Research Guides: Physics and Astronomy: Find Articles and Books

ORCID iD

Federal funders now require ORCID iD registration for all new fellowship, research training, education, and career development proposals.

ORCID is an open, non-profit, community-based effort to provide a registry of unique digital researcher identifiers. These unique identifiers help identify articles written by the same author using various forms of his, her, or their names. This registry also provides a way to link research activities, such as publication and data set creation, to these identifiers.

Physics Librarian

Carrie Cullen

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

(949) 824-2490

Subjects: Mathematics, Medicine & Health Sciences, Physics & Astronomy, Statistics

UC Library Search and interlibrary loan

UC Library Search

Search collections across all UC campuses or limit your search to UCI. Includes print books and articles, electronic books and articles, book chapters, and more.

Look for Download PDF or the Get it at UC logo to access full text
Use Advanced Search to search for a specific book, article, or journal by title
Get helpful search tips from our Guide to using UC Library Search

Find a journal in UC Library Search

Search for a journal by title or ISSN or browse by category

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Use UC Library Search to request articles and books not owned by UCI Libraries at no cost to you through interlibrary loan.
For material found in WorldCat but not in UC Library Search, submit a request using the Blank ILL Request Form.

Journals & more databases

Key journals

Additional databases & tools

ARIBIB: ARI Bibliographical Database for Astronomical References This link opens in a new window
ARI Bibliographical Database for Astronomical References contains bibliographic information for astronomical literature and is hosted by the University of Heidelberg. Contains references to all volumes of Astronomy and Astrophysics Abstracts.
CERN Document Server This link opens in a new window
CERN Document Server provides access to articles, preprints, reports and multimedia content in high energy physics. Includes CERN Annual Reports, Yellow Reports, and the CERN Bulletin.
Engineering Village: Compendex This link opens in a new window
Database of engineering and applied science research, including journals and conference proceedings.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
This database from the American Geosciences Institute (AGI) provides access to a broad collection of geoscience literature across the world, including geophysics and extraterrestrial geology.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore provides web access to full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
INIS Online Database This link opens in a new window
The International Nuclear Information System (INIS) provides access to global research on peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology, including scientific and technical reports, conference proceedings, patents and theses.
National Technical Reports Library This link opens in a new window
NTRL is a public interface for accessing authenticated government technical reports (both historical and current) in the U.S. Department of Commerce NTIS (National Technical Information Service) database.
OSTI.gov This link opens in a new window
The primary search tool for Department of Energy (DOE) science, technology, and engineering research and development results. Find unclassified and classified scientific and technical information related to DOE-funded research and development.
PapersFirst This link opens in a new window
Papers presented at worldwide conferences, symposia, meetings, expositions, workshops, and congresses.
Proceedings This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of worldwide conference proceedings with citations of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received at The British Library from 1993 to the present.

Print books

For e-books at UCI and books at all UC Libraries and beyond: UC Library Search

To browse books and journals on the shelves, go to these locations:

Physics and astronomy books have QC and QB call numbers, which are in the Science Library on the 4th floor.
Current journal issues are shelved by title on the 2nd floor.

eBooks

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore provides web access to full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
IOPscience This link opens in a new window
Collection of ebooks from the Institute of Physics.
O'Reilly (OHE) This link opens in a new window
Ebooks, videos, case studies, interactive tutorials, audio books, and more.
RSC Books This link opens in a new window
The RSC eBook Collection is a comprehensive overview of research and opinion in a multitude of areas of chemical science. The eBook Collection is fully searchable and indexed to chapter level, with all documents provided as pdfs.
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of optics and photonics journals, eBooks, conference papers and presentations spanning biomedicine, communications, sensors, defense and security, manufacturing, electronics, energy, and imaging.
Springer Online Books This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a multidisciplinary collection of ebooks and reference works that cover science, technology, medicine, humanities, and social sciences.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database of ebooks published by Taylor & Francis. Topics in the humanities, social sciences, behavioral science, natural science, technology, and medicine are covered.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a range of multidisciplinary ebooks, book chapters, reference works, and journals .

Physics and Astronomy