Civil & Environmental Engineering

Visitors can learn about various initiatives sponsored by different agencies within the state and also peruse a list of FAQ's on the subject.

Knowledge portal highlighting civil engineering and technology on the Internet. iCivilEngineer collects, indexes and catalogues high-quality internet resources in civil engineering knowledge and technology.

Gateway with search engine for finding high quality information resources in Engineering.

Over 30,000 pages of engineering fundamentals and calculators. Top level categories are: Materials, Design Center, Processes, Units & Constants, Formulas, and Mathematics. Commercially maintained and offers additional services for a fee-based membership.

Call number: LL Ref, G70.212 .E53 2008

List of Engineering Associations in all sectors and geographical regions of the US, includes tradeshows and manufacturers.

Online search portal that assists environmental professionals with locating the websites of environmental equipment and service providers.

Call number: SL Ref, TD9 .L44 1998.

Directory Library includes Encyclopedia of Associations for U.S. and international nonprofit organizations.

This site is a public database of opinions about the environmental friendliness of various products.

A digital national atlas of ground water deposits.

A knowledge portal specially designed for civil engineering professionals and students. It has two goals in mind: 1) collect and catalog valuable civil engineering relevant Internet resources so that people can find information fast; 2) explore how to take advantage of Internet technology to serve the civil engineering community.

Online industrial directory for US & Canada serving buyers & engineers.

IRIS is a consortium of 120+ US universities dedicated to the operation of science facilities for the acquisitions, management and distribution of seismological data. Mostly for advanced researchers, there is also a "Facilities" section where one can find "grey literature." The "Research" section has observational & derived data & users should consult the documentation about how to use this data. The "Education" section has teaching resources appropriate from high school through graduate school, including earthquake events & information such as "Recent Earthquake Teachable Moments"

List of manufacturing associations in all product lines and functions. Includes links to manufacturing, purchasing and engineering certifications and Engineering Associations.

Searchable on-line directory of US and Canadian industrial suppliers with more than 1 million product listings. The Original Industrial Directory since 1893.

Is a free and open resource designed primarily for faculty and students of higher education. Links to online learning materials are collected here along with annotations such as peer reviews and assignments.

Optics InfoBase contains OSA's seven signature journals as well as two co-published titles with a digital archive backfile.

Current market research and analysis in a broad spectrum of industries including information technology, energy & environmental sciences, biotech and telecommunications. Contains an annual summary/update of industrial sectors. Has corporate index, glossary, ability to incorporate data & prepare reports.

Educational resource devoted since 1997 to improving communication between the sciences.

Call number: SL Ref, TA151 .S8 1996.

Call number: SL Ref, TD145 .S72 1990.

Features information on works of structural engineering, architecture or construction through time, history and from around the world. Coverage begins at the time of the pyramids in Egypt and Roman construction, continues to Romanesque and Gothic churches & through to the Industrial Revolution all the way to today & beyond. Structurae deals mostly with bridges, tunnels, dams, skyscrapers, stadiums, towers, & extent of structures in all forms.

A cross-disciplinary journal in scope, acting as a meeting point for natural and social scientists, researchers and practitioners, professionals and community representatives.

Directory of product services and catalogs for industrial and engineering use. Combines (67,000) categories. Can reduce down to specific category.

"Top ten" links chosen by industry experts - general civil engineering as well as more specific areas such as bridges, geotechnical, hydrology, indoor/outdoor environment, organizations, software, tall buildings, transportation.

This dataset contains 125,192,184 computer generated building footprints in all 50 US states. This data is freely available for download and use

The subject gateway on Engineering. Provides fast access to a large scientific technical data pool, well structured search results, and direct access to the services of the Technical Information Library.

A resource for locating and sourcing water-based environmental sources on the internet, it may be accessed in .pdf form via the link above in book form at call number: TC403.W38 2007.

Free multilingual dictionary in every language with definitions, etymologies, pronunciations, quotations and synonyms. Wiktionary is the lexical companion to the open-content encyclopedia Wikipedia

Commercial website that provides access to resources, tools and basic information for engineering and design of technical applications. Searchable by category and although not comprehensive it will provide basic useful engineering information.