Evidence-Based Neonatology Subject Guide

"Beyond the NICU: Comprehensive Care of the High-Risk Infant delivers practical, evidence-based strategies for the care of convalescing NICU graduates in both inpatient and outpatient settings. In four sections, the book covers common problems shared by high-risk infants, role of various care providers from parents to specialists and timely interventions of therapy, timing and execution of transitioning the infant from intensive to convalescent care and from hospital to home, the etiology of chronic conditions affecting high-risk infants, details of convalescent care, discharge planning, and follow-up care for pediatricians"

This valuable reference and learning tool showcases 50 unique, real-life cases from NeoReviews popular "Index of Suspicion in the Nursery" and "Visual Diagnosis". These 50 cases cover rare conditions or unusual clinical manifestations of common conditions that medical professionals see every day. Topic areas include cardiology, dermatology, endocrinology, fluids and electrolytes, gastroenterology, genetics, hematology and oncology, inborn errors of metabolism, maternal-fetal medicine, neurology, ophthalmology, orthopedics, otolaryngology, and pulmonology. More than 100 images provide assistance for visual learning.

This textbook addresses the themes that are at the forefront of neonatal clinical care and research, based on natural divisions in care during pregnancy, and postnatally by gestational age at birth. The book offers a unique approach, in that it proposes discussion of important general principles underpinning neonatal care that are not addressed in most general neonatology textbooks, such as ethical issues, counselling, effective training methods, quality and safety, among other subjects. These are fundamental aspects and challenges that need to be appreciated by senior clinicians. A chapter authored by parents describing their perspectives of neonatal intensive care is unique and will be highly educational, with the potential to influence the way in which individuals view and deliver neonatal care. The authors discuss common and important conditions, to promote adoption of sound evidenced based practice where this is available. However, where evidence is limited, as is the case in many areas of neonatal practice, the authors aim to encourage critical thinking and evidence appraisal, which are necessary skills for busy clinicians wishing to filter evidence to guide delivery of care. This text is suitable for senior trainees wishing to pursue a career in neonatal medicine, early career neonatologists and paediatricians with an interest in neonatology. It is also of interest to established neonatologists wishing to update their neonatal knowledge. The content is based on the RCPCH Level 3 curriculum, and addresses important topical and/or controversial aspects of neonatal care.

This richly illustrated book discusses the fetal eye, offering a brief introduction to the topic and discussing its development and treatment. The high-quality reference images allow the morphological fetal age to be determined, and the authors provide examples of artifacts and real-world findings to simplify histopathological diagnosis. The book also discusses findings in fetal eyes, presenting typical examples of common malformations, including clinical and histological pictures as well as additional findings from other specialties (such as neuropathology, genetics). In addition, it covers non-specific ocular malformations. It particularly addresses documentation and interpretation of cases of suspected Shaken-Baby Syndrome, which is of forensic importance. In the context of retinopathy of prematurity, histopathological and clinical findings are correlated.

The book provides reference images of fetal development and guidelines on grossing and handling fetal eyes, and also explores the complicated topic of artifacts, including case illustrations with comprehensive information concerning other specialties. Lastly it discusses clinically and forensically relevant findings in newborns. It guides ophthalmic and pediatric pathologists in the interpretation of ocular findings, helping to narrow down differential diagnoses in fetal pathology, while at the same time serving as a valuable tool for specialists who do not have a great deal of experience in the examination of fetal eyes.

"More than any prior edition of this textbook, the fifth edition has been substantially updated and revised. Nearly one third of the chapters have been written by new authors, and 16 chapters appear in this book for the first time. In addition, the book now concludes with a section on the pathophysiology of a variety of neonatal diseases that has 23 new or completely updated chapters."

Fetal and Neonatal Secrets by Drs. Richard Polin and Alan Spitzer, uses the success formula of the highly popular Secrets Series to offer fast answers to the most essential clinical questions in fetal and neonatal medicine. With its user-friendly Q&A format, practical tips from neonatologists and fetal medicine experts, and "Key Points" boxes, this portable and easy-to-read medical reference book provides rapid access to the practical knowledge you need to succeed both in practice and on board and recertification exams.

