Research Guides: Urology Subject Guide: Home

Research Librarian for the Health Sciences, Medicine, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Pharmacology, Public Health

Hector R. Perez-Gilbe

He, Him, His

Email Me

Contact:

UC Irvine
Science Library
Room 232
Irvine, CA 92623
perezhr@uci.edu

(949) 824-6957

Subjects: Medicine & Health Sciences, Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences, Public Health

Key Resources

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of high-quality databases that consists of the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Clinical Answers, and Epistemonikos Systematic Reviews. CDSR includes all Cochrane Reviews (and protocols) prepared by Cochrane Review Groups. CENTRAL is a highly concentrated source of reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials. CDAs provide a readable, digestible, clinically-focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane Reviews.
PubMed@UCI This link opens in a new window
Provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE and life science journals. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
UptoDate This link opens in a new window
Point of care resource of filtered, synopsized, and evidence-based information. Contains clinical references which are the equivalent of 40,000 pages of original peer-reviewed text. Specific practical recommendations for diagnosis and treatment are provided.

More Urology Resources

Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) The Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) is an independent, 501(c)(3), not-for-profit organization that sets and monitors voluntary professional educational standards essential in preparing physicians to deliver safe, high-quality medical care to all Americans. Graduate medical education (GME) refers to the period of education in a particular specialty (residency) or subspecialty (fellowship) following medical school; the ACGME oversees the accreditation of residency and fellowship programs in the US.
American Board of Urology The ABU certifies urologic physicians who meet its educational, professional standing, and examination criteria. To become certified, a urologist must have core competencies in all domains of urology, including but not limited to pediatric urology, endourology, female urology, andrology, oncology, and general urology. All certified urologists are trained to evaluate and treat all patients with urological disorders.
American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) Founded in 1964, the American Society of Clinical Oncology is the world's leading professional organization for physicians and oncology professionals caring for people with cancer.
American Society for Reproductive Medicine (ASRM) American Society for Reproductive Medicine (ASRM) is dedicated to advancing the science and practice of reproductive medicine. The Society accomplishes its mission by pursuing excellence in evidence-based, life-long education and learning, growing and supporting innovative research, developing and disseminating the highest ethical and quality standards in patient care, and advocating for physicians and affiliated healthcare providers and their patients.
American Urological Association (AUA) Founded in 1902, the AUA is a premier urologic association, providing invaluable support to the urologic community. Our mission is to promote the highest standards of urological clinical care through education, research and the formulation of health care policy.
European Association of Urology (EAU) The EAU represents the leading authority within Europe on urological practice, research, and education. Over 19,000 medical professionals have joined its ranks and contributed to our mission: To raise the level of urological care throughout Europe and beyond.
Society for Basic Urologic Research (SBUR) The Society for Basic Urologic Research (SBUR) was formed in 1986 and is the pre-eminent US-based urologic research society. Our members include molecular and developmental biologists, oncologists, immunologists, epidemiologists, andrologists, biochemists, bioinformaticians, and clinical urologic surgeon-scientists from academia, industry and government. SBUR scientists’ expertise includes the study of urologic cancers (prostate, bladder, kidney, testis, penis), the biology of benign diseases of the prostate, bladder and kidney, developmental biology, kidney and bladder function, autoimmune urologic diseases, infectious diseases, neurourologic diseases, male reproductive biology, infertility and erectile dysfunction.
Society for Pediatric Urology The Society for Pediatric Urology is a non-profit society whose main purpose is to promote pediatric urology, appropriate practice, education as well as exchanges between practitioners involved in the treatment of genito urinary disorders in children.
Society of Urologic Oncology (SUO) Enable qualified members primarily interested in the care of patients with malignant GU diseases to meet for the purpose of discussion, development and implementation of ideas to improve care.
Western Section of the AUA (WSAUA The Western Section of the American Urological Association (WSAUA) is a non-profit organization (501 c 6) composed of Urologists and Urology professionals joining together to further our mission. Our Section covers most of the Western U.S. including Alaska, Hawaii, and Pacific Island Possessions of the U.S as well as the northwest Canadian provinces. The membership of the WSAUA is approximately 2400 strong, and includes some of the finest Urologists and Urology Professionals in the United States. The WSAUA is one of eight other sections that together make up the national American Urological Association.

Urology Subject Guide

Research Librarian for the Health Sciences, Medicine, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Pharmacology, Public Health

Key Resources

More Urology Resources

Quick Links

Urology News

Key Sites: Guidelines

Ask a Librarian