Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BME 180A - Biomedical Design - Fall 2021: Engineering Resources

Resources

You may want to visit the Biomedical Engineering Research Guide.  These extracted resources are likely to be helpful:

PubMed

Compendex  Compendex is the Engineering Index & Abstracts database - use the UC eLinks to determine if the journal article is available - read the abstract first

Annual Reviews -  This list of journals includes the Annual Review of Immunology, Biochemistry and 30 other titles. The entire database can be searched together or each titles can be searched separately.
Academic Search Complete
Scopus
Web of Science
Google Scholar
CRISPR Journal
JoVE*
Frost & Sullivan Healthcare

BCC Research - Another Marketing Reports database. No need to sign in, just use the VPN when off-campus.

MarketLine Advantage: Country Statistics Database
Passport Global Market Information Database

 

Standards

Remember, Technical Standards are an established norm or requirement. It is usually a formal document that establishes uniform engineering or technical criteria, methods, processes and practices. The documents prepared by a professional group or committee which are believed to be good and proper engineering practices and which contain mandatory requirements. The contain “how to” instructions for designers, manufacturers, and users. Standards promote safety, reliability, productivity, and efficiency in almost every industry that relies on engineering components or equipment. Standards can run from a few paragraphs to hundreds of pages, and are written by experts with knowledge and expertise in a particular field who sit on many committees.

You will have to use standards from different sources:

1.  Class related Standards are in ANSI Standards Connect -  you will find ISO 14971, 2d ed, 2007, Medical Devices there and others; click on View My Documents and then scroll through the documents and click on View.  You can search the document for specific terms or coverage by entering "CTRL F"

2.  Other COVID related documents are also available from other sources.

2.  ASTM Standards & Engineering Digital Library  - to be searched - for F04.15

3.  Check in your Canvas source for other standards from ANSI

For additional information about standards and specifications, please consult Standards Guide or contact Engineering Librarian

Additional Resources

For visual images you may want to consult sources such as the following sources or consult the Visual Arts: Images Resource Guide and make sure that you have proper rights to use or copy images - that they are Open Access or not copyrighted::

 

How To Read a Patent

For background information, the Patent FAQ may answer some basic questions.  Use a Patent Glossary if you need help with definitions.  Patents appear to be outlined with numbers - these are Standard Field Codes or "INID codes" for international agreed numbers for the identification of bibliographic data and are consistent with patents from around the world. A review of how to read a patent will be helpful.

  • Drawings - each figure is numbered and explained  - sometimes they are broken up into several sub-figures and they can also show a 3D view with parts numbered for identification.
  • Specification - the basic text but does not include the claims.  Provides the summary of the invention and describes the drawings.
  • Claims - the most important part of a patent - often written in legalistic style.  Two types of claims: Independent & Dependent where the latter only has meaning when combined with a preceding claim and the former claim stands alone.  Usually the broadest claims of the patent are at the top or front of the list of what the patent is supposed to achieve or do. 

 

FDA Resources

Regulations and Compliance

Patents

PATENT RESOURCES - the following sources are highly recommended but for additional direction, please consult the Subject Guide for Patents - you will be restricting your searches to US Patents and there is a box there for how to read & understand a patent.  When using some of the following databases, you may find some references to European patents (EP#) - sometimes US companies, like Medtronics register for foreign patents hoping that it will take less time to successfully be awarded the patent.  Opening up the illustrations or drawings in some patent databases may require special TIFF software - record the patent # and search in another database or follow instructions on how to download special TIFF software.