Skip to main content
On Sunday, March 26, 2017, UC Irvine Research Guides will experience some minor loss in functionality due to scheduled maintenance on related systems.
* UC Irvine access only

Research Grant Resources: Home

Resources for identifying and writing research grants
URL: http://guides.lib.uci.edu/researchgrants

Pivot

Pivot

http://pivot.cos.com/funding_main

Pivot Quick Start Guide (PDF)

Pivot is the new name of the COS (Community of Science) Funding Opportunites database.  It has been paid for by the UCI Office of Research to improve opportunities for faculty, staff, and students to find funding.

Pivot provides access to one of the most comprehensive sources of funding opportunities globally

Pivot combines the most comprehensive, editorially maintained database of funding opportunities worth an estimated $33 billion with their unique database of 3 million pre-populated scholar profiles, drawing from Community of Scholars and Community of Science profiles.

Search tips

Pivot instructional videos on YouTube

 

 

SciVal Funding

SciVal Funding  http://www.funding.scival.com/home is a searchable database made available by the UCI Office of Research. You can search for opportunites, awarded grants, or sponsors.

SciVal Funding comprehensively covers grants from Australia, Canada, the European Commission, India, Ireland, New Zealand, Singapore, South Africa, the United Kingdom, and the United States. With more than 3,000 international sponsors, providing more than 16,000 active opportunities, there are many funding opportunities for which researchers both inside and outside of these countries are eligible.

You can browse grants by:

  • Sponsor 's geographic location (continent or country)
  • Subject area
  • Special Interest catagories

Advanced search tips are here

Specialized searches:

Opportunities with limited submission

Opportunities from foundations

Training grants

Fellowships

 

 

Biology Librarian

John Sisson
Contact:
Ayala Science Library 246

824-4980

jsisson@uci.edu

SPIN

SPIN 

A searchable database made available by the UCI Office of Research that indexes approximately 8,000 opportunities. 

SPIN and GrantForward include some overlapping opportunities, but others that differ.

In SPIN you can specify types of awards more closely in some cases. For example, SPIN allows you to specify travel funding as either domestic or foreign.

Choose "Advanced Search" for best results and, use SPIN's keyword library. Although it's more time-consuming, if you scroll through all the keywords in a category like Social Sciences, for example, you will discover new keywords.

Please be aware that a SPIN search will time out after 30 minutes, so if you leave your search and come back to it, or if it takes you more than 30 minutes to scroll through a page of search results, you may be unable to access the rest of the results. We therefore recommend leaving the "Return Results" button set at 25 at a time.

Tutorial at:

SPINPlus Tutorial