Non-profit organization working to strengthen and promote the science of green chemistry and its practitioners to link to strategic partners and to highlight emerging strategic opportunities for stakeholders.
Major journal series that includes Annual Review (AR) of Environment & Resources; Ecology, Evolution & Systematics; Plant Biology; Public Health; Earth & Planetary Sciences; Physical Chemistry; Resource Economics; etc.
Designed to provide easy bibliographic access to all ASCE publications. The database covers ASCE documents published since 1970. It provides access to all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newspapers.
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals database offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as environmentally recommended materials and products for construction and design.
Included in this series is some of the earliest published work on strong-motion earthquake accelerograms, and considerable research springing from the San Fernando, Whittier Narrows, Landers and Northridge earthquakes. Publication continues to the present
This new part blog, part database is a democratic open source product where the general community participates by sharing information and content. Submissions get popularized by use or buried. More than just a finding aid, but a discussion forum too.
Links to earthquake news, photos & data, seismic, geological & structural/civil engineering societies, conference calendar, research institutes, databases & more. Sponsored by a U.S. state & national consortium that disseminates earthquake-related info.
Ecology Abstracts focuses on how organisms of all kinds - microbes, plants, and animals - interact with their environments and with other organisms. Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ec
The Environmental Science Digital Collection compiled by the Univ. of North Texas Library contains a variety of open access resources that provide a rigorous and balanced scientific view on environmental issues and their potential consequences.
The documents come from such agencies and individuals as:
United States Climate Change Science Program
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
International Geosphere-Biosphere Programme
Climate Change and Agriculture and Food Security
Earth System Science Partnership
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
United Nations Environment Programme
World Meteorological Organization
University of North Texas (UNT) graduate students
This December, hear renowned California writer and naturalist John Muir (1838-1914) in his own words as he travels to California, encounters Yosemite for the first time, and works to preserve the open land he calls home.
Interactive image map display of global seismicity allowing monitoring of earthquakes in real-time. Updated every 30 minutes. Shows earthquake events for five years after date of event. Can click on event for full particulars.
This new climate change related site has the potential to be a break-through communications tool.The objectives for this project are: 1. To generate multimodal compositions on the subject of climate change 2. To engage with various dimensions and issues associated with sustainability 3. To produce and distribute the 'Inside the Greenhouse' program.
We work to deepen our understanding of how issues associated with climate change are/can be communicated, by creating artifacts through interactive theatre, film, fine art, performance art, television programming, and appraising as well as extracting effective methods for multimodal climate communication. The centerpiece of this project is the Inside the Greenhouse (ITG) television program, featuring a high-profile figure engaged in climate and environment issues (stay tuned for our upcoming schedule). As part of the programming, we also feature work produced in the associated 'Inside the Greenhouse' course at the University of Colorado-Boulder.
The interdisciplinary approach taken up in this ITG collective seeks to capture, value and interrogate the complexity of multi-scale and contemporary climate science, policy and politics as well as the challenges of performance and communication of these issues. Our motivations here spring from an expansive view of climate science and policy in society, where more formal scientific and policy work is part of, rather than separate from, public uptake. Representational practices of various sorts play key roles in interpretation, framing climate change for policy, politics and the public, and drawing attention to how to make sense of the changing world. Mediated portrayals - from television news to live performance - are critical links between people's everyday realities and experiences, and the ways in which these are discussed at a distance between science, policy and public actors.
The chosen title of the project - Inside the Greenhouse - acknowledges that, to varying degrees, we are all implicated in, part of, and responsible for greenhouse gas emissions into the atmosphere. So in these collective endeavors we treat this 'greenhouse' as a living laboratory, an intentional place for growing new ideas and evaluating possibilities to confront climate change through a range of mitigation and adaptation strategies.
Indexes articles in computers, electronics, biomedical control, electrical and ocean engineering, and physics, including geophysics, astronomy, and acoustics. Also good for conference proceedings, IEEE standards, and links to e-journals.
Particular focus on transit agencies' concerns in developing programs in response to terrorist attacks. Additional reports will be published as completed; individual volumes are available for download.
Includes a list of federal agencies that offer on-site training and technical assistance, as well as a roster of cybersecurity programs offered by universities, private companies, and government agencies, and a summary table showing federal assistance sources for state DOT security issues.
Consortium of eight academic institutions in partnership with USGS and JPL coordinating research on earthquake hazards and earthquake information. Links to databases, work groups and published research.
Springer Verlag Publishers. Abstracts and full text of over 200 journals in the sciences published by Springer-Verlag Publishers. Full text coverage: 1997 to the present. Links to the full text of many articles available.
An international database and gallery of structures including bridges, skyscrapers, towers, dams and off-shore structures. All periods of history are covered from the pyramids of ancient Egypt and Gothic cathedrals to the most daring bridges of today.
Describes a "best practices" approach to security that presents operators with a menu of security options from which they can choose the best combination of security measures for their particular situation, especially regarding terrorist-related threats.
The WRCA website provides valuable information on all aspects of water resources. This site connects to information about the items in the archive as well as important internet resources, research guides, articles, journals, dissertations, and databases.
This is designed to be an accessory for users of Water Resources Abstracts available through the Internet Database Service. It is intended to be a starting point for many other water related Internet sites.
Group's mission is to help reduce future earthquake losses by providing a forum to advance earthquake programs throughout the western region. Contains events calendar, public policy center, affiliates list, tsunami center, and earthquake information.
Delivers the full text of over 300 leading scientific, technical, medical, and professional journals, plus major reference works, the acclaimed Current Protocols laboratory manuals, and even the full text of select Wiley print books online.
SCOPE is an interdiscplinary body of natural and social science expertise focused on global environmental issues operating at the interface between sceintific and decisionn-making instances. Celebrating 40th aniversary.