Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COVID-19: Coverage: News & Social Media

Resources to help you start research on the novel coronavirus (COVID-19), and its effects on our world.

access

Access: UCI = resources limited to current UCI students, faculty, and staff, using the VPN from off campus.

News & Social Media

 

Turbine Labs - Coronavirus News Media Coverage
Turbine Labs in collaboration with Tableau has made an interactive visualization that provides the ability to see the Covid-19 outbreak as a visual data story.

 

COVID-19 and the Global Media Landscape
From Lexis Nexis, interactive charts that provide insight into the way coronavirus is developing across the global media landscape in near real time.

 

United Nations COVID-19 News
A site that brings together information and guidance from the World Health Organization (WHO) and the United Nations regarding the current outbreak of novel coronavirus (2019-nCoV) that was first reported in Wuhan, China, on 31 December 2019. 

 

Below are three popular news databases.  Visit the News & Newspapers Research Guide for a more comprehensive list of news publications.
 

  • Access World News 
    Access: UCI
    Provides articles from over current 6,000 U.S. and over 3,500 international sources.
     
  • Factiva 
    Access: UCI
    Newspapers, trade publications, newswires, media transcripts, and photos.
     
  • Newspaper Source
    Access: UCI
    Nearly 60 full-text national (U.S.) and international newspapers and more than 320 full-text regional (U.S.) newspapers. Newspaper Source also includes television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR and more.

 

Facebook Data for Good- COVID-19
Facebook offers a number of tools and initiatives that can help organizations respond to the COVID-19 pandemic.

 

Twitter Insights
Marketing insights provided by Twitter, many covering COVID-19. The UCI Libraries do not have access to any premium content.  

 

Twitter Developer Labs: COVID-19 Stream
The COVID-19 stream endpoint provides access to COVID-19 and Coronavirus related public Tweets in real-time as defined by the criteria used to power this topic on Twitter. It is for approved developers and researchers to study the public conversation about COVID-19 in real-time.  For more information see Twitter's Blog Post about this feature.  

 

TrackCOVID

TrackCOVID
A free, open-source smartphone application (in beta), developed by UCI researchers, that permits contact tracing for potential coronavirus infections while preserving privacy, through the use of QR codes at checkpoints.  

Premium NYTimes.com

New York Times: Coronavirus
Access: UCI
While the New York Times is making much of its coronavirus coverage public, current UCI affiliates are encouraged to create a free NYTimes.com premium account, sponsored by the UCI Libraries.