Research Guides: Native American Studies: Statistics & Data

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Remote access to the UCI Libraries' licensed online resources is available to current UC Irvine students, faculty & staff. Visit our Connect from Off-Campus page for more information!

Finding Statistics & Data

The resources listed here are a few of the sites to find statistics and data. Please see the disciplinary research guides of the topic you are investigating for more specific sources.

U.S. Census / Demographic Information

Census.gov
The Census Bureau serves as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. We honor privacy, protect confidentiality, share our expertise globally, and conduct our work openly.
American Community Survey
A program of the U.S. Census Bureau, the ACS releases new data every year, in the form of estimates, in a variety of tables, tools, and analytical reports.
Decennial Census by Decade
Although the U.S. Census Bureau carries out hundreds of surveys every year, its most well-known duty is still to conduct the decennial census. Census results are used to reapportion seats in the House of Representatives, to realign congressional districts, and as a factor in the formulas that distribute hundreds of billions of dollars in federal funds each year.
Statistical Abstracts Series
From the U.S. Census Bureau, the Statistical Abstract Series data ranges from historical abstracts compiled between 1878 through 2012.
U.S. Census: American Indian and Alaska Native Data Links
Links to social, economic and other characteristics on the Native American population in the United States.
Census Reporter
Census Reporter is an independent project to make data from the American Community Survey (ACS) easier to use. We are unaffiliated with the U.S. Census Bureau.

Statistics

Gallup Analytics This link opens in a new window
Includes more than a decade of international public opinion data from more than 160 countries and areas and nearly a century of U.S. national data. Offers internationally comparable, broad coverage, in-depth research, with trend lines on important measurements of human development.
Access is for one user at a time!
Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
Database of public opinion polls containing the full text of hundreds of thousands of questions and responses from thousands of surveys conducted in the U.S. and 80 other countries. Only polls using statistically valid sampling and methods are indexed. Each question is individually indexed in one of more than 4,500 topics and six search fields Results may be downloaded or printed. Includes survey data from many organizations including Harris Poll and YouGov.
Access is limited to 4 simultaneous users.
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. It also offers broad perspectives and insight on long-term national trends and implications paired with the ability to narrow results.
Roper iPoll This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, up-to-date source for U.S. nationwide public opinion. The iPoll is organized at the question level and provides tools to sift through historical and present-day national public opinion surveys.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

Data

The sites listed here make data sets accessible. While some include reports, publications, or some other analysis, their primary intent is share data.

California State Geoportal This link opens in a new window
A centralized geographic open data portal, which includes authoritative data and applications from a multitude of California state entities. The portal runs on the ESRI ArcGIS Online Hub platform, which provides many tools to access and view data and maps.

data.census.gov
A platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau.
Data.gov
The U.S. Government's Open Data.
Includes data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
General Social Survey (GSS)
From NORC at the University of Chicago, this survey gathers data on contemporary American society in order to monitor and explain trends and constants in attitudes, behaviors, and attributes.
Google Dataset Search
Enables users to find datasets stored across repositories on the Web.
Harvard Dataverse
Both a repository of accessible data and a place to publish research data.

ICPSR This link opens in a new window
Repository of curated data sets pertaining to many disciplines within the social sciences. Contains original codebooks and descriptions of methodology, offers multiple file format downloads, and links data to relevant scholarly research. Users can search at the variable level and trace datasets to their use in academic publications.

NCAI Policy Research Center
Their goal is to lead, conduct, and translate high quality policy research and data to improve outcomes for Indian Country.
Office of Population Research (OPR)
Based at Princeton, OPR is a demographic research and training center. Research activity include the areas of health and wellbeing, social demography, and migration, the study of fertility change and urbanization.
Pew Research Center: Data
Track key national, political, economic and demographic trends over time using Pew's regularly updated charts and explore further by downloading Pew data sets, trying Pew data interactives or viewing Pew key data points.

Mapping & Data Visualization

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Offers easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Mapping and data visualization application that lets users create interactive maps, charts, and reports. Includes demographic, housing, employment, consumer spending, and business data for the United States. Users also have access to MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior data, including information on brands, and Claritas PRIZM, which offers market insights using demographics and consumer lifestyle data.
Maximum 3 users at once.
Register for a free account to save and return to your work.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Current and historical US census data, ACS, RCMS and demographic information. The easy-to-use web interface lets users create visualizations and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change, location-based data down to the city block.