Research Guides: Critical Theory: Find Articles and Full-Text Journals

Subject Guide

Richard Cho

Email Me

Contact:

Langson Library 107

Subjects: Comparative Literature, English, Philosophy

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.

Web VPN

Software VPN

More Information Regarding the VPN

Critical Theory Indexes

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database that provides access to journal articles covering a range of topics, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. It also indexes monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to journal articles covering a wide range of interdisciplinary fields from a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is an index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in other subscription databases. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus.
Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window
A database of citations for articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.

Year's Work in English Studies**
Together with the Year's Work in Critical and Cultural Theory, this bibliography provides a good overview of articles and books on research for Literature and Critical Theory topics.
PEP Archive (Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing)**
The PEP contains the complete FULL TEXT of 26 premier journals in psychoanalysis, 56 classic psychoanalytic books, and all 24 volumes of The Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud.

Select Critical Theory Journals

Critical Times
Critical Times is a peer-reviewed, open access online journal that seeks to foreground encounters between canonical critical theory and various traditions of critique emerging from other historical legacies, seeking to present the multiple forms that critical thought takes today. We publish essays from different regions of the world in order to foster new paths of intellectual exchange and reformulate the field by accounting for its regional and linguistic inflections.
Critical Inquiry**
"[This] journal presents articles by eminent and emerging critics, scholars, and artists on a wide variety of issues central to contemporary criticism and culture."
Deleuze Studies
"Deleuze Studies does not limit itself to any one field: it is neither a philosophy journal, nor a literature journal, nor a cultural studies journal, but all three and more."
New Literary History**
"New Literary History focuses on theory and interpretation - the reasons for literary change, the definitions of periods, and the evolution of styles, conventions, and genres."
Postmodern Culture (PMC)
This Web-based journal is dedicated to publishing texts (articles, videos, animation, etc.) on "interdisciplinary thought on contemporary cultures."
Public Culture**
A cultural studies journal that publishes articles to promote a "critical understanding of the global cultural flows and the cultural forms of the public sphere which define the late twentieth century."

** = UC Irvine access only