CI Technology Historical Data (1996-2022)

The UC Irvine Libraries' contract for the CI Technology Historical Data (1996-2022) is valid through
Wednesday, September 22nd, 2027.  
The contract is not renewable with the vendor, and there is no other source for this data.
After 9/22/27 the UC Irvine Libraries will no longer be able to provide access to this data for UC Irvine Authorized Affiliates.
Subsequently we will maintain an archival version of this page for information purposes only.

This dataset was first produced by Harte-Hanks and then by Aberdeen Group, which is now a subsidiary of Spiceworks Ziff Davis (SWZD).  This resource had many different names over the years:

• CI Technology Database/Dataset (CiTDB)
• Company Intelligence Data
• AccessCI
• Harte-Hanks Market Intelligence

CI Technology is data on the installed technology and purchase plans of businesses, governments and institutions at the local level.  It contains company profile information that includes annual spending/expenditure on IT and telecommunications, and counts on installed technology, such as:

• Computer hardware
• Software
• Networks
• Storage and telecommunications
• IT Staff/Employee counts

The UC Irvine Libraries licensed data spanning 1996 – 2022.  Please note these important caveats:  

• Historical data after 2022 is unavailable because the vendor (SWZD) stopped selling it. 
• No other vendors sell this data.
• 1996-2006 data is less robust than data from 2007 – 2022.
• The years of coverage vary by world region.
• The UC Irvine Libraries' contract for the CI Technology Historical data is valid through September 22nd, 2027.  

Files were generated in January to reflect the end state of the previous year's database.  File types are usually .TXT files, comma (,) delimited, Double-quote (") text qualified.  On occasion, Win-1252 encoded, or UTF-16 depending on the needs at that point in time. 

Data Dictionaries are included, and each year's dictionary applies to all years following it until there is a new version. For example, the 2011 dictionary also applies to 2012. A new year's dictionary indicates that changes were made. 

This resource is strictly limited to UC Irvine Authorized Affiliates (i.e., current UC Irvine students and employees, with an active UCInetID). 

• The UC Irvine Libraries cannot facilitate access for people who are not UC Irvine Authorized Affiliates. 
• Researchers not who are not UC Irvine Authorized Affiliates should read our Visitors FAQ for more information.  

Because of data vendors' restrictions, some resources require you to take additional steps (jumping through hoops) to access.  To request access, please complete the form below. 

Dataset Access Request Form

It only takes 1-2 minutes to complete!  

The UC Irvine Libraries typically process requests within 48 business hours.  If you don't receive an update after 48 business hours, please do the following:

1. Visit the Libraries' Ask A Librarian email service page.
    
2. Copy and paste this script into the email form:
   • Question: 
     Dataset Access Request
      
   • More Detail/Explanation:
     Hello, I'm a UC Irvine researcher requesting access to a dataset that requires a library staff member to facilitate.  It has been more than 48 business hours since I submitted the Dataset Access Request Form (guides.lib.uci.edu/dataset-access-request-form), and I have not received a reply.  I need UC Irvine Libraries staff to help me get access to the data by visiting the following guide (LibApps login required):  https://guides.lib.uci.edu/dataset-access-requests