EndNote is a bibliographic management software that helps collect and manage citations.
Users can also insert in-text citations while simultaneously creating a bibliography in MS Word through Cite While You Write.
EndNote is available online (EndNote Basic for free) or as a desktop application (EndNote 20 for purchase).
EndNote offers an option to change, modify, or remove private information from their database.
EndNote Basic (free)
Create an account here for an online library with a maximum of 50,000 references and up to 2GB of attachments
Store, share, and organize citations and access them from any computer
Search, annotate, and highlight within PDFs
Build citation reports and utilize other features in EndNote Basic, through an institutional subscription to Web of Science
EndNote 20 (for purchase as a desktop application)
Write in an offline environment
Create and manage group access
Share selected references with groups
Build a bibliography in any included styles, or customize a style
Automatically export references and full-text PDFs into EndNote
Visit EndNote website to download a free, 30-day trial of EndNote 20*
Get Endnote 20 at a discounted price (UCI faculty, student, or staff) through thinkEDU*
*Users will need an active and current UCI email address (academic ID) to purchase. Individuals who purchase a single-user license can install EndNote 20 on up to three computers (Mac and Windows) for personal use and sync their library across all 3 computers.
EndNote Click (free)
Official EndNote browser extension
Access full-text PDFs through institutional database subscriptions and open access
Organize articles with tags and download PDFs to computer
Add and access articles to user’s EndNote Click Locker (Additional locker space is available at EndNote Click Premium)
integrates with Mendeley, EndNote, Dropbox and Zotero
|EndNote Basic||EndNote X20|
|Share entire library with others||yes|
|PDF viewer with annotation tools||yes|
|Manuscript Matching and publication recommendations||yes||yes|
|Extraction of DOIs and other imported metadata from PDFs||yes|
|Cross-platform library synching across desktop, online, and iPad||
Web browser and iPad app sync only
For more detailed comparisons, please visit:
Cite While You Write for Microsoft® Word is a plug-in that inserts references, format citations, and bibliographies automatically while you write your papers in Word. To download and install the Cite While You Write plug-in, follow the steps below:
Off-campus? Please use the Software VPN and choose the group UCIFull to access licensed content. For more information, please Click here
Software VPN is not available for guests, so they may not have access to some content when connecting from off-campus.