Graduate Student Orientation to Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering 2023-24

American Association for the Advancement of Science. Publishes prestigious journal, Science, Science’s Next Wave and Science Signaling. Promotes scientific literacy and science policy.

Scholarly and news articles on a variety of topics

Association for Computing Machinery journals are found in the ACM Digital Library. Full text of ACM journals, magazines and conference proceedings.

Index of conference papers presented at the annual AIAA (American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics). UCI currently has only the fulltext for 2001-2006. Also the index to the 9 AIAA journals fulltext.

American Mathematical Society. Full text and images of several journals published by the American Mathematical Society. Full text coverage from 1996/97 to present.

Nearly 50 different series, reflecting different publishing spans containing full-text articles and extended annotated bibliographies. Can be searched individually or collectively.

American Physical Society. Full text of all journals published by the APS including the Physical Review series. Full text coverage from 1996/97 to the present.

American Society of Mechanical Engineers. Provides access to society’s technical journals from 2000. Please be directed to Library Search - Advanced Search - Library Catalog to search for specific journal titles as UCI Library collection may have earlier content in print. Conference Papers from 2008+ will be added in early 2011.

The Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a NASA-funded project which maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 5.9 million record: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints.

Climatecentral.org is an online, open-content and collaborative question-and-answer platform on climate change related issues. It is designed for anyone knowledgeable or interested to learn more on the topic as a common resource of knowledge. Its main aim is to gather on a shared space contributions on how to solve the various climate challenges the world is facing.

Online equivalent of Engineering Index.Best for aerospace, civil, structural, and mechanical engineering. Also covers ocean, coastal, chemical, electrical & computer engineering. Includes abstracts & UC-eLinks to UC e-journals & print holdings.

Combined INSPEC and Compendex searches can be conducted at https://www.engineeringvillage.com/search/quick.url?database=3

Science Conference Papers.

(Fulltext for entire content from 1999+ when available.)
1989-present
A collection of full text dissertations and theses which are available to all UCI users.

DOE Green Energy is a portal to information about various forms of green energy, including solar, wind, bioenergy, and others. This free search of green energy DOE technical report literature, green energy patent information, and much more is provided by the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information.

Covers over 350 freely available ejournals in sciences and engineering and computer science.

Provides free access to more than 2.3 million science research citations and more than 209,000 electronic documents in the fields of chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, and computer sciences.

This collection provides searching of more than 1 million scientific e-prints.

GeoScienceWorld, a collaboration of six prominent earth science societies and institutes, constitutes GeoRef. Covers 38 journals prominent to the Geosciences field.

Fulltext coverage of IEEE journals, books, book chapters, conference papers & proceedings.

INSPEC (https://www.engineeringvillage.com/search/quick.url?database=2), including the INSPEC archive from 1898) is the premier database for physics, astronomy, electronics engineering, ocean engineering, geophysics, acoustics, computer science, mechanical and production engineering, biomedical controls, and information technology and has moved platforms to the Elsevier Engineering Village. Beginning January 2019, users will be able to search INSPEC and Compendex separately to use the special index features unique to those databases and/or better manage author indexing variations. Or they may search the two main databases together for ease in quicker and broader searches, particularly of engineering literature since both databases go back to the late 1800s. Results may be de-duplicated with the user’s preferred database records from Compendex or INSPEC as desired. One bonus feature of the Engineering Village platform is the ability to view the latest 20 articles citing a paper/article as found in Scopus.

Special features of INSPEC include:

Ability to narrow results by treatment code (general/review articles, experimental, theoretical, applications approach, economic, new development, practical, or product review)
Numeric/property, and astronomical objects searching
Inorganic chemical substance and materials systems searching (of particular utility when searching semi- and super-conductor materials)
Engineering Village also has Knovel book content indexed as another searchable database for those UC campuses with an active subscription (UCB, UCI, UCLA, UCM, UCR, UCSB, UCSD).

The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) has an INSPEC on Engineering Village LibGuide available, including how to use expert searching and display details (not abstract view) for specialized indexing terms.