"Fetal and Neonatal Secrets is a book with an alternative setup that offers answers to a wide spectrum of clinical questions in the field of fetal and neonatal medicine. The book covers both fetal and neonatal medicine, and could be relevant for junior doctors aiming to become obstetricians or pediatricians." Reviewed by: Acta Obstetricia et Gynecologica Scandinavica, January 2015

In this 8th edition, the table of contents was reformatted to make it more user friendly and hopefully more logical. Section I includes essential prenatal and postnatal topics such as "Fetal Assessment," "Obstetric Anesthesia and the Neonate," "Resuscitation of the Newborn," and "Neonatal Transport." Section II encompasses basic assessment and management of a newborn with a new chapter addressing "The Golden Hour." Section III includes advanced management topics such as the evolving areas of complementary and integrative therapies and 2 new chapters: "Genetic and Genomic Testing in the Newborn Period" and "Neonatal Palliative Care." Section IV includes all the basic and advanced bedside procedures commonly used in neonatology. We have added an entire new section on point-of-care ultrasound in Chapter 44. We have also included point-of-care ultrasound information on pertinent procedures. One of the most popular sections of the book, the "On-Call Problems" section, now includes a total of 35 common neonatal problems with 1 new problem added: "Abdominal Distension." Section VI, "Diseases and Disorders," covers all the common and a few not so common, but clinically important, diseases of the neonate. We have added a new subsection on "Infectious Diseases" to encompass the growing literature on infectious diseases that may be present in a neonate. Two new chapters were added in this section addressing dengue infection and Zika virus. The section on neonatal pharmacology includes significant updates of medications commonly used in neonates. Since there are relatively few medications formally approved for use in neonates, the medication information has been carefully curated by our outstanding group of neonatal PharmDs. We believe it to be the most comprehensive list of medications found in a manual such as ours. The "Effects of Drugs and Substances on Lactation and Infants" chapter has been revised to include the most common medications that might be used by a breast-feeding mother. The appendices include other useful reference tables and information. A hallmark of our book has been noting areas that are "controversial," and this edition continues that tradition.

The book examines the major issues in perinatal clinical psychology with the presence of theoretical information and operational indications, through a biopsychosocial approach.

The multiplicity of scientific information reported makes this book both a comprehensive overview on the major perinatal mental health disorders and illnesses, and a clinical guide. It covers perinatal clinical psychology through a journey of 15 chapters, putting the arguments on a solid theoretical basis and reporting multiple operational indications of great utility for daily clinical practice. It has well documented new evidence bases in the field of clinical psychology that have underpinned the conspicuous current global and national developments in perinatal mental health.

As such, it is an excellent resource for researchers, policy makers, and practitioners – in fact, anyone and everyone who wishes to understand and rediscover, in a single opera, the current scientific and application scenario related to psychological health during pregnancy and after childbirth.

"In this book, "Innovations and Frontiers in Neonatology," experts from around the world discuss cutting edge problems in modern neonatology. It covers many topics in neonatology that are under current debate, and the chapters were written by leading experts in the field"

Maternal-Fetal and Neonatal Endocrinology: Physiology, Pathophysiology, and Clinical Management systematically examines the normal and abnormal endocrinology of the pregnant and lactating female and of the fetus and neonate. This reference volume expands coverage of specific disorders and diseases beyond the current endocrinology content on the market, which in most cases has a paragraph or no mention at all about pregnancy or aspects of fetal/neonatal development.

Fanaroff and Martin’s Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine covers everything you need to improve the quality of life and long-term outcomes of your patients. Drs. Richard J. Martin, Avroy A. Fanaroff, and Michele C. Walsh, along with a multi-disciplinary team of contributors guide you through the sweeping developments in diagnosis and treatment of the mother fetus, and neonate. The completely updated 9th edition keeps you current on the late preterm infant, the fetal origins of adult disease, neonatal anemia, genetic disorders, and more. Get comprehensive guidance on treating patients through a dual focus on neonatology and perinatology. See nuances and details in over 800 illustrations that depict disorders in the clinical setting and explain complex information. Find the information you need easily with indexing in both volumes that provides quick access to specific guidance. Spot genetic problems early and advise parents of concerns thanks to completely new section on this topic. Tackle the health problems associated with preterm births through a new chapter on The Late Preterm Infant. Understand the fetal origins of adult disease through a new chapter that focuses on conditions that originate in the womb. Stay current on the developments and research surrounding neonatal anemia from the entirely new chapter on Blood and Hematopoietic System highlights. Obtain more global perspectives and best practices from an increased number of international contributions in this edition.

