"The Crime Report (TCR) is the nation’s only comprehensive news service covering the diverse challenges and issues of 21st century criminal justice in the U.S. and abroad. Staffed by working journalists in New York, Washington and Los Angeles, it is published daily through the year by the Center on Media, Crime and Justice at the John Jay College of Criminal Justice in New York. "
Reporting since 1994 "on the intersection of politics and business, connecting Capitol Hill, K Street, Wall Street and Pennsylvania Avenue for non-partisan coverage of all factors in legislative decisions."
"The Source For News On Capitol Hill Since 1955 ... Roll Call provides essential intelligence and grassroots advocacy resources. As the premier source of timely news, objective facts and analysis, and coverage of elections and the politics of legislation, we keep our fingers on the pulse of the legislative process ..."
“Newspapers.com Library Edition is an extensive database that provides online access to 3,000+ historical newspapers. Dating from the early 1700s into the early 2000s, Newspapers.com Library Edition contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles to small local newspapers in the United States and other countries.”
Click each link to learn how to activate your complimentary subscription to these newspapers, courtesy of UCI Libraries. You only have to activate once to get started, and renew each year while you are at UCI. VPN required to activate.
"The Almanac of American Politics provides political operators with profiles of every member of Congress, and demographic and historical election data by state and congressional district. The digital edition also includes updated directories for all federal staff. Export full congressional and federal staff directories. Filter your searches by party affiliation, job title, agency, and appointment type to quickly find the information you need."
"Published and hand delivered every day that Congress is in session, NJ Daily is your source for everything happening on the Hill. Provides members with insider access to Congress , from in-depth policy coverage to profiles of key figures and power players on Capitol Hill. Delivered to the desks of all 535 congressional offices and top officials across the executive branch."
"National Journal’s Daybook keeps you informed about the most important events and hearings in Washington. Plan your week with the most comprehensive list of policy events happening in Washington. Search by topic, date, and location, then export the list to keep tabs on the events most relevant to you."
"Hotline’s Wake-Up Call and Latest Edition preview the day’s top stories and election updates. Washington’s most powerful political tracking tool provides you with unbeatable news on campaigns and predictive intelligence on elections. Wake-Up Call distills the morning’s key political headlines while Latest Edition assembles election and campaign news from across the country."
"Race Tracker is the go-to source for data on elections, campaigns, and candidates. A digital, interactive hub that encompasses every detail of each key race so you don’t have to search across multiple sources. Customizable dashboards allow you to quickly pull and download polling data, campaign contributions, issue ratings, and more."
International News Sources
Access World News *"This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people."
Al Jazeera"Al Jazeera English since 2006 is part of a growing network comprising more than ten channels and divisions. Launched in 1996, Al Jazeera Arabic was the first independent new channel in the Arab world dedicated to providing comprehensive news and live debate."
AllAfrica.com"AllAfrica is a voice of, by and about Africa - aggregating, producing and distributing news and information from over 140 African news organizations and our own reporters to an African and global public. AllAfrica's multi-channel platform is the only independent, comprehensive pan-African news source, with unrivaled reach and reputation. We operate from Cape Town, Dakar, Abuja, Monrovia, Nairobi and Washington DC."
BBC ~ British Broadcasting CorporationThe BBC has been called the world's largest broadcast news organisation. BBC News platforms provide up-to-the-minute news, breaking news, video, audio and feature stories (World and UK news).
Factiva *Sources from more than 159 countries in 22 languages. Limit by "Language" and/or "Region" in order to retrieve international news.
Google News -- WorldThe Google News portal site directed to "World" or "International' news sources.
Institute for War & Peace ReportingThe Institute for War & Peace Reporting is an international network of organisations headquartered in London with coordinating offices in Washington, DC and Amsterdam, IWPR works in 28 countries worldwide.
Nexis Uni *Includes hundreds of newspapers from around the world. [English translation]
Nikkei Asian Review*Nikkei Asian Review features news and analysis from Asian economies like China and India, plus news and opinion articles on select Asian topics.
ReutersReuters, the news and media division of Thomson Reuters, is an international multimedia news provider reaching more than one billion people daily. Reuters provides business, financial, national, and international news.
RT NewsWith its first international news channel launched in 2005, RT is now a global, round-the-clock news network of eight TV channels, broadcasting news, current affairs and documentaries, with digital platforms in six languages and RUPTLY, the video news agency. Round-the-clock news channels in English, Arabic and Spanish, and documentary channel RTDoc, in English and Russian, broadcast from Moscow, while RT America airs from Washington, DC, and RT UK from London and RT France from Paris. Today, RT is available in more than 100 countries spanning five continents.