Research Guides: Evidence-Based Neonatology Subject Guide: Home

Health Sciences Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Linda Suk-Ling Murphy, MLIS
Health Sciences Librarian
University of California, Irvine
The UCI Libraries
P.O. Box 19557
Irvine, CA 92623-9557

(949) 824-6419

Subjects: Medicine & Health Sciences

Lecture Slides

Evidence-Based Neonatal Medicine These lecture slides include information on point-of-care resources in Perinatology and Neonatology for patient care, research, and education training. It provides step-by-step instructions on how to use some of these resources.
How to Address a Research Qesuton and Carry out a Medical Literature Review By the end of this session, students will have the skills to: - structure a research question within the PICO framework. - identify relevant search terms and search concepts for advanced searching in PubMed, Scopus, and Google Scholar. - determine strength and weaknesses of PubMed, Scopus, and Google Scholar. - access journal articles and other library online restricted resources remotely via the VNP software. - use the “UC-eLinksRequest It”to obtain items that are not available from the UCI Libraries
Publication Tools for Research Communication By the end of this session, students will have the skills to: -determine which citation manager is right for them. - master the basic functionality of EndNote, Mendeley, and ReadCubePapers. - use JBI SUMARI to guide you through the process of conducting a literature review and preparing for a publication. - find the right journal to publish their manuscript. - gain the basic knowledge of scholarly open access vs. traditional publication models. - determine potential predatory and legitimate biomedical journals when submitting manuscripts to publications.

Ask a Librarian

Point-of-Care Tools

BMJ Best Practice * BMJ Best Practice is a POC database created in 2009 by BMJ Evidence Centre, a division of the BMJ Group. The database is designed to provide clinicians with quickly accessible patient consult information. ... Treatment information contains evidence from the sister BMJ database, Clinical Evidence.
Clinical Pharmacology * A comprehensive drug reference that supports healthcare professionals in making sound medication decisions by providing access to the most current, accurate and clinically relevant drug information.
DynaMed * DynaMed is an evidence-based clinical decision support tool with content from a team of physicians. It is designed for use at point-of-care. Over 3,200 topic summaries covering diseases, disorders, diagnostics, and drugs are derived from peer reviewed journals and systematic evidence review databases. It also includes patient information and links to PubMed citations and abstracts and practice guidelines. The topics are peer-reviewed and presented in succinct bulleted form.
Micromedex * Provide access to the Clinical Knowledge Solutions: Micromedex® Medication, Disease and Toxicology Management, Micromedex Formulary Management, Patient Connect Solutions: Micromedex CareNotes®, and Role-Based Micromedex Solutions: Micromedex Pharmaceutical Knowledge.
Red Book Online / American Academy of Pediatrics * "The Red Book is the preeminent resource on pediatric infectious disease. Now in its 31st edition, it provides the most up-to-date information on a wide variety of infectious diseases that physicians encounter in children. Written by the top experts in the field and edited by the Committee on Infectious Diseases of the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), there is simply no better or more authoritative resource.Every word has been carefully considered in order to provide a vast amount of information in a succinct and to the point manner. There is just no other comparable resource available on pediatric infectious diseases."
UpToDate * The UpToDate system is marketed as an evidence-based clinical resource. It includes a collection of medical and patient information, access to Lexi-comp drug monographs and drug-to-drug, drug-to-herb and herb-to-herb interactions information, and a number of medical calculators.

Diagnostic Clinical Decision Support Tools

Isabel * Isabel is used by physicians around the world to help construct or broaden a differential diagnosis. By entering the information normally captured in a patient workup, physicians are provided with a list of possible diagnoses to help them construct their thinking and assist with making an accurate final diagnosis quickly and easily at the point of care.
VisualDx * VisualDx is a diagnostic clinical decision support system designed to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety. Clinicians can quickly build a custom differential diagnosis across general medicine or use the powerful search function to access patient-specific clinical information and medical images.

Key Databases for Literature searches

The Cochrane Library * The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It is owned by Cochrane and published by Wiley. The Cochrane Library provides access to the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
Cochrane Neonatal Cochrane Neonatal is one of over 50 review groups of Cochrane. Cochrane is an international not-for-profit and independent organization, dedicated to making up-to-date, accurate information about the effects of healthcare readily available worldwide. It produces and disseminates systematic reviews of healthcare interventions and promotes the search for evidence in the form of clinical trials and other studies of interventions.
Google Scholar Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

PubMed@UCI This link opens in a new window
Provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE and life science journals. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

PubMed Single Citation Matcher Select "Single Citation Matcher" from the PubMed homepage. Use this tool to find PubMed citations by entering as much (or as little) information you have such as words from the article title, publication year, journal name, author(s), etc.
Scopus * "Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research."
Trip Pro * Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Trip has been online since 1997 and in that time has developed into the Internet’s premier source of evidence-based content. Their mission is ‘Find evidence fast’. The database allows clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
Web of Science * Web of Science provides access to multiple databases that provide comprehensive citation data for many different academic disciplines. It was originally produced by the Institute for Scientific Information and is currently maintained by Clarivate Analytics.

