Find Articles - Using Databases - Civil & Environmental Engineering - Research Guides at University of California Irvine

Browzine

Additional information about BrowZine is available here.

Browzine

BrowZine for UCI
A current awareness service to help you keep up with the latest research in your field. You can use it on the web, through a mobile app, or both as it syncs your account across all devices. It's available to all UC Irvine faculty, staff, and students.

BrowZine is designed to facilitate an experienced researcher to quickly narrow to their area of expertise and follow known, ranked titles of interest. Its main intent is to assist scholars in staying current in their field of expertise by providing a reader with superior browsing capabilities.

American Society of American Society of American Institute Materials Research Institute of Electrical Annual Review
Civil Engineers Mechanical Engineers of Chemical Society & Electronics
Engineers Engineering

Note:

Due to the status between the UC System and Elsevier, journal titles marked as [Elsevier] will not grant full-text access to content from 2019 and later.

To get full-text articles published in 2019 and later, please see our Alternative Access page.

BrowZine using a web browser

Open your favorite web browser.
Go to browzine.com.
Click Choose My Library
Select University of California Irvine.
Go to Settings.
Under BrowZine Account, click Login
Click Sign up create an account.
Browse journals by clicking BrowZine Library, or search for journal by title, subject, or ISSN. Add journals to your bookshelf by clicking on a journal, then clicking Add To My Bookshelf.

Finding Articles, Conference Papers, & Proceedings

CAS is announcing the discontinuation of the client version of SciFinder on June 30, 2011 for all U.S. and Canadian academic institutions. On this date, all seats at these institutions will access the web version only. SciFinder Scholar is now available on the Web for current students, faculty, and staff at all UC campuses. One time registration is required for new users, then login and search. Off-campus access requires use of the Cisco VPN software. The web version does not require any additional software and is compatible with Windows, Macintosh and Unix-based operating systems.

SciFinder Web (login)
SciFinder Scholar is now available on the Web for current students, faculty, and staff at all UC campuses. One time registration is required for new users, then login and search. Off-campus access requires use of the Cisco VPN software.
SciFinder Scholar Web (registration details)
Web Version of SciFinder and SciFinder Scholar released for UC campuses! Requires Cisco VPN client for off-campus access. One time registration is required for new users, then login and search. The SFS client version was retired as of June 30, 2011.
SciFinder Mobile *
Once registered for SciFinder web you can log into your account from your smartphone via scifinder.cas.org/mobile whether on, or off campus and access the mobile friendly SciFinder mobile interface.
- *SciFinder mobile does not include all the functionality of the PC version.*

* Indicated UCI Access Only

Arranged alphabetically by title - suggest that you scan through list to find most appropriate sources or databases.

