Research Guides: Research Grant Resources: Grant Sources

General Resources

* = Resources available to UC Irvine faculty, staff and students only.

Candid Foundation Directory
Information on every U.S. Foundation with one search. Useful for finding grantmakers & nonprofit foundations.
Guidestar*
Search GuideStar for the most complete, up-to-date nonprofit data available.

How to Seek Funding

Grant Writing Tips and Guides

A guide to grantwriting at UCI (From Office of Research Development)

Proposal Preparation at UCI
Grant Writing Basics
From Grants.gov: a blog of hints and tips for writing government grants.

Grant Search Tools

* = Resources available to UC Irvine faculty, staff and students only.

Pivot*
Pivot is a searchable database made available by the UCI Office of Research. It searches over $33 billion in global funding resources
Dimensions
128 million publications,in various disciplines. No grant information (available only with subscription).
NSF (National Science Foundation) A-Z Index of Funding Opportunities
NIH Guide for Grants and Contracts
NIH Funding Opportunities (NIH Guide for Grants and Contracts)
Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tools (RePORT)
RePORTER is an electronic tool that allows users to search a repository of NIH-funded research projects and access publications and patents resulting from NIH funding.The Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tools provides access to reports, data, and analyses of NIH research activities, including information on NIH expenditures and the results of NIH supported research.
Grants.gov
Grants.gov is a central storehouse for information on over 1,000 U.S. Government grant programs offered by the 26 federal grant-making agencies and provides access to approximately $500 billion in annual awards.
CORDIS: Community Research and Development Information Service
This site provides information on current research projects in the European Union and gives access to documents concerning the EU Framework programmes as well as to other EU sites.
CRIS: Current Research Information System
CRIS- Current Research Information System. Provides documentation and reporting for ongoing agricultural, food science, human nutrition, and forestry research, education and extension activities for the United States Department of Agriculture; with a focus on the National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA) grant programs. Covers biological and behavioral sciences.
UK MRC (Medical Research Council) Funded Projects Database
A database of medical/scientific projects funded by the UK Medical Research Council.

Federal Grant Statistics and Information

USAspending.Gov

USAspending.gov is the publicly accessible, searchable website mandated by the Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act of 2006 to give the American public access to information on how their tax dollars are spent. All the data on prime recipient transactions is submited by the federal agencies making federal contract, grant, loan, and other financial assistance awards. Agencies are required to submit data within 30 days of making the award or after making a modification or amendment to an award. The exception is the Department of Defense which delays its submission by 90 days to protect operations.

The charts, graphs, and maps display data from October 1, 2008. All data prior to September 30, 2008 can be downloaded.