Find Articles - Using Databases - Statistics (Dept in Bren School of ICS) - Research Guides at University of California Irvine

Research Librarian for Statistics

Carrie Cullen

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

(949) 824-2490

Subjects: Mathematics, Physics & Astronomy, Statistics

ORCID iD

Federal funders now require ORCID iD registration for all new fellowship, research training, education, and career development proposals.

ORCID is an open, non-profit, community-based effort to provide a registry of unique digital researcher identifiers. These unique identifiers help identify articles written by the same author using various forms of his, her, or their names. This registry also provides a way to link research activities, such as publication and data set creation, to these identifiers.

Browzine

Explore our guide to learn more about BrowZine at UCI.

Recommended Databases

Statistics Databases

Current Index to Statistics This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic index of publications in statistics, probability, and related fields. It includes data from numerous core journals, additional journals in related fields, and books. The bulk of the content in CIS is from 1975-2017.
Engineering Village: Inspec This link opens in a new window
The Inspec database provides deep coverage of scientific and technical literature in the field of physics, with additional links to citations in electrical engineering, electronics, computer science, and manufacturing information. It indexes journals, conference proceedings, books, dissertations and reports. Produced by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET).
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Reviews, abstracts, and bibliographic information for literature in the mathematical sciences. Includes bibliographic data back to the early 1800s. Records are classified using the Mathematics Subject Classification.
Project Euclid This link opens in a new window
A collection of open-access monographs and journals, as well as some subscription journals, in theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics.
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. It also offers broad perspectives and insight on long-term national trends and implications paired with the ability to narrow results.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
zbMATH Open This link opens in a new window
Provides access to bibliographic entries with reviews or abstracts currently drawn from journals, serials, and books from all areas of pure mathematics as well as applications, in particular to the natural sciences, computer science, economics and engineering. It includes works that contribute to mathematical theory, deals with mathematical problems, or applies advanced mathematical techniques. Coverage is from 1868 to present.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database that provides access to journal articles covering a range of topics, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. It also indexes monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
arXiv.org This link opens in a new window
An open-access archive for scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database that combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications in various formats, like journals, books, reports, etc.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Content covers research output in the fields of physical science, health science, life science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
Web of Science: Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to records from the top journals, conference proceedings, and books in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities to find the high quality research most relevant to the area of interest. Using linked cited references, subject connections between articles can be explored.

Major Journals & Publishing Platforms

AAAS*
American Association for the Advancement of Science. Full-text of Science Magazine and Science’s Next Wave covering v. 270, no. 5233 to present (October 6, 1995-present).

This selective list of publishers indicates the major publishing partners that UCI and UC Libraries has. As a result we have a large percentage of the journals or papers issued by this publisher or society available electronically.

* Indicates UCI Access Only

American Statistical Association
This page offers digital access to articles appearing in the ASA journals. The UCI Libraries has multiple formats for different ranges of each journal - some print, earlier issues online for some titles via JSTOR, and current issues licensed locally.
American Statistical Association*
This page offers digital access to articles appearing in the ASA journals. The UCI Libraries has multiple formats for different ranges of each journal - some print, earlier issues online for some titles via JSTOR, and current issues licensed locally.
The American Statistician (TAS)*
AMS*
American Mathematical Society. Full text and images of several journals published by the American Mathematical Society.
Full text coverage from 1996/97 to present.
Annals of Applied Statistics
From vol. 1 #1, 2007 to present
Annals of the Statistics
From 1973 to present
Association of Computing Machinery*
The ACM publishes, archives, and provides access to the articles from more than two dozen journals, as well as conference proceedings, and newsletters.
Bayesian Statistics (Journal)
Call number: SL QA279.5.B39
Biometrics*
Full-text access is available. The journal publishes articles whose focus is the use of mathematical and statistical methods in pure and applied biological sciences.
Biometrika
Available from vol. 83 #1, 1996 to present
Chance*
eScholarship*
A repository for scholarly works co-operatively established and managed by the University of California Press and the California Digital Library. This site offers access to both refereed journal articles and online books.
Journal of Agricultural, Biological, and Environmental Statistics
List of Journals issued by ASA
Journal of Agricultural, Biological and Environmental Statistics (JABES)*
Journal of Business & Economic Statistics (JBES)*
Journal of Computational & Graphical Statistics (JCGS)*
Journal of Computational Biology*
The journal’s primary focus is “analysis and management of biological information at the molecular level.” Presently, full-text access is available for articles published 1999-Present.
Journal of Machine Learning Research
Fromm 2000 to present
Journal of Official Statistics (JOS)*
Journal of Statistical Planning and Inference*
“The major areas covered include design and analysis of experiments, sampling, parametric, semi-parametric and non-parametric inference, multivariate analysis, decision theory, sequential analysis, clinical trials, reliability and life testing, etc."
Journal of Statistical Software
This refereed, electronic-only journal offers free access to articles published in the area of statistical software development(s).
Journal of Statistics Education (JSE)*
Journal of the American Statistical Association (JASA) *
Journal of the Royal Statistical Society - Series B, Statistical Methodology
Available from 1997 volume: 59 issue: 1 to present.
JSTOR*
An electronic backfile archive of nearly 2000 journals and their articles from volume #1 until the most recent three or five years depending on the journal embargo - current content available via journal title in UC Library Search.
Mathematical Biosciences*
Full-text access to articles that focus primarily on “the formulation, analysis and solution of mathematical models in the biosciences.”
Mathematical Medicine and Biology*
Publishes articles related to a number of fields including biomechanics, biophysics, cell biology, ecology and the environment and pharmacology. A archive offers full-text access to articles published as early as 2001, as well as access to abstracts.
Official Journal of the Bernoulli Society for Mathematical Statistics and Probability*
Full-text access is provided to articles “which provide an integrated critical survey of some area of probability and statistics and discuss important recent developments [or] some historical significant aspect of statistics and probability.”
Optics InfoBase*
Optics InfoBase contains OSA's seven signature journals as well as two co-published titles with a digital archive backfile.
Proceedings of the International Conference on Learning Representation
Proceedings/American Statistical Association (CD-ROM)
Call number: LL Multimedia Center (1st Floor) HA12 .A676
Proceedings of Machine Learning Research (PMLR)
from vol. 1 -178 (Summer 2022)
Public Library of Science
Publisher of PLoS Biology and PLoS Medicine, this non-profit organization is “committed to making the world’s scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource.”
Science Direct*
Provides online access to more than 1,800 journal titles Elsevier and Academic Press in more than twenty disciplines, including statistics.
Scientific American*
Includes 1993 to present.
SpringerLink
Springer Verlag Publishers. Abstracts and full text of over 200 journals in the sciences. Full text coverage: 1997 to the present.
Statistics for Environmental Science and Management.
Call number: SL GE45.S73.M36 2001
Statistics in Medicine*
In addition to full-text access to journal articles this site also offers full-text access to selected textbooks.
Stats*
SL Drum QA 276. A1 S747 - no longer being produced in print effective 2010
Taylor & Francis
Offers full-text access to journals in a wide range of disciplines of science and medicine, representing the publishers now incorporated into T&F.
Technometrics*
Wiley InterScience & Blackwell