Access requires an active UCInetID and password.
Access available to all on-campus. Off-campus access requires VPN (active UCInetID).
Access available to all.
A clinical search engine and point-of-care database that provides access to thousands of online resources including books, journals and multimedia.
Collections of eBooks by specialty in the fields of Anesthesiology, Cardiology, Critical Care, Emergency Medicine, Family Medicine, Internal Medicine, Medical Education, Neurology, ObGyn, Oncology, Pediatrics, Pharmacy and Surgery, as well as Basic Sciences.
Click on the book title link to view the Library Search record.
Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics by
Part of the highly regarded Nelson family of pediatric references, Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics, 8th Edition, is a concise, focused resource for medical students, pediatric residents, PAs, and nurse practitioners. Ideal for pediatric residencies, clerkships, and exams, this 8th Edition offers a readable, full-color format; high-yield, targeted chapters; and new features that make it even more user-friendly for today's in-training professionals or practitioners. Focuses on the core knowledge you need to know, while also providing complete coverage of recent advances in pediatrics. Coverage includes normal childhood growth and development, as well as the diagnosis, management, and prevention of common pediatric diseases and disorders. Includes new Pearls for Practitioners bullets at the end of each section, providing key clinical points and treatment information. Features well written, high-yield coverage throughout, following COMSEP curriculum guidelines relevant to your pediatric clerkship or rotation. Uses a full-color format with images and numerous new tables throughout, so you can easily visualize complex information. Provides real-world insights from chapter authors who are also Clerkship Directors, helping you gain the knowledge and skills necessary to succeed both in caring for patients and in preparing for clerkship or in-service examinations. Includes Student Consult access which features the full contents of the book, now integrated with select decision-making algorithms from Pediatric Decision-Making Strategies by Pomeranz et al. (ISBN: 978-0-323-29854-4), online at Student Consult.
Intensive Review of Pediatrics by
The Cleveland Clinic Intensive Review of Pediatrics focuses specifically on preparation for the American Board of Pediatrics certification and recertification exams. It is written primarily by distinguished Cleveland Clinic faculty who conduct the Cleveland Clinic Foundation's successful and popular annual Pediatric Board Review Symposium. The book is organized into subspecialty sections, each of which ends with a board simulation chapter. Chapters include numerous bulleted lists, tables, and illustrations. Two mock board exams appear at the end of the book. This edition has five new chapters and a new two-color design. A companion Website will offer the fully searchable text, an image bank, and 150 online-only questions with answers.
LANGE Q&a Pediatrics, Seventh Edition (PRINT) by
More than 1,000 board-style questions build confidence, knowledge, and test-taking skills for the USMLE Step 2 CK and the pediatrics shelf exam There's no better way to prepare for the USMLE Step 2 CK and the pediatrics clerkship exam than LANGE: Q&A: Pediatrics. This board-format review offers outstanding coverage of high-yield topics in pediatrics and provides detailed explanations of both correct and incorrect answer choices. Everything you need to excel on the exam: Questions are presented in board-style to prepare you for what you'll see on the actual exam Answers include detailed discussion and references to key textbooks and American Academy of Pediatrics guidelines Student reviewed for the most relevant content possible A complete practice test prepares you for the real thing Valuable exam-taking tips give you the edge on exam day
Manual of Ambulatory Pediatrics (PRINT) by
This pocket-sized manual is a concise, ready reference for well-child care, a compilation of the most common management problems seen in an average pediatric practice, and a drug reference. Part I provides comprehensive guidelines for well-child visits from birth to adolescence along wth management guidelines for common childrearing issues. This part has a new, more streamlined format in the Sixth Edition with an emphasis on prevention. Part II provides management protocols for the most commonly occurring childhood illnesses. This edition includes new material on behavioral problems and common childrearing concerns, childhood obesity, food allergies, ADHD, sleep problems, and peer pressure. Part III provides a concise review of commonly used pharmaceuticals in pediatric practice, using both generic and trade names.
Clinical Handbook of Pediatrics (PRINT) by 
American Academy of Pediatrics Textbook of Pediatric Care by
The landmark guide to pediatric medicine - updated and streamlined for today's clinicians and students For more than 80 years, the American Academy of Pediatrics has been the nation's leading and most trusted child health authority. The new second edition of AAP Textbook of Pediatric Care continues the tradition by providing a wealth of expert guidance spanning every aspect of current clinical practice. When you purchase the AAP Textbook of Pediatric Care, 2nd Edition print copy, you also receive FREE eBook access! Gain a better understanding of the relationship between mental and physiologic health and between early childhood adversity and long-term health outcomes. Deliver the best pediatric health care with step-by-step recommendations on what to do, when and how to do it, when to admit, and when to refer. Effectively integrate mental health care into routine primary pediatric care: mental health screening, surveillance, promotion, symptoms, and conditions are now fully integrated through the text. Expertly apply the latest approaches and techniques with 75 new chapters, including Planned Coordinated Care to Support the Medical Home; Pediatric History: Assessing the Social Environment; Promoting the Health of Young Children; Applying Behavior Change Science; Conducting the Health Supervision Visit; Psychosocial Therapies; Transitions to Adulthood; Children in Poverty; Maternal Depression; Disruptive Behavior and Aggression; and more. Diagnose, treat, and manage 85 of the most common physiologic and behavioral signs and symptoms more effectively. Includes more than 600 full-color photos and illustrations.
