The UCI collections reflect content from all the global publishers including scholarly & professional societies, commercial publishers & government agencies and NGOs. They include:
The Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service enables UC students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials from other libraries that are not available at the UCI Library. Please check UC Library Search before requesting an ILL and make all requests there. If UCI has the eBook and you prefer reading the print, please request it here For requests outside of the UC use the WorldCat Worldwide search incorporated in UC Library Search. For additional information contact libill@uci.edu
Additional information about BrowZine is available here.
A database of reports, papers, and other resources published by NGOs, think tanks, IGOs and research centers from across the world. It also includes a directory of thousands of organizations involved in public and social policy in most subject area. A module in the Policy Commons database.
On December 31, 2022, the SciFinder “classic” interface will be retired for the University of California system. Going forward, we will only have access to SciFinder-n (or SciFindern).
CAS has created some good training videos on SciFinder-n. There are also some upcoming webinars, and I can offer training to classes, research groups, and individuals.
Updated: Mitchell Brown (June 16, 2022) contact at mcbrown@uci.edu
There are many, literally hundreds of databases containing journal articles, conference papers, books, book chapters and other information sources. They can be found in Databases A-Z and on most Subject Guides on tabs titled "Finding Articles/Using Databases" and similar names.
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Content covers research output in the fields of physical science, health science, life science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
Covers issues from social poisons and substance abuse to natural toxins, from legislation and recommended standards to environmental issues. Major areas of subject coverage include: pharmaceuticals; food, additives, and contaminants; agro-chemicals; cosmetics, toiletries, and household products; industrial chemicals; metals; toxins and other natural substances; social poisons and drug abuse; polycyclic hydrocarbons; nitrosamines and related compounds; radiation and radioactive materials; methodology; legislation and recommended standards.
Professional Society Databases
Covers a broad spectrum of engineering and biomedical sciences and applied works and includes ebooks, journals, and reference works.
This collection offers full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
Many publishers have their own platforms which can be searched for fulltext content and they usually contain all outputs for journals, conference papers/proceedings, books, and whatever else is released. The UCI Libraries may only access to a portion of the holdings because we do not have active subscriptions or licenses to everything. If you are unavailable to access what you need, please contact the Engineering Librarian or submit an InterLibrary Loan request. These publishers may include: