscription, we negotiate and sign a license directly with the publisher, and we pay a subscription fee. This enables our users to access content directly from the publisher's native website (e.g., WSJ.com) without hitting paywalls.
News Databases
Factiva
Access: UCI
Worldwide coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, and business-rich websites. Factiva prohibits large-scale downloading (i.e., text mining), of content from its database.
Business Source Complete
Access: UCI
Thousands of business articles from newspapers, trade publications, and magazines.
ProQuest U.S. Major Dailies
Access: UCI
Access to the text of the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: New York Times, Washington-Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune. Content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985.
Access World News
Access: UCI
Full-text information from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.
Tip:
What's a trade publication?
Trade publications are generally written by people within an industry for people within an industry. For example, JCK is for people working in the jewelry industry, and the Chronicle of Higher Education is for people working at colleges and universities. Trade publications give great insight into the culture, vocabulary, and inner workings of an industry.