Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Mobile Resources in Medicine: Home

A guide of useful mobile resources and mobile friendly websites for UCI health sciences faculty, students, and practitioners.
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/mobilemedicine

Mobile Resources Access Guides

UCI Healthcare providers can use the new BMJ Best Practice mobile app to find answers quickly online or offline.  Please follow the instructions below for account registration and mobile app download.

Create a personal account

  1. Go to the Grunigen Medical Library homepage and click on BMJ Best Practice.
  2. At the BMJ Best practice authorized users page, click on the blue button, Connect to resource.
  3. Enter your UCInetID and password.
  4. Oce you are on the BMJ Best Practice website, you will be prompted to create a FREE personal account or Log in if you already have one.  You will need your personal account details to access the app. Note: please use your UCI email when register.

Accessing the App

  1. Access your Apple or Google Play store and search for ‘BMJ Best Practice’.
  2. Select the app and when prompted, use your BMJ Best Practice ‘personal account’ details to sign in and download the content.

AccessMedicine Mobile is now available! The mobile site is optimized for iPhone, Google’s Android, and BlackBerry Bold and includes a targeted subset of AccessMedicine’s content. You must log in using an AccessMedicine personal profile.

Get a personal profile:

  1. Make sure you’re connected to UC Irvine’s network. This can be done in two ways: using a computer with a UCI IP address, such as a library or an office computer, or by using UCI’s VPN software to connect from off-campus.
     
  2. Go to the Grunigen Medical Library homepage and click on AccessMedicine
     
  3. Click on "My AccessMedicine" located in the upper right, and follow the directions to create a personal profile. 
     
  4. Once complete, go to your respective App store on your mobile phone and download the AccessMedicine Mobile.
     
  5. Once download is completed, log in with the username and password you just created.

DynaMed -- Mobile App

Take DynaMed with you on your tablet or smartphone whenever you go. With the DynaMed mobile app, you will have easy access to clinical information by using the mobile app available for IOS and Android devices.  

To Download:

  1. Go to the App Store or Google Play and download the DynaMed mobile app.
  2. After completing the app download, open the DynaMed mobile app.
  3. Signing in to the app: 
    • If you are on UCI WiFI network, content will automatically download.  
    • If you have have a DynaMed personal account user login, sign in and the content will automatically download.  
    • If you do not have a personal account user login, go to your desktop version of DynaMed and click on "Mobile user: Get the DynaMed Mobile App" under the spotlight section of the product submit your email address, open up the email on your mobile device and follow the instruction provided. 
  4. Choose to install with images or without images.
  5. It will take 10-30 minutes to install the initial DynaMed content.
  6. Your device is ready to go!

Isabel Mobile Device Access

Isabel is now available via the iTunes app store and Google Play store. It will work on your mobile device (iPhone / iPad / Android / Tablet) once you download the app and obtain the UserID and Password from one of the Health Sciences Librarians.

For access on an iPhone / iPad you can download the Isabel app from iTunes App Store:  https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/isabel/id473503904?mt=8. For access on an Android device you can download the Isabel app from Google Play store https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.isabelhealthcare.isabelPro. Follow these instructions to bypass the charges.

  1. Download the Isabel app.
  2. On the registration page – click on ‘login’ (bottom left corner).
  3. Login with the UserID and Password you were provided, check remember me.
  4. Once logged in – go to Settings – select preferred default age group & region.

Note: iPhone/Android access is included as part of library paid subscriptions only!

If you are experiencing any issues with access please email mobile@isabelhealthcare.com and specify the device.  For UserID and password, please contact one of the medical librarians

MobileMicromedex Apps for Drug References, Drug Interactions and IV Compatibility

  1.  Make sure that your device is connected to UC Irvine’s network through an on-campus wireless connection, or by logging on through UCI’s VPN software.
     
  2. Go to the Grunigen Medical Library website (http://grunigen.lib.uci.edu/) and  click onMicromedex.
     
  3. On the Micromedex page, click on the dark box to the upper right that says “Micromedex.”
     
  4. On the Micromedex Solutions Homepage, click on the box labeled "Download Mobile Apps" on the lower right side of the page.
     
  5. On the mobileMicromedex page, find the app you wish to download, e.g., "Micromedex® Drug Interactions," and go to the appropriate "store" for your device.
     
  6. Select the app you want to download: Drug Reference (Apple, Android and Windows); Drug Interactions (Apple and Android); and IV Compatibility (Apple and Android).  For each application, there are instructions for installation, and more importantly, the password to log in. The vendor changes the passwords periodically.  Follow steps 1-5 to obtain the new passwords.  If you are off campus, be sure to first login through VPN with your UCInetID and password. Otherwise you will not have access to the mobileMicromedex page. 

Important Note: if you search in the various app stores, more results will come up for Micromedex which are not covered by our subscription. UC Irvine's subscription will only link with the apps listed on the MicroMedex Mobile Apps page.

 

The Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database app is available for iPhones and Android phones.