The AGU Earth and Space Index (EASI) Search Engine
International search engine offered by the American Geophysical Union.
American Concrete Association Publications
Access to the journals and publications from ACA
American Mineralogist Crystal Structure Database
This site is an interface to a crystal structure database that includes every structure published in the American Mineralogist, The Canadian Mineralogist, European Journal of Mineralogy and Physics and Chemistry of Minerals, as well as selected datasets from other journals. The database is maintained under the care of the Mineralogical Society of America and the Mineralogical Association of Canada, and financed by the National Science Foundation.
Aqualine
ASTM Standards & Engineering Digital Library
ASTM is the major database for standards issued by the American Society for testing and materials. Includes full text current and historical standards, and all other publications issued by ASTM: e-books, symposia, journal articles and journal article literature that include 8 journal titles with backfile coverage.
BCC Research
Large Database for Marketing Research Studies with heavy emphasis in biotechnology, pharmaceuticals, healthcare, energy and other related sectors. Highly recommended.
Climate Library
Climatecentral.org is an online, open-content and collaborative question-and-answer platform on climate change related issues. It is designed for anyone knowledgeable or interested to learn more on the topic as a common resource of knowledge. Its main aim is to gather on a shared space contributions on how to solve the various climate challenges the world is facing.
DataONE
Researchers at the University of California have partnered with dozens of other universities and agencies to create DataONE, a global data access and preservation network for earth and environmental scientists that will support breakthroughs in environmental research.
DOE Green Energy Knowledge Base
DOE Green Energy is a portal to information about various forms of green energy, including solar, wind, bioenergy, and others. This free search of green energy DOE technical report literature, green energy patent information, and much more is provided by the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information.
Efunda Engineering Research Library
A resource for freemium Engineering research, white papers, reports, case studies, magazines, and eBooks.
Energy Citations Database (ECD)
Provides free access to more than 2.3 million science research citations and more than 209,000 electronic documents in the fields of chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, and computer sciences.
Environmental Impact Statements: Full Text
GeoScienceWorld
GeoScienceWorld, a collaboration of six prominent earth science societies and institutes, constitutes GeoRef. Covers 38 journals prominent to the Geosciences field.
Google Scholar
Covers all subjects and indexes scholarly literature including books, book chapters, journal literature and some conference papers and proceedings. Links to local library holdings are provided at the source level.
GreenFile*
GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment.
more...less...
Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
Greenwire
Daily news service that updates about environmental sciences and environmental law. One user at a time.
IET (Institution of Engineering & Technology) Journals
Effective January 2021 are now all Open Access and available on the Wiley platform.
Intute Engineering
Free online search service that covers physical sciences, engineering, technology including environmental sciences, computer science & general sciences. Indexes wide range of scholarly & scientific sources.
Morgan and Claypool Synthesis Series
Two major series - Synthesis in 8 releases with different series covering engineering & technology and Colloquium covering life/health sciences. Output are short books or extended essays written by specialists in the fields.
National Transportation Atlas Database
Published by BTS, is a set of nationwide geographic databases of transportation facilities, transportation networks, and associated infrastructure. These datasets include spatial information for transportation modal networks and intermodal terminals, as well as the related attribute information for these features. There are approximately three dozen point, line and polygon “data themes,” comprising of about 60 total datasets that make up the NTAD. Metadata documentation, as prescribed by the Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC), is also provided for each database. These data support research, analysis, and decision-making across all modes of transportation. They are most useful at the national level, but have major applications at regional, state, and local scales throughout the transportation community. The current NTAD databases are designed for use within a geographic information system (GIS); however, the attribute data for each dataset can be accessed in any database, spreadsheet, or other software package. In 2016, NTAD switched from an annual update to updates on a continuous basis. The BTS is interested in providing different distribution approaches and developing additional datasets.
Proquest Dissertations & Theses Fulltext*
1989-present
A collection of full text dissertations and theses which are available to all UCI users.
more...less...
Includes submissions from 80+ countries.
ProQuest Environmental Science Journals
Quakeline
QUAKELINE® is a bibliographic database developed & maintained by the MCEERInfo. Service. It covers earthquakes, earthquake engineering, natural hazard and disaster mitigation, related topics from 1987. Varied publications are featured, including books, journal articles, conference papers, proceedings, technical reports, CDs, slides, & videos. The database is updated on a monthly basis & currently provides content for over 58,000 records; IS has access to all documents cited in the database.
Sustainability Community Newsletter
A cross-disciplinary journal in scope, acting as a meeting point for natural and social scientists, researchers and practitioners, professionals and community representatives.
TRB (Transportation Research Board) Annual Meeting Papers and Archive
To find a paper use the search box for each series on the left sidebar. Not all the papers are available nor free. If you have questions, please contact jgelfand@uci.edu
Uncovering California's Environmental Collections
The University of California's Digital Library (CDL), in partnership with nine California institutions, has been awarded a competitive grant to catalog thirty-three collections documenting a range of important issues- including irrigation, mining, forestry, agriculture, industry, land use, activism, and research- in the state's environmental history.
more...less...
Highlights from the collections include the corporate records of Unocal, a major oil company; the papers of Frank Sherwood Rowland, the Nobel-prize winning scientist who discovered the effects of CFC's on the state's tidelands controversy, with a complete environmental profile of Los Angeles Harbor.
USGS Selected Water Resources Abstracts*
This database is a collection of United States Geological Survey abstracts on the subject of water resources, dating from approximately 1977 onward and compiled from several sources.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database that provides access to journal articles covering a range of topics, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. It also indexes monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) This link opens in a new window
Produced by the National Agricultural Library, this database contains citations for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture and related fields from across the world.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection offers full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
ASCE Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of civil engineering research and practical publications. Includes journals, practice periodicals, conference proceedings, standards, manuals and reports on engineering practice, and committee technical reports.
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
A collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. Covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
Index to biology, life sciences, biomedical research and botany articles in journals, meetings, and books. Can search by keywords, scientific name, and taxonomic family. Includes references to articles cited and articles citing an article.
