A reference source is an authoritative compilation of info on a subject, segmented into smaller constituent stand-alone topics. Typical formats include: dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, atlases, almanacs, and bibliographies.
Use them to quickly gain an understanding about the key concepts and/or resources within that subject.
The SAGE Handbook of Cultural Anthropology by
This handbook provides a rich overview of the discipline using international theories and examples throughout; chapters on all major topics relevant to the field, whilst also presenting a possible road map for the future of the field.
Concise Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology by
Provides invaluable assistance to anthropological researchers both old and new. It provides an authoritative single point of reference to the wide range of technical terms that professional anthropologists are expected to understand.
The field researcher's handbook : a guide to the art and science of professional fieldwork by A broad collection of journals and ebooks with emphasis on humanities and social sciences. Publishers include numerous university presses and scholarly societies.
This book presents evidence for defining the Anthropocene as a geological epoch, written by the high-profile international team analysing its potential addition to the geological time scale. The evidence ranges from chemical signals arising from pollution, to landscape changes associated with urbanization, and biological changes associated with species invasion and extinctions.
This book explores extractive conflicts between indigenous populations, the government and oil and mining companies in Latin America, namely Mexico, Peru and Bolivia. Building on two years of research and drawing on the state-corporate and environmental crime literatures, this book examines the legal, extralegal, illegal as well as political strategies used by the state and extractive companies to avoid undesired results produced by the legalization of the right to prior consultation.
This timely book explores the significance of the Anthropocene for environmental politics, analysing established political concepts in view of contemporary environmental challenges. Asking whether politics can continue as usual, given the profound transformations to our planet.