Research Guides: Chemistry: Search for information and suppliers

Where Do I Get Started?

1. I don't know where to start...

Top Chemistry Sources

Where to get started, compound names, physical properties, spectra, and suppliers

Knovel *
Online Interactive Books and Databases a large number of online science and engineering handbooks.

2. I have a chemical name...

ChemFinder.com
Search a database...

NIST Chemistry WebBook
(National Institute of Standards and Technology) Contains: Thermochemical data, Heat of reaction data, IR spectra, Mass spectra data, Ion energetics data.

3. I have a chemical formula or structure...

ChemFinder.com
Search a database

PubChem
PubChem is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative. It provides information on the biological activities of small molecules.
ChemSpider
An online resource for chemists to search, aggregate and data mine over 10 million publicly available chemical data, including the PubChem collection and data provided by a number of other collaborators.

more... less...

ChemSpider adds additional predicted property information generated as a result of their collaborations with property prediction software providers including Advanced Chemistry Development, ACD/Labs.

4. I need a spectra...

SciFinder Web (login) *
SciFinder Scholar is now available on the Web for current students, faculty, and staff at all UC campuses. One time registration is required for new users, then login and search. Off-campus access requires use of the Cisco VPN software.

SciFinder Scholar Web (registration details) *
Web Version of SciFinder and SciFinder Scholar released for UC campuses! Requires Cisco VPN client for off-campus access. One time registration is required for new users, then login and search.
Integrated Spectral Data Base System for Organic Compounds
Free NMR spectra.
Knovel *
Online Interactive Books and Databases a large number of online science and engineering handbooks.
Major Sources for Spectra
Major sources for spectra: Atomic, Infrared, Nuclear Magnetic Resonance, Mass Spectrometry, Ultraviolet.
What Steps to Follow to Identify Compounds from Spectra
Locate a spectrum of a known compound or identify a compound from its spectrum.

5. I need information about this chemical's effect on people...

EPA's Envirofacts Master Chemical Integrator
Chemical References

Material Safety Datasheets, toxicology, and effects on human health.

Chemical in the Environment: OPPT Chemical Fact Sheets
OSHA Occupational Chemical Database
Material Safety Data Sheets
List of websites
Material Safety Data Sheet
Avantor Performance Materials
Search by Product Number, Product Name, Formula, and CAS Number.
Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) *
ChemWatch, a Material Safety Data Sheet retrieval system provides health and safety information about hazardous materials for more than two million chemicals. Included are physical and chemical hazards, toxicity, health effects, emergency procedures, reac

6. I need to search Chemical Abstracts...

SciFinder Web (login) *
SciFinder Scholar is now available on the Web for current students, faculty, and staff at all UC campuses. One time registration is required for new users, then login and search. Off-campus access requires use of the Cisco VPN software.

SciFinder Scholar is a computer-based client-server interface to the world's largest database of chemistry literature, Chemical Abstracts. Over 27 million citations to chemistry publications are searchable by topic, author, CAS Registry Number, patent number, and CAS abstract number. In some cases, links to the full-text of journal articles are available. Over 16 million citations to medical and biological references in MEDLINE, 31 million organic and inorganic substances, and 59 million sequences.
About SciFinder Scholar
SciFinder Scholar How To Guides
These How To Guides show step-by-step examples and include tips for using a variety of features available in SciFinder.
SciFinder Tutorial
A series of tutorials for searching SciFinder Scholar (SFS) provide hands-on practice using SciFinder Scholar to locate information to answer questions commonly encountered in General chemistry, Biology, and Chemical Engineering courses.

7. I have this weird abbreviation from older journal articles...

Here is a list of some of those older journal abbreviations that cause us so much trouble every once in a while:

A = Justus Liebigs Annalen der Chemie

Ann. = Justus Liebigs Annalen der Chemie

Annalen = Justus Liebigs Annalen der Chemie

B = Berichte der Deutschen Chemischen Gesellschaft

Ber. = Berichte der Deutschen Chemischen Gesellschaft [merged parts A & B to form Chemische Berichte]

Monshft. = Monatshefte für Chemie [or Monatshefte fuer Chemie]

J = Journal of the Chemical Society. London

Journal = Journal of the Chemical Society. London

These are all of the one's which I remember coming up for ancient references: I might have missed others in the vast woodwork of older chemical journals...

Prepared by April M. Love, University of California, Irvine (2003)

8. What full-text journals does the UCI Libraries have Web access to?

e-Journals A-Z *
Locate all restricted & unrestricted full text online journals, article databases, news, reference, and statistical & data

* UC Irvine access only

Databases A-Z *
Locate all restricted & unrestricted full text online journals, article databases, news, reference, and statistical & data

9. Chemical suppliers

ChemACX.org
Searching and Suppliers are free - registration required
Chemexper Chemical Directory
Searching and suppliers are free
Chemical Register
Free worldwide supplier database with 15,000 companies and 15,000 products. Database can be browsed and searched by company/chemical name and CAS Registry Number.
Chemical Supplier and Catalogue Links (RSC)
Chemical suppliers and business directories
ChemSources
Searching is free - Suppliers are not
R&D Chemicals
A database of chemical compounds accessible online by molecular formula, IUPAC name, Smiles, common name, CAS number, structure or substructure.
ReAgent Chemical Services Ltd.
Chemical manufacturing company working the businesses across UK and Europe to manufacture, pack and blend their chemical products and distribute them around the world.
Sigma-Aldrich Catalog Search
Multiple Brand Catalog
ThomasNET
Thomas Register® and ThomasRegional®
WWW Chemicals Network

10. Current journal awareness and database updates

ACS Publications' FREE E-mail Alerts
ASAP Alerts and Table of Contents Alerts — e-mail alerts of the Table of Contents (TOC) for specific issues on the day the complete issue is posted on the Web, enabling you to scan the issue's entire contents at once.

Most-Accessed ACS Journal Articles
View the Most-Accessed Articles for previous year for ACS journals. Choose the tab labeled "Most Read" or "Most Cited" for individual journals.
Royal Society of Chemistry Journals
Provide live updates of the latest articles direct offering an effective way to browse journals online.
PubMed Feeds
PubMed Feeds will include citations retrieved by your PubMed searches since the last time you were connected to your RSS reader.
Compendex [Engineering Index] *
Compendex Provides weekly RSS feeds of search queries. Execute a search, click on the RSS feed button, copy and paste the URL link into your RSS aggregator. Register to create a personal account to save searches, save records, and create E-mail Alerts.
Biomed Central
Get the latest articles from a single journal, across all BioMed Central journals, or the lists of most-viewed articles in the last 30 days.
Cambridge Core Blog
Follow updates to the Cambridge University Press Academic publications.
Nature Publishing Group
Nature provides its latest table of contents as an RSS news feed

Help

To get help with any of these databases, or if you have problems logging in contact:

Mitchell Brown
230 Science Library
Office: 949-824-9732
mcbrown@uci.edu

Ask a Librarian

Connect from off campus

Researching from home? Remote access to the UC Irvine Libraries' licensed online resources is available to current UC Irvine students, faculty & staff. Visit our Connect from Off-Campus page for more information!