Web Resources

Resource Toolkits and Guidelines

Canadian Paediatric Society - Fetus and Newborn Committee Position Statements
Guidelines for Family-Centered Care in the Neonatal, Pediatric, and Adult ICU
Guidelines for Perinatal Care by the American Academy of Pediatrics, the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists "Jointly developed by the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) and the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG), the unique resource addresses the full spectrum of perinatal medicine from both the obstetric and pediatric standpoints. The new 8th Edition provides a single place to look for the most recent and most trustworthy recommendations on quality care of pregnant women, their fetuses, and their neonates. Key features include proven policies and best practices for community programs, medical centers and regional hospitals, and evidence-based recommendations for safe, effective diagnostic and therapeutic interventions"
Health and Economic Outcomes of Newborn Screening for Infantile-onset Pompe Disease Pompe disease is a rare condition that is identified in about 1 in 40,000 births. It occurs from a defect in the GAA gene leading to the accumulation of lysosomal glycogen and, depending on the form and severity, can result in cardiomyopathy, progressive muscle weakness, respiratory failure, and heart failure. Pompe disease can be treated with alglucosidase alfa, an enzyme replacement therapy (ERT) that costs between $250,000 and $500,000 per year for biweekly infusions. The purpose of this study was to evaluate the cost-effectiveness of universal NBS for infantile-onset Pompe disease compared with usual clinical identification. Citation: Richardson, J.S., Kemper, A.R., Grosse, S.D. et al. Health and economic outcomes of newborn screening for infantile-onset Pompe disease. Genetics in Medicine (2020). https://doi.org/10.1038/s41436-020-01038-0.
Intensive Care Nursery House Staff Manual (UCSF) This manual, now in its eighth edition, is designed for use by the pediatric residents, interns and medical students who work in the William H. Tooley Intensive Care Nursery at UCSF Benioff Children's Hospital. The recommendations in this manual are specific for the practices in that unit. If this manual is used in other intensive care nurseries, it must be revised and adapted to suit the circumstances in those units.
Iowa Neonatology Handbook The Iowa Neonatology Handbook is an ongoing effort by the Division of Neonatology at the University of Iowa Stead Family Children's Hospital to provide physicians, nurses, and medical students who care for newborn infants a collection of protocols outlining rational approaches to the care of critically ill neonates. This document is not intended to be a comprehensive review of the field of neonatology, nor is it implied that the therapeutic approaches outlined in this book are established policies or standards of care. Rather, they represent a compilation of the experience and clinical styles of the members of our division and are intended only as a guide to therapy.
Management of Neonates Born at ≤34 6/7 Weeks’ Gestation With Suspected or Proven Early-Onset Bacterial Sepsis From the American Academy of Pediatrics, this policy is a revision of the policy in 129(5):1006. Karen M. Puopolo, William E. Benitz, Theoklis E. Zaoutis, COMMITTEE ON FETUS AND NEWBORN and COMMITTEE ON INFECTIOUS DISEASES Pediatrics December 2018, 142 (6) e20182896; DOI: https://doi.org/10.1542/peds.2018-2896
Management of Stroke in Neonates and Children A Scientific Statement From the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association This AHA statement position paper provides an updates on perinatal and childhood stroke with a focus on the subtypes, including arterial ischemic, venous thrombotic, and hemorrhagic stroke, and updates in regard to areas of childhood stroke that have not received close attention such as sickle cell disease. Each section is highlighted with considerations for clinical practice, attendant controversies, and knowledge gaps. This statement provides the practicing provider with much-needed updated information in this field.
Neonatology Guidelines for KEMH and PCH NICUs Provided by the Department of Health, Western Australia. Their mission is to promote lifelong health in children and adolescents.
Pediatric Clinical Practice Guidelines and Policies A Compendium of Evidence-Based Research for Pediatric Practice. The most recent guidelines and policy statements from the American Academy of Pediatrics keeps pediatricians and care providers current with important clinical and policy information.
Toolkit for Improving Perinatal Safety The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) developed the Safety Program for Perinatal Care (SPPC) in order to improve the patient safety culture of labor and delivery (L&D) units and decrease maternal and neonatal adverse events resulting from poor communication and system failures. The SPPC is organized around three program pillars, which include: Teamwork and Communication skills, Perinatal Safety Strategies, and In Situ Simulation training. This toolkit was developed to support implementation of the three program pillars. The toolkit helps L&D units improve patient safety, team communication, and quality of care for mothers and their newborns. It builds on knowledge gained from AHRQ's Comprehensive Unit-based Safety Program (CUSP) and the TeamSTEPPS® teamwork system, and from findings from AHRQ's patient safety and medical liability initiative demonstration grants. The tools can be customized to local unit processes and procedures.
Transitioning Newborns from NICU to Home This toolkit includes resources for hospitals that wish to improve safety when newborns transition home from their neonatal intensive care unit (NICU) by creating a Health Coach Program, tools for coaches, and information for parents and families of newborns who have spent time in the NICU. Infants born preterm or with complex congenital conditions are surviving to discharge in growing numbers and often require significant monitoring and coordination of care in the ambulatory setting. This manual is designed to be adapted for any institution that cares for fragile newborn infants. Health Coaches who want to print materials to create customized Family Information Packets should select PDF files for the Cover Page and each relevant topic. These fact sheets can then be assembled into a packet for each family.