  1. Make sure you’re connected to UC Irvine’s network. This can be done in two ways: using a computer with a UCI IP address, such as a library or an office computer, or logon through the UCI's VPN software to connect from off-campus.
  2. On the GML Core Resources page, click on Natural Medicines.
  3. Click on Get Your Login ID in the top right corner of the home page.
  4. Complete the registration form and then click on Next at the bottom of the page.
  5. Choose your Username and Password. Confirm your password and then click Finish.
  6. You should see the message that you have successfully created a personal account. Your CE ID# will be displayed on the screen. Save this for later. Click on OK.
  7. Log in with your new  Username and Password. Once logged in, you will be taken back to the Natural Medicines home page.
  8. On your mobile device, download and install the Natural Medicines App from your app store. ,
  9. Launch the app and  enter your username in the box labeled "Email Address or CE ID # and then enter your password. 

NOTE: Should you encounter problems logging in to the Natural Medicines App, call 209-472-2249 or complete the Contact Customer Support web form.

Updates & Expiration:

An Internet connection is required for the initial content download and content updates, but is not required to use the app itself. Login IDs expire when you are no longer affiliated with the University of Pittsburgh or UPMC.

Content:

  • Includes information on approximately 90,000 herbal products, dietary supplements, vitamins minerals, homeopathic products, and many other natural remedies.
  • Contains multiple databases and interactive features including an Effectiveness Checker, Nutrient Depletion Checker, and Natural Product/Drug Interaction Checker.
  • Links to drug references are available in the full Natural Medicines database, but not in the mobile app.

Help:

In app menu, tap Other and then tap Contact Us.

 

Through UC Irvine’s subscription, affiliates (UC Irvine Faculty, Staff and Students) are able to download and use the Red Book Online mobile app by following the steps below.

  1. Make sure you’re connected to UC Irvine’s network. This can be done in two ways: using a computer with a UCI IP address, such as a library or an office computer, or by using UCI’sVPN software to connect from off-campus.
     
  2. Go to the Grunigen Medical Library Core Resources and click on Red Book Online.
     
  3. Click on the “Sign In” button (located in the upper right hand corner of the page) and click "Create account."
     
  4. Complete all the required fields and click the Submit Registration button to proceed with the one-time registration. Note: Be sure to use your UCI email address. After you’ve completed your registration, you’ll receive an email from UpToDate with your username and a link to reset your password.
     
  5. On your mobile device, go to your respective App store or the Red Book Online website (mobile links at the bottom of the page) and download the free mobile app. Use the username and password that you created to log in to the App.

The Sanford Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy mobile app includes all the content from the print edition, plus expanded digital-only content, multi-term search functionality, calculators, tables, customizable bookmarks, and more! 

You now have access to the mobile app addition of the Sanford Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy through the UCI Libraries subscription. To gain mobile access, you must first register. Registration takes approximately 30 seconds See instructions below: 

  1. Visit https://register.sanfordguide.com/ from any computer on UCI network or first log in to your VPN if register remotely. 
  2. Enter your first and last name and your UCI email address. Then, click the Register button to proceed. 
  3. After you click "Register", the following message appears, "Thank you! We have sent an e-mail to your email to verify your identity. Please click the link in the message to proceed. If you do not see the e-mail, please check your junk or spam folder."
  4. Find the email Sanford Guide Registration. Click on the link that is provided in the email. 
  5. The link will take you to a page that confirms your eligibility. If it indicates you're eligible, you will be asked to create a password and reenter the password to confirm. Then click Register.
  6. Download the Sanford Guide Collection app from the Apple App Store,Google PlayAmazon App Store, or the Microsoft Store.
    The icon will look like this:
  7. Open the Sanford Guide Collection app. Disregard any request to enter your Google Play or Apple password and continue to the next screen.
  8. Enter your username (e-mail address) and password. After you log in, your app will begin downloading Sanford Guide content. Please note that this may take a few minutes depending on the speed of your internet connection.

    For a 3-minute tutorial on how to make the most of your subscription, click here.
    Forgot your password?
    If you decide to stop using a device during your subscription period, you can deauthorize the device to free up the installation using these instructions:
    Open the app
    Select "Account" from the drop-down menu
    Tap "Remove content from this device"

    PLEASE NOTE: If you have a current Sanford Guide subscription through the Apple App Store or Google Play (including in-App Purchases), you should turn off automatic renewal.
    iOS: Open your old Sanford Guide app/s, select "Account" from the drop-down menu, and then tap "Manage Subscription." After logging in to the App Store, you will see a list of subscriptions. Select the ones you would like to cancel and then toggle "Automatic Renewal" to the off position.
    Android: Open your old Sanford Guide app/s, select "Account" from the drop-down menu, and then tap "Manage Subscriptions in Google Play." Then tap the "Cancel" button.

    If you have any questions about your subscription or need technical assistance, please give us a call or send us an e-mail. We would be happy to help.


    Technical Support
    techsupport@sanfordguide.com
    1-540-987-9480 
    Office Hours: Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm, US Eastern Time

The STAT!Ref Mobile App allows UCI students, faculty, and staff to access the Library's STAT!Ref:Nursing subscription from their iPhone or iPad. To begin using the app, UCI affiliates need to first create a personal account with STAT!Ref and download the application by following the instructions bellow.

