Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Immigrants and Refugees: Find Journal Articles

Topic Guide on Immigrants and Refugees - their plight, resources, and the laws around immigration
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/immigrants

Key Databases

Sample SSRN Articles: 

Lynch, Timothy E., The ICCPR, Non-Self-Execution, and DACA Recipients' Right to Remain in the United States (June 16, 2020). Georgetown Immigration Law Review, Vol. 34, 2020, Available at SSRN: https://ssrn.com/abstract=3628600

Gilman, Denise L., To Loose the Bonds: The Deceptive Promise of Freedom from Pre-Trial Immigration Detention (February 24, 2016). U of Texas Law, Public Law Research Paper No. 644. 

Ryo, Emily, Representing Immigrants: The Role of Lawyers in Immigration Bond Hearings (July 19, 2018). Law & Society Review, Vol. 52: 503-531 (2018); USC CLASS Research Paper No. CLASS18-11; USC Law Legal Studies Paper No. 18-11. 

Recommended Starting Points to Find Articles

The changing culture, discussion and challenges of migrants and refugees issues covers many disciplines; see these interdisciplinary databases to search many disciplines and resource type (newspapers/trade/scholarly) at once.

3 Tips: Learn how to use  to locate the full-text of journal articles.

"Scholarly" articles may also be called "academic" or "peer-reviewed" or "refereed" articles.

University of Texas, San Antonio's short lesson teaches you how to read a scholarly article efficiently.

Library Search

Important Information for Remote Users

The information provided below will help you access and use the Libraries' online resources when you are not connected to the campus computer network.

  • Connect from off-campus:  The majority of the library online materials are available only to current UC Irvine students, faculty and staff.  Authenticate yourself with your UCInet ID and password in order to use them remotely.
  • Ask a Librarian:  There are lots of ways to get help from a librarian.
  • Find Articles: The Databases To Get You Started guide provides links to resources (called databases) that will help you find scholarly and popular articles. 
  • Find Full-Text: This short tutorial will teach you how to use to find the complete text of many articles listed in the library databases.
  • Citations: A Beginners Guide: This guide provides basic information on how to cite the materials you use for your writing assignments.
  • Need more help?  Ask a Librarian