Research Guides: English: Home

Subject Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Langson Library 107

Subjects: Comparative Literature, English, Philosophy

Recognizing the Biases in Academic Scholarship

In order to critically engage with scholarly discourse, researchers need to be aware of the inherent problems within the system of academic scholarship. Those problems could be anything from standards set by white hegemonic systems to subject terms with implicit biases. By acknowledging these inherent problems, all scholars can participate in improving the academic and public discourse.

Recent Faculty Publications

Asian American Fiction After 1965 by Christopher T. Fan
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0231213239
Publication Date: 2024-04-23
Algebraic Art by Andrea K. Henderson
Call Number: NX543 .H47 2018 (in Science Library)
ISBN: 9780198809982
Publication Date: 2018-06-12

Check My VPN Connection

Welcome!

Welcome to the UCI Libraries' English Language and Literature Research Guide. This guide serves as your portal to the UCI Libraries and its resources.

Please direct any questions to Richard Cho, your Research Librarian for Humanities and Literature.

Highlights

Proquest One Literature
ProQuest One Literature brings together the most comprehensive collection of primary texts, ebooks, reference sources, full-text journals, dissertations, video and more, for unparalleled access to historical and contemporary content by and about celebrated and lesser-known authors from around the world.
Libguide: https://proquest.libguides.com/pq1lit

Very Short Introduction
This series offers concise introductions to a range of subjects, written by experts.
American Fiction, 1774-1920.
American Fiction, 1774-1920 (Gale) encompasses more than 17,500 works of prose fiction written by Americans from the political beginnings of the United States through World War I, including thousands never before available online.

Past Masters This link opens in a new window
Past Masters is a collection of primary source full-text editions in philosophy. The series includes collections in the history of political thought and theory, religious studies, education, German studies, sociology, the history and philosophy of science, economics, and classics. The publisher acquires and develops definitive editions of the full corpora of the seminal figures in the history of the human sciences, including published and unpublished works, articles, essays, reviews, and correspondence.

MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography is an essential tool for research in all aspects of modern languages and literature. Available as a searchable online database of more than 2.8 million records and constantly updated by scholars in the field, the bibliography is used by academics and teachers around the world to find and share their work.

Literary and Critical Theory - Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies in Literary and Critical Theory will offer clearly-signposted pathways through the different areas of literary studies, and will make clear references to the other disciplines which feed in to, and are often transformed by, literary theory.

Just In! UCI Libraries New Books Lobby

The Liberators by E. J. Koh
Call Number: PQ8098.422.A215 V4713 2020 (New Books Lobby)
ISBN: 9781959030157
Publication Date: 2023-11-07
Baumgartner by Paul Auster
Call Number: PL855.A859 K6613 2021
ISBN: 9780802161444
Publication Date: 2023-11-07
You Dreamed of Empires by Álvaro Enrigue; Natasha Wimmer (Translator)
Call Number: PR9369.3.G28 P76 2021
ISBN: 9780593544792
Publication Date: 2024-01-09

Proquest One Literature

Popular Library Services for Faculty, Staff, and Students

Ask a Librarian/Research Consultation
Need help finding information? Can't figure out how to begin your research? Ask a Librarian!
Virtually any question, always expert answers! Call or visit, schedule an appointment, chat or email us.
Borrowing
Learn all about your borrowing privileges, including loan periods, recall/hold, and check out locations.
Connect From Off Campus
Remote access to the UCI Libraries' licensed online resources is available to current UC Irvine students, faculty & staff. For more help, visit: http://www.oit.uci.edu/help/vpn/
Course Reserves
Reserve Services houses course-related materials selected by faculty as required or recommended reading for their courses. Materials placed on Course Reserves are available in print or electronic format and include books, journal or newspaper articles, book chapters, and lecture notes. Course Reserves can be checked out from our Check Out Desks.
Digital Scholarship Services
DSS fosters the use of digital content and transformative technology in scholarship and academic activities.
Interlibrary Loan
The Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service enables UCI students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials from other libraries that are not available at the UCI Libraries. Before requesting an item through ILL, make sure it is not available at any UCI library by searching Library Search.
Manage Your Accounts
View your library accounts to access information related to checked out items, ILL requests, and more.
Multimedia Resources Center
The Multimedia Resources Center (MRC) is the UCI Libraries' primary collection of audiovisual and computing materials, including Blu-rays, DVDs, films, videocassettes, streamed video, DVD-ROMs and CD-ROMs.
Printing, Copying, and Scanning
take advantage of the UCI Libraries' printing, copying, and scanning services.
Schedule a Library Workshop
Schedule a Library Workshop for your students to prepare them to complete research assignments and other course related work.