Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CI Technology Historical Data: About and Access

CI Technology Historical Data

 

About

Spiceworks Ziff Davis LogoUCI- Authorized Affiliates
Geography- Global

This dataset was originally produced by Harte-Hanks, and it is now produced by Aberdeen Group, a subsidiary of Spiceworks Ziff Davis (SWZD).  This resource has been called many different names over the years:

  • CI Technology Database/Dataset (CiTDB)
  • Company Intelligence Data
  • AccessCI
  • Harte-Hanks Market Intelligence

The CI Technology Datasets product provides data on the installed technology and purchase plans of businesses, governments and institutions at the local level, contains company profile information that includes annual spending/expenditure on IT and telecommunications, and counts on Installed Technology, such as:

  • Computer hardware
  • Software
  • Networks
  • Storage and telecommunications
  • IT Staff/Employee counts

The UCI Libraries license spans 1996 – 2021.

  • Note: 1996-2006 data is less robust than data from 2007 onward.

Files are generated in early January to reflect the end state of the previous year's database.  File types are usually .TXT files, comma (,) delimited, Double-quote (") text qualified.  On occasion, Win-1252 encoded, or UTF-16 depending on the needs at that point in time. 

Data Dictionaries will also be included, and each year's dictionary applies to all years following it until there is a new version. For example, the 2011 dictionary also applies to 2012. A new year's dictionary indicates that changes were made. 


How To Request Access

The UCI Libraries do not host the CI Technology Data.  It is provided to Authorized UCI affiliates upon request, including an accompanying data dictionaries.   To start a data request:

  1. Email the CI Technology Data administrator, Annette Buckley, Business and Economics Librarian, using your @uci email address.  [Start your request.]  
     
  2. Describe your current UCI Affiliation (i.e. faculty, student, staff)
     
  3. List which years of data you want.  

The administrator will forward your request to SWZD.  You will then receive an email from a SWZD employee saying that they have shared a folder with you via the ShareFile platform.  You will register for a SWZD ShareFile account and access the data on the SWZD ShareFile platform.  

 

The UCI Libraries’ CI Technology Datasets administrator typically approves data requests within 48 hours during the business week.  If you have not received an update after 48 hours, please use UCI’s Ask A Librarian email service, and copy/paste this message: 

  • I am a researcher requesting access to the CI Technology Historical Datasets.  It has been more than 48 hours since I submitted my request for access to the data.  This link has instructions for UCI Libraries staff to help me get access to the data (LibApps login required).
     

Access Answers

 Box title- Access Answers 


What can I access? 


Access is generally available to all users. Registration or account creation might be required to access.

For commercial websites, the UCI Libraries do not offer premium memberships or subscriptions.

 


Access is available to all users ON the UCI campus and at GML.

OFF campus access requires Authorized Affiliates to log into the VPN with their active UCInetID and password. Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 


Access requires an active UCInetID and password.

Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 


These resources are not licensed by the UCI Libraries, but librarians occasionally promote them when they are relevant for certain types of research.

Access is available only for Authorized Affiliates, who are also affiliated with the Paul Merage School of Business.

 

The resources are limited to select UCI populations, based on the user’s status, e.g. current UCI Faculty or PhD students. Please refer to the UCI Libraries for access instructions.

Examples for why content may be limited include: a vendor set restrictions on who may access their information; alternatively, information may be sensitive, identifying, or embargoed;

 


How do I access? 
-  Students
-  Employees
-  Alumni
-  Visitors


New browser window icon.Am I on the UCI network?
Test my UCI connection.


New browser window icon.Am I responsibly using
what I access?

Typically acceptable vs. unacceptable use.