Research Guides: Southeast Asian Diaspora Studies: The Southeast Asian Archive (SEAA)

Southeast Asian Archive (SEAA)

The UCI Libraries Southeast Asian Archive collects, preserves, and makes accessible primary and secondary source materials documenting the history of the Cambodian, Hmong, Laotian, and Vietnamese diaspora. Collection strengths include Southeast Asian American experiences of resettlement and community formations since the Vietnam War, Cambodian Genocide, and geopolitical turmoil in the former French-occupied "Indochina" in the latter half of the 20th century.

To view FINDING AIDS to archival collections in the SEAA, please visit the Online Archive of California

To search for book, film, thesis and dissertation titles in the SEAA collection, use UC Library Search

The UCI Libraries' Southeast Asian Archive (SEAA) is a part of the UCI Libraries' Special Collections Department. The SEAA circulating materials are housed in the Orange County & Southeast Asian Archive Center and in the archival collections in Special Collections (Langson 5th floor, closed stacks).

Using the materials in the SEAA
Students, faculty, staff, and community members from everywhere are welcome to visit the SEAA in person. In this guide, use the tab, Research Topics, to see the wide variety of topics and questions that have brought people to the SEAA.
SEAAdoc: Documenting the Southeast Asian American Experience
A representative sampling of the materials in the SEAA have been digitized for access to all. This database includes 1,500 visual images and 4,000 of searchable text.
SEAA collections in the Online Archive of California
Collection Guides for all of the SEAA archival collections are available in full-text online. Some of the materials in these collections have been digitized. All of the materials may be viewed in person at the Special Collections & Archives Reading Room (UCI Langson Library 5th floor)
The SEAA is profiled in the book, Celebrating Research
Celebrating Research: Rare and Special Collections from the Membership of the Association of Research Libraries profiles one collection from each of the top 120+ research libraries in North America. The UC Irvine Libraries chose to highlight the Southeast Asian Archive.