Engineering Village: Compendex This link opens in a new window
The Compendex database provides deep coverage of global engineering literature. Also includes literature in the following related areas: applied physics, optics, bioengineering, biotechnology, food science and technology, materials science, instrumentation, medical devices, and nanotechnology.
Earthquake Engineering Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of earthquake engineering and earthquake hazard mitigation. It is currently comprised of material from 1971 forward, plus several hundred earlier classic papers and reports.
Environmental Engineering Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers technological and engineering aspects of air, water and soil quality, environmental safety, sustainability and energy production. Other areas such as mines and quarry equipment, nuclear power plants, thermoelectric energy, tidal and wind power, treatment of sewage and industrial wastes, water analysis and treatment techniques are included.
Environmental Impact Statements: Digests This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and indexing of environmental impact statements issued by the U.S. federal government. Each entry includes a project description, with sections on positive impact and negative consequences, and legal mandates. Major areas of coverage include air transportation, defense programs, energy, hazardous substances, land use, parks, refuges, and forests, research and development, roads and railroads, urban and social programs, and water.
Frost & Sullivan This link opens in a new window
Global industry research reports that integrate seven perspectives (competitive intensity, customer dynamics, industry convergence, disruptive technologies, global mega trends, new business models, and emerging markets) into a complete, overall view of the factors that impact covered industries.
Gartner This link opens in a new window
Research applicable to all facets of IT. Content includes: Magic Quadrants (i.e., a graphical competitive positioning of four types of technology providers), Hype Cycles (i.e., a graphic representation of the maturity and adoption of technologies and applications), as well as other reports on vendors and technologies.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Established by the American Geosciences Institute (AGI) in 1966, this database provides access to a broad collection of geoscience literature across the world. It contains references to geoscience maps, serial, and non-serial literature, as well as to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Major areas of coverage include areal geology, economic geology, engineering geology, environmental geology, extraterrestrial geology, geochemistry, geochronology, geophysics, hydrogeology and hydrology, marine geology and oceanography, mathematical geology, mineralogy and crystallography, paleontology, petrology, seismology, stratigraphy, structural geology, surficial geology.
IWA Publishing – Journals This link opens in a new window
Package of peer reviewed journals in water sciences & policy, wastewater, hydrology, climate change, environmental sciences, sustainability and related water related interests from around the world. All Open Access via a Subscribe-to-Open model not requiring any author fees to publish.
MRS Online Proceedings Library This link opens in a new window
Includes proceedings from MRS Meetings from the Materials Research Society.
National Technical Reports Library This link opens in a new window
NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) offers a public interface for accessing authenticated government technical reports in the U.S. Department of Commerce NTIS (National Technical Information Service) database. Provides indexing and access to historical and current government technical reports archived by the National Technical Information Service.
O'Reilly (OHE) This link opens in a new window
Ebooks, videos, case studies, interactive tutorials, audio books, and more. Subjects include: Business, Desktop & Web Applications, Data Science & Management, Digital Media, Engineering, IT & Software, Development & Architecture, Math & Science, and Personal & Professional Development.
Online Archive of California (OAC) This link opens in a new window
Provides public access to detailed descriptions and finding aids of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.
Optics ImageBank This link opens in a new window
Optics ImageBank contains over thousands of images from Optica's (formerly Optical Society of America's) core journals. Images include charts, graphs, micrographs, illustrations, and pictures. The images can be imported into other programs (copyright permission may be required). Optics ImageBank can be searched by keywords and filtered by journal, date range, OSA topic area (OSA technical divisions), and OSIS codes.
Pollution Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Pollution Abstracts combines information on scientific research and government policies in a single resource. Topics of growing concern are extensively covered from the standpoints of atmosphere, emissions, mathematical models, effects on people and animals, and environmental action in response to global pollution issues. To ensure comprehensive coverage, material from conference proceedings and hard-to-find documents has been summarized along with information from primary journals in the field.
PubMed@UCI This link opens in a new window
Provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE and life science journals. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Risk Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to the literature on risks arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources, with an emphasis on assessment of the magnitude and probability of risk and the management of risk.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Content covers research output in the fields of physical science, health science, life science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
Sustainability Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database explores all aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management.
Transport Database This link opens in a new window
International air and surface (road, rail, and marine) transportation information. It combines the following databases: Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS), International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) from OECD, and TRANSDOC from ECMT. Includes historical content.
One user at a time. If refused, try again later.
Transportation Research International Documentation (TRID) This link opens in a new window
TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre's International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database.
Water Resources Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources. Abstracts are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings and technical reports in the physical and life sciences, as well as from engineering, legal and government publications.
Web of Science (WoS) This link opens in a new window
Global citation database provides access to the Science Citation Index expanded from 1900 to the present, Social Sciences Citation Index from 1956 to the present, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975 to the present.

Retirement of SciFinder "Classic" - December 31, 2022

On December 31, 2022, the SciFinder “classic” interface will be retired for the University of California system. Going forward, we will only have access to SciFinder-n (or SciFinderⁿ, https://scifinder-n.cas.org).
Registered SciFinder users should expect to see several emails between now and the end of December reminding you of the change.
If you are already using SciFinder-n, there’s nothing you need to do.
If you are still using SciFinder “classic,” I do encourage you to begin using SciFinder-n. It’s the same username and password for both systems. If you have the old URL bookmarked, it will redirect to SciFinder-n after December 31.
- To migrate your saved searches and alerts, login to SciFinder-n, go to Saved and Alerts, then Migrate Alerts & Saved Results. There is more information about migration exceptions within the SciFinder-n help menu (link).
CAS has created some good training videos on SciFinder-n (https://www.cas.org/support/training/scifinder-n). There are also some upcoming webinars, and I can offer training to classes, research groups, and individuals.