The UC Irvine Libraries and The New York Times entered a partnership which provides sponsored NYTimes.com accounts as well as the New York Times inEducation site. Accounts grant access to NYT's News, Cooking, and Wirecutter content.
How do UC Irvine Authorized Affiliates (i.e. current students and employees with an active UCInetID) activate their complimentary account?
STEP 1
Make sure you are connected to UC Irvine's network. That means you're either ON campus or you're OFF camps and your VPN is set up to access library resources. Test My Connection
STEP 2
Visit AccessNYT.com and type Irvine to find UC Irvine in the list of schools. You will be directed to the Create Your Account page.
STEP 3
Enter your @uci.edu email address.
Select whether you are a Student or Faculty/Staff.
Students will need to enter their anticipated graduation year.
Then click Sign Up.
How do UC Irvine Authorized Affiliates renew their account (annually)?
Make sure you are connected to UC Irvine's network. That means you're either ON campus or you're OFF camps and your VPN is set up to access library resources. Test My Connection
When renewing on a computer that you regularly use to access NYTimes.com, you will often be auto-recognized while you're connected to UC Irvine's network. If you are not auto-recognized, then:
How do UC Irvine Authorized Affiliates (i.e. current students and employees with an active UCInetID) use their complimentary account in the mobile app?
The mobile app usually keeps you logged in on your account. However if you update the app or turn your phone off/on, you may need to sign in again.
I'm having trouble with the mobile app after I renewed my account.
You will need to delete and reinstall the mobile app. This will prompt you to do a fresh login with your @uci email address. Do not use the Subscribe or the Restore Subscription options that you may see listed under your account page.
Can UC Irvine Authorized Affiliates who already have a personal subscription switch to the UC Irvine Libraries' sponsored subscription?
Yes! If you currently have a personal subscription to NYT and are having difficulty creating a UC Irvine account, please contact the New York Time's Customer Service directly.
Is any content from The New York Times NOT included in our license?
These accounts grant access only to the News, Cooking, and Wirecutter modules. All other content is excluded, i.e., The Athletic, the Crossword Puzzle, the Times Insider, the e-reader version, and the print version.
What are the Terms of Service for The New York Times?
They are all available on the following pages.
Permissions * Linking * Privacy Policy * Terms of Service
More questions?
For additional support requests, UC Irvine Authorized Affiliates can contact NYT:
New York Times, 1980-Current
Access: UCI
Available in the ProQuest database. The complete text of recent articles is provided in the ASCII format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format. Each issue is indexed thoroughly for top news stories, detailed information on the arts, sports, business, popular culture, editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor from well-known people are indexed. For each article cited in the database, an abstract of up to 75 words is available.
The Historical New York Times with Index
Access: UCI
Coverage: 1851-1993
Available in the ProQuest database. Provides access to the full text, "as printed" edition of The New York Times, including images and advertisements. Coverage begins with the first edition published in 1851 and extends to three years from the present day (due to a rolling embargo).