This introductory course to Urban and Regional Planning identifies the social and environmental sequences and policy issues in the US and internationally. and what constitutes the foundation of the field and defines globalization. It covers governance at all levels including international, federal, state and local that inform development and urban studies. It will expose students to the various stakeholders and allow for how policy analysis and assessment of public policy is shaped by political and media influences. Course assignments will introduce students to the core literature and resources that cover the issues and needs to successfully complete the course.
Think of your topic carefully. Make sure that it resonates within your syllabus, but has a different spin and that the proposal is a guideline you follow for the paper. You will need to have 3 different sources that reflect:
The following structure may be helpful.
Library Search is the Library Catalog, for UCI and all 9 other UC campuses, where you can identify books and eBooks, journal articles, newspaper articles, videos, etc.. Enter your search term in the big box (Search Anything) and then refine search using the left sidebar. including . On the left sidebar restrict to books (online or in print - you can borrow for 5 weeks) and then determine if you want the most current or relevant based on your search strategy. You can restrict to to peer-reviewed journal content; online resources. If you select the Advanced Search option, you can then restrict to the UCI catalog and search by title, author or keyword and restrict format to book, journal, article, video, etc.
There are separate databases that highlight major newspaper coverage. Be careful about the time periods covered and what newspapers are included. Students can subscribe free with a UCI NetID to the New York Times (NYT) and the Wall Street Journal (WSJ) and can read on all devices that are registered. Enjoy access to NYT by following these directions and for the WSJ, these directions.
Other databases that can be searched by topic and will retrieve major newspaper coverage are:
Finding information produced by the US Government is complex. There are different finding tools and databases. Using the US Government Information Research Guide will get you started. For California government information, many analogous agencies and departments produce information. For International coverage, additional sources to Global Information in Context, PAIS International and Academic Search Complete include OECD iLibrary and CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online.
There are many resources that cover the different threads and topics that will be covered each week. Your syllabus has many Web Resources and you will want to explore the bibliographic sources that follow that will allow you to search specific concepts and retrieve journal articles, news & media coverage for your policy paper. Visit the UPPP Research Guide for additional resources.
The general themes of:
are covered by most of these databases. Some are specialized and some are very multidisciplinary.
Consider writing from an outline that will cover:
Off-campus? Please use the Software VPN and choose the group UCIFull to access licensed content. For more information, please Click here
Software VPN is not available for guests, so they may not have access to some content when connecting from off-campus.