  1. Make sure you’re connected to UC Irvine’s network. This can be done in two ways: using a computer with a UCI IP address, such as a library terminal or an office computer, or logon through UCI’s VPN software.
     
  2. Open a web browser and go to the Grunigen Medical Library Core Resources page (https://grunigen.lib.uci.edu/core-resources) and click on STAT!Ref:Nursing.
     
  3. Once at the STAT!Ref website, click the “My STAT!Ref” link located in the upper right corner. 
     
  4. Enter your email address and select “No, I want to create a MySTAT!Ref account,” and click on “Log In/Create Account.
     
  5. Fill out and submit the form.
     
  6. After completing the form, you’ll be presented with a page that says “Your My STAT!Ref Account.” Below this, there is a “Temporary Login Account” tab. Click on that tab, and then click on the “Activate/Renew” button. This will allow you to log into the app with the email address and password you created for 90 days. After 90 days you will need to log back into STAT!Ref on a computer connected to the UC Irvine network or VPN and redo step 6.
     
  7. Download the STAT!Ref app:

The Medical Letter app is available to download from Apple’s App Store, Google Play, and Amazon’s App Store for Android. It enables you to get the latest issue of The Medical Letter On Drugs and Therapeutics when and where you need it on your mobile device. Browse past issues, earn CME/CE credits on the go, or find information quickly by using our search — all formatted specifically for your device.

  1. Go the Grunigen Medical Library Core Resources and select Medical Letter
  2. On the left column of the Medical Letter Homepage under Products, select Mobile App
  3. Complete the registration form (https://secure.medicalletter.org/SLapp).  Afterward, "Request Mobile App Login" to proceed with the registration process. 
  4. After the registration, the system will take you to the page where you can download the app. 
  5. Go to your phone and access enter the URL where you can download the app. 

Library users can download ebooks the UC Irvine library system holds in their collection by following the directions bellow and using the free iPublishCentral Reader app. Currently, only tablets are supported, not smart phones.

  1. On an IPad or Android Tablet, search for “iPublishCentral Reader” in the Apple App Store or Google Play and download and install it.
     
  2. Connect to UC Irvine’s network. This can be done in two ways. Option one is to register your tablet’s MAC address and to use UC Irvine’s wireless on campus or at the Medical Center. Directions for this can be found here. Option two is to connect to the UC Irvine VPN. Directions for IPads can be found here. Currently, there are not directions for Android, although it follows the same process. The VPN software for Android can be found here.
     
  3. From within the UCI network, on your tablet, navigate to http://ebooks.thieme.com/bookshelf.
     
  4. Browse the list of all available titles and click download next to the one you wish to download. You will then be directed to the download page.
     
  5. On the download page, click on the download icon. The iPublishCentral Reader app will then open and the file will be downloaded to your bookshelf.
     
  6. To read download titles, open the iPublishCentral Reader app on your iPad and select a downloaded book to access it.

UpToDate Registration and Mobile App Download Instructions

Through UC Irvine’s subscription, affiliates (UC Irvine Faculty, Staff and Students) are able to download and use the UpToDate mobile app by following the steps below.

  1. Make sure you’re connected to UC Irvine’s network. This can be done in two ways: using a computer with a UCI IP address, such as a library or an office computer, or by using UCI’s VPN software to connect from off-campus.
     
  2. Go to the Grunigen Medical Library website (http://grunigen.lib.uci.edu/) and click on UpToDate.
     
  3. Click on the “Log In / Register” button (located in the upper right hand corner of the page) to register as a new user.
     
  4. Complete all the required fields and click the Submit Registration button to proceed with the one-time registration. Note: Be sure to use your UCI email address. After you’ve completed your registration, you’ll receive an email from UpToDate with your username and a link to reset your password.
     
  5. On your mobile device, go to your respective App store or the UpToDate website and download the free mobile app. Use the username and password that you created to log in to the App.

Important notes:

In order to accrue CME and have access to the Mobile App, you must register with UpToDate. You do not need to use the app to accrue CME credits – this can be done from any device as long as you are logged in.

Keep in mind, the UpToDate app is limited to two mobile devices per user. Also, every month, users will receive an email from UpToDate to inform you of the need to re-verify your affiliation with the UCI Libraries to continue using the mobile app.

VisualDx Mobile for Apple or Android devices

  1. Make sure you’re connected to UC Irvine’s network. This can be done in two ways: using a computer with a UCI IP address, such as a library terminal or an office computer, or logon through UCI’s VPN software.
     
  2. On  the GML Core Resources page, click on VisualDx.
     
  3. On the VisualDx home page, click on “Get our free app on your iPhone, iPad, or Android device.  Learn how” (pn the left of the page).
     
  4. Create username and password as instructed. Click the submit button. Be sure to use your UCI email. 
     
  5. Access your email on your mobile device to confirm your account was created and to obtain specific instructions to download the app. Be sure to keep the email for future new devices.  
     
  6. Download the free VisualDx Mobile app on your mobile device from the iTunes Store or Google Play.
     
  7. Launch the VisualDx app from your device and sign in using the username and password you created. 
Loading ...

Ask a Librarian

blue Ask a Librarian icon