Research Guides: Informatics: eBooks

Access key

Access requires an active UCInetID and password.

Access available to all on-campus. Off-campus access requires VPN (active UCInetID).

Access available to all.

Find eBooks

Do the UC Irvine Libraries still buy print books?
Yes! In fact, some books we can only buy in print, because publishers might not make Ebooks available to university libraries.

Select eBook collections

O'Reilly (OHE)
Ebooks, videos, case studies, interactive tutorials, audio books, and more. Subjects include: Business, Desktop & Web Applications, Data Science & Management, Digital Media, Engineering, IT & Software, Development & Architecture, Math & Science, and Personal & Professional Development.

IGI Global- Computer Science and IT
Books on the timeliest, need-to-know themes currently trending within the field, such as fog computing, intelligent systems, the IoT and IoE, big data, and robotics, with a strong emphasis on troubleshooting, quality control, and agility.

AccessEngineering
An engineering reference and teaching platform that provides access to interdisciplinary engineering content integrated with analytical teaching and learning tools. This database includes content from a number of McGraw-Hill engineering publications, including the latest editions of classic texts such as Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, and Schaum's Outlines.

IET Digital Library
Database of electronic books published by the Institution of Engineering and Technology, the British society of engineers on a wide range of engineering topics.

MIT Press Direct
This collection includes MIT Press titles that are accessible as ebooks. Key subject areas covered include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences.

Test prep eBooks

Peterson's Test Prep
Study for a test with Peterson's books, review materials, and interactive practice tests, covering a wide variety of exams. The site also includes more career preparation tools.

Create an account to use the practice tests.

Graduate school tests: GRE, GMAT, LSAT, MCAT, PCAT
Industry-specific tests: Civil Service, Nursing, Real Estate, Social Work, Teaching, and many more!
A Title List of all available exam materials is at the top navigation bar on the page.

You must create an account to use the practice tests. Non-UCI email addresses can be used, but only UC Irvine Authorized Affiliates (i.e., current students and employees with an active UCInetID) will be able to remotely access this platform and study off campus. There's a limited number of practice tests (amounts are in the Title List), so review the study materials before starting practice tests.