Research Guides: Psychological Sciences: Data

Google Dataset Search
"Dataset Search enables users to find datasets stored across thousands of repositories on the Web, making these datasets universally accessible and useful...
more...less...
"Datasets and related data tend to be spread across multiple data repositories on the web. In many cases, information about these datasets is neither linked nor has it been indexed by search engines, making data discovery tedious or, in some cases, impossible.

By providing our users with a single interface that allows them to search across multiple repositories, we hope to transform how data is being published and used. We also believe that this project will have the additional benefits of a) creating a data sharing ecosystem that will encourage data publishers to follow best practices for data storage and publication and b) giving scientists a way to show the impact of their work through citation of datasets that they have produced."

Other Data Guides...

Census -/- Statistics -/- Data Visualization

Computer Science, Informatics & Statistics

Social Science Data

Statistical Abstract

United States Census, Statistical Abstracts Series
1878-2012

Ask a Librarian

Data Jargon

Data
"Related items of (chiefly numerical) information considered collectively, typically obtained by scientific work and used for
reference, analysis, or calculation." (OED Online)

Raw Data
This term is fuzzy because almost any observable or recorded phenomena could theoretically be raw data, but people
often use it when referring to a dataset in a file format (i.e. an .xlsx or .csv file) that's presented as a spreadsheet.
Caveat: raw data is not always cleaned data.

Cleaned Data
To clean data, people or computer programs assess the data and correct any errors, omissions, duplicates, inaccuracies, etc.
so that the data is ready for analysis. Determining whether data is clean enough for your needs can be tricky. Read the
supporting documentation that accompanies a dataset, and contact the data producer if you have additional questions.

Starting Points

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
Repository of curated data sets within the social sciences, includes original codebooks, descriptive methodology, multiple file format downloads, and links data to relevant scholarly research. Users can search at the variable level and trace datasets to their use in academic publications.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States.
General Social Survey (GSS)
Gathers data on contemporary American society in order to monitor and explain trends and constants in attitudes, behaviors, and attributes.

SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window Aggregates materials from SAGE's journal and reference content, including dictionaries, datasets, case studies, and books. Users can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and other areas of research.

Licensed Data and Mapping Tools

Many of UCI Libraries data and mapping databases are designed for researchers in the social sciences, but may be highly relevant to digital humanists.

Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal that includes market research, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. In addition to tables and charts, Statista also provides infographics and studies on selected industries and topics.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Offers easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US.

Geographic Information Systems [GIS] Guide
This research guide provides a great starting point for learning more about the GIS and geospatial resources available to you while at UCI.
Social Explorer
Current and historical US census data and demographic information. Harness the power of location-based data down to the city block, to create visualizations and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.

SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Mapping and data visualization application that lets users create interactive maps, charts, and reports. Includes demographic, housing, employment, consumer spending, and business data for the United States. Users also have access to MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior data, including information on brands, and Claritas PRIZM, which offers market insights using demographics and consumer lifestyle data.
Maximum 3 users at once.
Register for a free account to save and return to your work.

DMPTool
An open-source, online application that helps researchers create data management plans. Service of the University of California Curation Center via CDL https://cdlib.org/services/uc3/dmptool/

Statistical Data

AARP Research Center
Administration on Aging (AOA)
Aging Integrated Database (AGID)
APA: Data Sets & Repositories
CDC - FastStats: Mental Health
CDC - Mental Health
CDC DATA
National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect (NDACAN) NDACAN promotes secondary analysis of child abuse and neglect data by providing researchers with high quality datasets, documentation and technical support.
National Institute of Mental Health (NIH)
National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent to Adult Health (Add Health)
PTSD: National Center for PTSD, U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
Roper iPoll
Sociometrics
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
World Health Organization (WHO) Mental Health

eBooks

O'Reilly (OHE) This link opens in a new window
Ebooks, videos, case studies, interactive tutorials, audio books, and more. Subjects include: Business, Desktop & Web Applications, Data Science & Management, Digital Media, Engineering, IT & Software, Development & Architecture, Math & Science, and Personal & Professional Development.