The first review book for the Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine board exam More than 280 real-world cases and 800 board-style Q&As provide the preparation you need for the Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine Board Examination McGraw-Hill Education Specialty Board Review: Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine is the perfect resource to prepare for the Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine subspecialty in-training, certification, and MOC exams. Here you will find everything you need in one comprehensive case-based review: 800+ board-style questions based on 280+ real-world cases with answer discussion, helpful hints, and high-yield objectives. With years of experience preparing residents and physicians to be master test-takers, the authors are uniquely qualified to author this indispensable review tool. They have crafted a collection of cases and questions that promote understanding of the key medical concepts fundamental to neonatal-perinatal practice, making them easily transferrable to real-life clinical situations.Here's why this is the best review tool for any neonatal-perinatal examination:Focuses on the content most likely to appear on the exam, with individual topics weighted according to the content outlineReal-world case vignettes are followed by multiple high-yield Q&As along with helpful hints and take-away objectives Detailed discussion and explanation for correct and incorrect answersCovers all areas addressed by the American Board of Pediatrics' certification exam in Neonatal-Perinatal MedicineCases and questions emphasize understanding key medical concepts fundamental to caring for newborn infants, making knowledge easily transferrable to real-life clinical situations Ira Adams-Chapman, MD is Associate Professor of Pediatrics, and Director, Developmental Progress Clinic, Emory University School of Medicine; and Neonatologist, Children's Healthcare of Atlanta, GeorgiaDavid P. Carlton, MD is Professor of Pediatrics and Division Director of Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine, Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta, GeorgiaJames E. Moore, MD, PhD is Division Chief for Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine, University of Connecticut School of Medicine; and Medical Director, NICU, Connecticut Children's Medical Center, Hartford, Connecticut.

This landmark book, a reference work now in its second edition, provides healthcare practitioners in neonatology with an up-to-date, comprehensive source of readily accessible practical advice that will assist in the expert management of patients and their diverse illnesses. Leading experts in their fields discuss the underlying causes and mechanisms and all aspects of the treatment of the full range of neonatal diseases and abnormalities, citing the evidence base whenever appropriate. In addition, detailed information is provided on epidemiology and fetal medicine; therapeutic issues such as the organization of care, transport services, and home care after discharge; legal issues; nutrition; and the consequences of medication use during pregnancy, maternal drug abuse and smoking, and maternal diabetes. The inclusion of summaries, tables, and carefully selected guidelines and recommendations will supply practitioners with quick references and instant solutions during daily practice. The book will be a superb resource for all involved in the care of newborn babies, including neonatologists, pediatricians, pediatric surgeons, anesthesiologists, midwives, and nursing staff. It is published within the SpringerReference program, which delivers access to living editions constantly updated through a dynamic peer-review publishing process.

The revised and updated second edition covers practical approaches to caring for healthy and high-risk newborns and infants. The book covers maternal and fetal health, care of the newborn after delivery, breastfeeding, follow-up care, common congenital anomalies, the newborn with a heart murmur or cyanosis, neurologic findings, primary care issues relating to newborns and infants requiring intensive care, and health and developmental outcomes. More than 40 chapters cover step-by-step guidance on what to do, when to admit, and when to refer. Recommendations and lists detail references within ea.

Now in its second edition, the Oxford Handbook of Neonatology is a user-friendly guide for all healthcare professionals involved in the care of newborns. Accessible, practical, and updated with the latest evidence, this new addition to the bestselling Oxford Medical Handbook series is a key resource designed for use at the cot-side. Using guidance from the Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health and including the most up-to-date NICE guidelines, the second edition of this handbook uses diagrams and an easy-to-assimilate format to cover good communication practice, neonatal emergencies, and technical procedures. With a new chapter on endocrinology, and fully updated and expanded sections covering therapeutic hypothermia and developmental care, amongst other advances in the field, the Oxford Handbook of Neonatology addresses post-natal and antenatal care and commonly encountered problems. It includes specific sections on cardiology, neurology, and haematology alongside other key areas needed for the clinician working with newborns.

