Research Guides: Language Science: Research Databases

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Remote access to the UCI Libraries' licensed online resources is available to current UC Irvine students, faculty & staff. Visit our Connect from Off-Campus page for more information!

Ask a Librarian

Evidence Synthesis

Campbell Systematic Reviews
An open access journal thatl publishes systematic reviews, evidence and gap maps, and methods research papers. Prepared under the editorial control of the Campbell Collaboration.
What Works Clearinghouse
The WWC is a central and trusted source of scientific evidence on education programs, products, practices, and policies. They review the research, determine which studies meet rigorous standards, and summarize the findings. They focus on high-quality research to answer the question “what works in education?”

Research Databases

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics, as well as descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
MIT CogNet This link opens in a new window
A collection of books, reference works, and journals published by MIT Press in the field of cognitive and brain sciences.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is an index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in other subscription databases. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Content covers research output in the fields of physical science, health science, life science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
Web of Science (WoS) This link opens in a new window
Global citation database provides access to the Science Citation Index expanded from 1900 to the present, Social Sciences Citation Index from 1956 to the present, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975 to the present.
ERIC (via ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs on education-related literature compiled by the U.S. Institute of Education Science but using the ProQuest search interface.
For material not available in full text, ProQuest links to where UCI has full text access. A free, publicly accessible version of ERIC is at https://eric.ed.gov/ .