Skip to Main Content

Art

This guide provides an introduction to resources that support research in visual arts. It includes helpful pages and links to connect with contemporary art journals, art databases, exhibition reviews, images, and more!

Email this link:

Connecting to Library Resources

  • The  icon means this resource is paid for by the libraries and requires UCI authentication. Using campus WiFi, library resources will load an authenticate automatically. Off-campus, you'll need to use the software VPN (virtual private network) on your laptop or device.
  • For help with your VPN connection and more information, click here.

Need Research Help?

You can always make an appointment the visual arts librarian (Jenna Dufour) by clicking here. Appointments can be made virtually or in-person. I'm here to help!

Multimedia Resources Center (MRC)

While UCI Libraries has a comprehensive collection of streaming films available for research and teaching, the Multimedia Resources Center (MRC) houses the UCI Libraries Collection of all non-print media. The collection consists of videocassettes, DVDs, laser discs, 16mm films, sound recordings, and CD-Rom titles. Areas covered span the arts and humanities as well as social sciences, government information, and the East Asian Film collection. It is located on the First Floor of the Science Library, across from the Science Library Lobby entrance. You can read more about media lending policies by clicking here.

Need a physical film for teaching purposes?

If the film you want to use for your class is not available to stream and we own a hard copy, fill out the Media Course Reserves Form to place MRC material on Course Reserves for your students. This form is only for faculty, instructors, and graduate students to use. More information about MRC Course Reserves (policies, contact information, etc.) is available at the following link: https://www.lib.uci.edu/mrc/course-reserves. 

Searching for films in the Multimedia Resources Center (MRC)

Since the MRC film collection is not browsable, you'll want to use UC Library Search to search for films, and then you can sign into your library account to request the item or visit the MRC for help accessing/viewing a specific title.

Search Tips: Searching for films in the UC Library Search catalog is made easier by using the facets along the left-hand side of the search screen under the heading 'Refine your results'. Type in the film title or filmmaker as a keyword search. Use quotes to make a phrase search if relevant. Then, choose video under the Resource Type heading in order to only display search results that are videos. To see screenshots and basic instructions on doing this, click here. (PDF)