This unique book is a first-of-its-kind resource that comprehensively covers each facet and challenge of providing optimal perinatal palliative care. Designed for a wide and multi-disciplinary audience, the subjects covered range from theoretical to the clinical and the practically relevant, and all chapters include case studies that provide real-world scenarios as additional teaching tools for the reader. Perinatal Palliative Care: A Clinical Guide is divided into four sections. Part One provides the foundation, covering an overview of the field, key theories that guide the practice of perinatal palliative care, and includes a discussion of perinatal ethics and parental experiences and needs upon receiving a life-limiting fetal diagnosis. Part Two delves further into practical clinical care, guiding readers through issues of obstetrical management, genetic counseling, neonatal pain management, non-pain symptom management, spiritual care, and perinatal bereavement care. Part Three discusses models of perinatal palliative care, closely examining evidence for different types of PPC programs: from hospital-based programs, to community-based care, and examines issues of interdisciplinary PPC care coordination, birth planning, and team support. Finally, Part Four concludes the book with a close look at special considerations in the field. In this section, racial, ethnic, and cultural perspectives and implications for PPC are discussed, along with lessons in how to provide PPC for a wide-range of clinical and other healthcare workers. The book closes with a look to the future of the field of perinatal palliative care. Thorough and practical, Perinatal Palliative Care: A Clinical Guide is an ideal resource for any healthcare practitioner working with these vulnerable patient populations, from palliative care specialists, to obstetricians, midwifes, neonatologists, hospice providers, nurses, doulas, social workers, chaplains, therapists, ethicists, and child life specialists

From the files of NeoReviews comes this collection of Perinatal Profiles, chosen to provide a glimpse into the lives of the "movers and shakers" in neonatal/perinatal medicine ... ... Many of the profiles in this collection written by the students of these pioneers who have gone on to become key NPM innovators themselves. They provide rare insight into the personalities of their mentors and the development of NPM. You'll meet such luminaries as: Alex Minkowski, MD, whose life's work, including a conference on whether assisted ventilation did more harm than good, led French President Jacques Chirac in 2004 to call him "one of the consciences of the 20th century." Martin Couney, MD, who in 1896 began 40 years of organizing preterm baby "child hatchery" sideshows to showcase the marvels of incubator technology at expositions, state fairs, traveling circuses--even Coney Island--showing the public that even the most severely preterm infants had a chance for survival. Elizabeth Blackwell, Marie Putnam Jacobi, Elizabeth Garret, and Madeleine Brès, the first female physicians caring for women and children at the end of the 19th century. All struggled for admission to medical school yet eventually managed to pierce the armor of sex bias. Ignác Fülöp Semmelweis, the Hungarian pioneer of antisepsis who first demonstrated that most childbed fever cases could be prevented--one of the most important discoveries of 19th-century medicine--yet was ridiculed and released in disgrace from his Viennese hospital and medical school faculty posts. Cathy Cropley, the Seattle nurse who wove nurses into the fabric of neonatal resuscitation as team members and instructors, insisting that skill take precedence over title. This collection of 26 key columns was compiled and edited by NeoReviews Editor-in-Chief Alistair G.S. Philip, MD, FRCPE, FAAP, in honor of the 15th anniversary of NeoReviews, the American Academy of Pediatrics' online journal of neonatology, available at http://www.neoreviews.org.

This book traces the development of the science of fetal and neonatal physiology and examines its role in the greatly improved care of women and their newborn infants. Includes reminisces of several dozen individuals who played a vital role in the field. This second edition offers an expanded and updated history of the field of fetal and neonatal development, allowing readers to gain a comprehensive understanding of the biological aspects that contribute to the wellbeing or pathophysiology of newborns. In this concluding opus of a long and prominent career as a clinical scientist, Dr. Longo has invited new contributions from noted colleagues with expertise in various fields to provide a historical perspective on the impact of how modern concepts emerged in the field of fetal physiology and contributed to the current attention paid to the fetal origins of diseases in adults. In addition to new chapters on maternal physiology and complications during pregnancy, others trace the history...

The Neonatal Resuscitation Program (NRP) is an educational program jointly sponsored with the American Heart Association (AHA). The course conveys an evidence-based approach to care of the newborn at birth and facilitates effective team-based care for healthcare professionals who care for newborns at the time of delivery.

Note: The 8th edition will be available in June 2021.