The Chicago Manual of Style
Published by the University of Chicago Press, Chicago Style is a writing system that is used by many publishers and academic disciplines in the United States. The Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS) is currently in its 17th edition. Chicago style is sometimes referred to as Turabian style, as Turabian style developed from CMOS and is nearly identical. Turabian does not include information about publishing.
Chicago Manual of Style offers two citation systems: the Notes and Bibliography System and the Author-Date System.
Chicago Style's Notes and Bibliography System uses numbered footnotes and endnotes to cite sources. Additionally, sources are listed in a separate bibliography. The Notes and Bibliography system is flexible and can accommodate many different types of sources in different media.
Generally, the Notes and Bibliography System is used by researchers in humanities disciplines.
Similar to APA Style, in Chicago Style's Author-Date System, sources are cited in-text using parenthetical notes that include the author's late name and year of publication. Complete bibliographic information is compiled in a reference list at the end of the paper.
The Author-Date System is commonly used in the sciences and social sciences.
The media of the source dictates what information is included in a citation. Generally, CMOS bibliographic entries include the following components:
Author surname, first name and middle initial. Title of Work. Publication and Access Information.
View sample citations at the bottom of this page, or in the Chicago Manual of Style (you must be logged in to the VPN to access CMOS full text online).
Author-Date citations are comprised of the following information:
First author surname, first name and initial. Second author first name and last name. Date. Title. Publication Information.
Galloway, Mollie K., Petra Callin, Shay James, Harriette Vimegnon, and Lisa McCall. 2019. “Culturally Responsive, Antiracist, or Anti-Oppressive? How Language Matters for School Change Efforts.” Equity & Excellence in Education 52, no. 4: 485–501. doi:10.1080/10665684.2019.1691959.
In-Text Citation: (Galloway et al. 2019, 486-91)
Kendi, Ibram X. 2019. How to be an Antiracist. New York: One World.
In-Text Citation: (Kendi 2019, 88-104)
Thomas, Traci. 2019. "The Short Stacks 22: Ibram X. Kendi//How to be an Antiracist," The Stacks Podcast. https://thestackspodcast.com/2019/09/22/ss22.
In-Text Citation: (Thomas 2019)
In the Notes and Bibliography System, "notes" refers to numbered footnotes or endnotes. The notes include the following information: author (names are written in standard order), title (capitalized in headline style), and publication information.
A Full Footnote/Endnote (used for first mentions of the source or for works in which a Bibliography is not required):
1. Mollie K. Galloway et al., "Culturally Responsive, Antiracist, or Anti-Oppressive? How Language Matters for School Change Efforts," Equity & Excellence in Education 52, no. 4 (November 2019): 492.
A Truncated Footnote/Endnote (used for subsequent mentions of an already-mentioned source and/or when a complete bibliographic listing already exists in a Bibliography):
1. Galloway, "Culturally Responsive, Antiracist, or Anti-Oppressive?," 496.