Pediatrics PreTest Self-Assessment and Review, Twelfth Edition (PRINT) by
The student tested-and-reviewed way to prep for the Pediatrics shelf exam and the USMLE Step 2 CK ". . . good preparation for either the shelf exam or Step 2. Many of my classmates used this book for the pediatric shelf exam and did very well on it." -- Erika Katz, Medical Student, Stony Brook University School of Medicine ". . . a comprehensive review of topics commonly encountered on the shelf and USMLE Step 2 exams. I used this book in preparation for the shelf exam and did really well. Best of all, unlike other review book, PreTest fits in my white coat pocket so I can study whenever I have downtime in the wards." -- Tina Nguyen, Medical Student, SUNY Upstate Medical University Pediatrics: PreTest(tm) Self-Assessment & Review is the perfect way to assess your knowledge of pediatrics for the USMLE Step 2 CK and shelf exams. You'll find 500 USMLE-style questions and answers that address the clerkship's core competencies along with detailed explanations of both correct and incorrect answers. All questions have been reviewed by students who recently passed the boards and completed their clerkship to ensure they match the style and difficulty level of the exam.500 USMLE-style questions and answersDetailed explanations for right and wrong answersTargets what you really need to know for exam successStudent tested and reviewed Pediatrics: PreTest(tm) Self-Assessment & Review is the closest you can get to seeing the test before you take it. Great for clerkship and the USMLE Step 2 CK! Pediatrics: PreTest asks the right questions so you'll know the right answers. Open it and start learning what's on the test.
Blueprints Pediatrics (PRINT) by
One of the best selling and most highly regarded volumes in the Blueprints series, Blueprints Pediatrics provides students with a concise review of what they need to know in their pediatrics rotation or the Boards. Each chapter is brief and includes pedagogical features such as bolded key words, tables, figures, and key points. A question and answer section at the end of the book presents 100 board-format questions with complete rationales. This edition includes full-color dermatology and infectious disease photographs and multicolored flow diagrams of congenital heart defects. A companion Website includes a question bank and fully searchable text.
Berkowitz's Pediatrics (PRINT) by
The reference of choice for pediatricians, residents and medical students, the newly revised and expanded 6th edition provides clear, practice-oriented guidance on the core knowledge in pediatrics. Edited by a leading primary care authority with more than one hundred contributors, the 6th edition provides comprehensive coverage of hundreds of topics ranging from temper tantrums and toilet training to adolescent depression and suicide. More than 155 (including 5 brand new) clinical chapters review pertinent epidemiology and pathophysiology, then give concise guidelines on what symptoms to look for, what alternative diagnoses to consider, what tests to order, and how to treat your patient. New in the 6th edition All chapters have been reviewed and updated to address current issues. Five new chapters are included on the following: Health Systems Science Population Health for Pediatricians Social Determinants of Health: Principles Adverse Childhood Experiences: Trauma Informed Care Commercially Exploited Children and Human Trafficking Student worksheets corresponding to each chapter's case study questions will be posted online in a user-friendly format so that they can be completed in preparation of discussions. Case study questions have been enhanced and resources have been revised. This edition is completely reorganized into 15 sections using a systems-based approach.
Forfar and Arneil's Textbook of Pediatrics (PRINT) by
This title is a complete, evidence-based reference of general pediatrics written by 150 experts from all over the world. The contents cover children's health needs and problems in the developing as well as the developed world, with an emphasis on prevention as well as treatment. It is the ideal international reference source for pediatricians and family doctors throughout the world. The text is readable, clear and informative, with information firmly grounded in the latest clinical evidence and trials Strong evidence base to text - as shown in the comprehensiveness of the references at the end of each chapter - these sections are unmatched by any other book Editorial team of 4 editors (one new for this edition) work together as a team to ensure that the information is consistent in quality, style and level Over 500 illustrations, with an invaluable colour section that includes pictures of eye conditions, rashes, histology, and blood diseases Comprehensive index ensures that information can be found quickly and easily Written with a world-wide audience in mind and aimed at the practitioners - pediatricians and family medicine doctors - working in the community as well as the hospital setting Expansion of information on adolescents, allergy, prescribing and genetics - in keeping with the latest developments in these fast-changing area International dimension enhanced, with particular focus on children's diseases in the developing world - an unique asset since too many textbooks ignore or devote little space to developing world problems Includes many new expert contributors drawn from the worldwide community of pediatricians - in particular from Europe, Africa and Asia New chapter on the epidemiology of disease in developing countries New, tighter style and presentation - as comprehensive as ever, but with a more modern, crisper style International Advisory Panel of experts from around the world - new to this edition Online version of complete text and illustrations available with purchase of the book - makes the book accessible wherever there is an internet connection
For books in the Science Library in Irvine, patrons may request a free book transfer to the Grunigen Medical Library by using this form.
Full-text books available online. Library call number included if print copy is also available in UCI Libraries.
UC Irvine access only. Remote users: first log in to the UCI VPN to access full-text.