Combined INSPEC and Compendex searches can be conducted at https://www.engineeringvillage.com/search/quick.url?database=3

Index of the nuclear science and energy literature from 1970-present: +3 million bibliographic records and a unique collection of over 200K full-text documents (non-conventional "grey" literature)

Free online search service that covers physical sciences, engineering, technology including environmental sciences, computer science & general sciences. Indexes wide range of scholarly & scientific sources.

Institute of Physics. Full text coverage of several journals published by the Institute of Physics from 1993 to the present.

MIT does not participate in the UMI Dissertations & Theses Database, but makes available select theses and dissertations from all MIT departments. If not available here, request via ILL.

Many institutions now participate in the ETD (electronic thesis & dissertation) program and this is a database of submissions from a variety of those institutions including CalTech, Virginai Tech, Georgia Tech and many foreign universities.

Provides indexing and access to a collection of more than two million historical and current government technical reports archived by the National Technical Information Service. Over 500,000 documents are available in full-text format with more retrospective content being added all the time in addition to the current releases.

Access to full-text SAE Digital Library from 1998- will soon be available. Search the index to identify SAE technical papers, books, conferences, and standards from 1906-present.

Educational resource devoted since 1997 to improving communication between the sciences.

Elsevier Scientific Publishers and Academic Press. Full text access to over 900 scientific, medical and technical journals published by Elsevier Scientific Publishers.

Indexes with fulltext access the 8 major journals from SPIE including the SPIE Proceedings on topics in optics and phototonics for more than 70,000 records from 1990.

Abstracts and full text of over 1700 journals in the sciences published by Springer/Kluwer. Full text coverage: 1997 to the present.

Recommended for variety of content in engineering, computer science, mathematics and statistics. Best for theses, ePrints, technical report literature. Does not cover journal literature as well as other databases.

International search engine offered by the American Geophysical Union.

Sizable list of Institutions that provide either full-text reports, or searchable extended abstracts of their technical reports. This site contains links to technical reports, preprints, reprints, dissertations, theses, and research reports of all kinds.

Encompasses the Science Citation Index (1900+), Social Science Index (1956+), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975+). Provides author, keyword, and cited reference searching to more than 1700 leading social science journals.

Delivers the full text of over 900 leading scientific, technical, medical, and professional journals, plus major reference works, the acclaimed Current Protocols laboratory manuals, and even the full text of select Wiley print books online.

Index of the nuclear science & energy literature from 1970+. Contains more than 3M bibliographic records & a unique collection of >200K full-text documents.

Major UK search engine to find engineering, computer science & mathematics articles, industry news, books, eContent identified in 31 collections. Recommended as a source once traditional databases have been consulted.

Environment & Energy Publishing (E&E) is the leading source for comprehensive, daily coverage of environmental and energy policy and markets.

Most of the publications from the Association of Computing Machinery are included.

Covers the journals and most recent conference papers of the AIAA - hopefully we will expand this collection of papers going back retrospectively.

Covers the journals & conference proceedings of ASME .

UCI now has full-text access to the ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library! Find >12,200 active standards, 12,300 Redlined standards, 28,500 historical or withdrawn standards and journals from the ASTM, eBooks, and conference proceedings and special technical publications.

Large Database for Marketing Research Studies with heavy emphasis in biotechnology, pharmaceuticals, healthcare, energy and other related sectors. Highly recommended.

Searches the biological and life sciences.

This database provides fulltext to all output from all UC campuses from 1999. A 24pp preview of content from other dissertations and they can be requested on ILL if fulltext is needed.

Engineering Index - most disciplines of engineering.

also contains links to library holdings and fulltext access.

Covers all IEEE publications, including journals and conference proceedings.

Covers electrical engineering & computer science; indexes IEE & IEEE, SPIE and other professional literature.

The only method to search MEDLINE.

SAE's digital platform is called Mobilus. Fulltext access to the technical papers from SAE since 1998 are available. For pre-1998 papers. selected technical papers are included in the SAE Transactions, for which some volumes are available at the UCI Library at Science Library Call Number TL 1 S6. Also includes eBooks, and Ground Vehicle Standards. New journals also added.

Elsevier’s uber interdisciplinary database with many new features highlighting information content and various features.

Covers the optics literature.

Part of the Web of Knowledge platform along with BIOSIS and Zoological Record.