Research Guides: Anthropology: Data

Data Tools & Resources

Are you a researcher working with data?
The Libraries have supporting resources.

Software in the Libraries
Find computers with software like Stata and SPSS

Digital Scholarship Services
Help for data management, curation, sharing, etc.

Google Dataset Search
"Dataset Search enables users to find datasets stored across thousands of repositories on the Web, making these datasets universally accessible and useful...

more... less...

"Datasets and related data tend to be spread across multiple data repositories on the web. In many cases, information about these datasets is neither linked nor has it been indexed by search engines, making data discovery tedious or, in some cases, impossible.

By providing our users with a single interface that allows them to search across multiple repositories, we hope to transform how data is being published and used. We also believe that this project will have the additional benefits of a) creating a data sharing ecosystem that will encourage data publishers to follow best practices for data storage and publication and b) giving scientists a way to show the impact of their work through citation of datasets that they have produced."

Social Indicators Defined

Statistics about human welfare in a region, e.g.: Adult literacy, education, fertility rate, household income & time use, infant mortality, life expectancy, incidence of antisocial behaviour & criminal offences, income inequality, poverty rate, proportions of urban & rural population, social security expenditure, unemployment, voter turnout, and water & air quality.
Indicators are often presented as time series data, i.e. data for the same variable at different times, usually at a regular frequency, e.g. annual, quarterly, weekly.

Source: A Dictionary of Economics

Finding Federal information

During this administration, we are noticing some Federal sites have been deleted or are missing from the public record. Below are some resources to help you locate some of the missing information.

Tracking Removed and Modified Government Information & Resources
We have started the Tracking Gov Info project to keep track of removed and modified government information and resources, to help the public see the scope of what has been removed or modified, and to point to where preserved copies can be found, if possible. We hope that this effort will supplement the excellent existing projects to track federal data that is being deleted, such as the Data Rescue Project
Data Rescue Project
The Data Rescue Project is a coordinated effort among a group of data organizations, including IASSIST, RDAP, and members of the Data Curation Network. Our goal is to serve as a clearinghouse for data rescue-related efforts and data access points for public US governmental data that are currently at risk. Efforts include: data gathering, data curation and cleaning, data cataloging, and providing sustained access and distribution of data assets.
Report Missing Records and Artifacts - National Archives
Internet Archive - Wayback Machine

Social Indicators

ICPSR
Repository of curated data sets pertaining to many disciplines within the social sciences. Contains original codebooks and descriptions of methodology, offers multiple file format downloads, and links data to relevant scholarly research. Users can search at the variable level and trace datasets to their use in academic publications.

Murray Research Archive DataVerse
This Harvard Archive is a permanent repository for quantitative and qualitative research data at the Institute for Quantitative Social Science, comprised of data, audio, and video.
Association of Religion Data Archives [ARDA]
ARDA's goal is to preserve and provide access to high-quality data on religion in the United States and abroad.
Office of Population Research (OPR)
OPR is a leading demographic research and training center; contributing to formal demography, and the study of fertility change. Research activity include the areas of health and wellbeing, social demography, and migration, the study of fertility change and urbanization.

Government

DATA.GOV
Access datasets published by agencies across the federal government, and find tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
resources.data.gov
A repository of Federal Enterprise Data Resources of policies, tools, case studies, and other resources to support data governance, management, exchange, and use throughout the federal government.

Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. It also offers broad perspectives and insight on long-term national trends and implications paired with the ability to narrow results.

Polling, Opinions, Community

American Community Survey [ACS]
The companion survey to the Census, this community survey details population and housing information about our nation.
General Social Survey [GSS]
Gathers data on contemporary American society in order to monitor and explain trends and constants in attitudes, behaviors, and attributes.
Pew Research Center: Data
Track key national, political, economic and demographic trends over time using Pew's regularly updated charts and explore further by downloading Pew data sets, trying Pew data interactives or viewing Pew key data points.

Polling the Nations
A compilation of questions and responses from national, state, local and special surveys, conducted by hundreds of international polling organizations. Records consists of one poll question and the participants' responses, and indexed by subject matter, publication year, general and specific location, and survey method.
Access is limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Roper iPoll
Comprehensive, up-to-date source for U.S. nationwide public opinion. The iPoll is organized at the question level and provides tools to sift through historical and present-day national public opinion surveys.

Licensed Data and Mapping Tools

Many of UCI Libraries data and mapping databases are designed for researchers in the social sciences, but may be highly relevant to digital humanists.

Statista
A statistics portal that includes market research, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. In addition to tables and charts, Statista also provides infographics and studies on selected industries and topics.
PolicyMap
Offers easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US.

Geographic Information Systems [GIS] Guide
This research guide provides a great starting point for learning more about the GIS and geospatial resources available to you while at UCI.
Social Explorer
Current and historical US census data and demographic information. Harness the power of location-based data down to the city block, to create visualizations and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.

SimplyAnalytics
Mapping and data visualization application that lets users create interactive maps, charts, and reports. Includes demographic, housing, employment, consumer spending, and business data for the United States. Users also have access to MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior data, including information on brands, and Claritas PRIZM, which offers market insights using demographics and consumer lifestyle data.
Maximum 3 users at once.
Register for a free account to save and return to your work.

DMPTool
An open-source, online application that helps researchers create data management plans. Service of the University of California Curation Center via CDL https://cdlib.org/services/uc3/dmptool/

Anthropology