Research Guides: Earth System Science: Dictionaries, Encyclopedias

Electronic Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change by S. George Philander, editor
Call Number: QC981.8.G56

ISBN: 1412958784

PLANET EARTH HAS become the concern of everyone. The activities of conservation biologists are now of interest to economists and political scientists who wish to find out whether certain environmental problems are best solved by regulations or market forces. Businesspeople, government officials, and politicians have become involved in science. ...

Reference Works

Arctic Science and Technology Information System (ASTIS)
Database contains over 60,000 records describing publications and research projects about northern Canada. Links to online journals, technical reports, and conference proceedings.

Dictionaries, encyclopedias... & other finding aids for Earth System Science
* UC Irvine access only

CHEMnetBASE *
Physical property data from Combined Chemical Dictionary (CCD) and The Handbook of Chemistry & Physics.
CHEMLIBnetBASE *
Complements the databases of CHEMnetBASE with dozens of resources, references, and CRC handbooks. Chemistry topics covered include: analytical, industrial and applied, inorganic, materials, medicinal, organic, physical, polymer, and surface & colloid.
The Discovery of Global Warming: A Hypertext History of How Scientistis Came to (Partly) Understand What People are Doing to Cause Climate Change
This Web site created by Spencer Weart (Center for History of Physics of the American Institute of Physics) supplements his much shorter book, which tells the history of climate change research as a single connected narrative.
Encyclopedia of Global Change
Encompassing tsunamis, elephant conservation, ocean pollution, mining regulation, and permafrost melt, the 300 authoritative articles in this unique and wide-ranging encyclopedia investigate all types of phenomena that change life on Earth.
ENVIROnetBASE *
Accessible from LibrarySearch. Complete with the latest research on pollution reduction, emissions, and environmental contamination, this e-book collection provides complete access to references on methods for site assessment, remediation, and soil and water quality monitoring.
Glossary of Geology *
Contains nearly 40,000 geoscience terms and includes images from the Earth Science World Image Bank, maintained by AGI, are displayed for rocks, minerals, fossils and landforms whenever possible.
Ice & Snow database World Data Centre for Glaciology, Cambridge
The WDCGC maintains a particularly comprehensive collection of publications covering all aspects of snow and ice worldwide. There are currently around 40,000 records, listing works published from 1661-2001.
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)
The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) to assess scientific, technical and socio-economic information relevant for the understanding of climate change, its potential impacts and options for adaptation and mitigation.
RealClimate: Climate Science from Climate Scientists
RealClimate is a commentary site on climate science by working climate scientists for the interested public and journalists
Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta Atlas
Call number: Langson Library G1527.D45 C3 1993
The Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta Atlas provides information for readers who wish to understand the complex interrelationships within the Delta and grasp its significance to California.
Treatise on Geochemistry *
Comprehensive coverage of the full range of disciplines and topics in the field of geochemistry. Sections include: Meteorites, Comets, and Planets; The Mantle and Core; The Crust; The Atmosphere; Surface and Ground Water, Weathering, and Soils; The Oceans
U.S. Geological Survey Publications
The Publications Warehouse contains: Bibliographic citations for over 70,000 publications, full product and thematic map content for over 40,000 publications, and USGS numbered series begun in 1880.
Virtual and On-line Geologic Field Trip Guides
Web pages that contain descriptive local geological or earth science information for the United States or Canada. Maintained by the Walter Geology Library, University of Texas Austin.
Geologic Guidebooks of North America Database
Index for print field guides that consists of references to geologic field trip guidebooks of North America (United States, Canada, Mexico). Most of the guidebooks cited are from the period 1940-the present.
World Glacier Monitoring Service
World Glacier Monitoring Service (WGMS) collects standardised observations on changes in mass, volume, area and length of glaciers with time (glacier fluctuations), as well as statistical information on the distribution of perennial surface ice in space (glacier inventories).